We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure at the Omni Royal”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure at the Omni Royal”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Yet another great stay at the Omni Royal. I was worried coming down right after Hurricane Isaac, but the Hotel was as great as before. They are undergoing some renovations to the rooms and luckily I got a room on the floor that has been completed. The staff as always was very pleasant and made you feel welcome. Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Sign up for the Omni Select member and you get free internet and other perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highwaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,848
    1,145
    298
    98
    60
See reviews for
658
2,094
157
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stayed many places in New Orleans, some of them quite nice, but the Omni Royal is our favorite. The beautiful building, with it's stunning lobby, beautiful decor, and impeccable service cannot be beat. It is in the perfect location in the French Quarter, centrally located so you can walk to all the great restaurants and attractions. The rooms are gorgeous, the bathrooms clean and up to date. They have a wonderful rooftop bar and seating area, where you can relax and rest in the shade. I always feel pampered and spoiled when staying at the Omni.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gisarnfuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Spent weekend (August 24&25th) in this wonderful property. Have been here several times before and found the hotel at its best ever. Our room on the 5th floor was a Queen bed with window onto St Louis Street and also looking toward the La. supreme Ct building (a magnificent and ornate building). The room was nicely decorated, well appointed and comfortable. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly as one should expect visiting the south.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I arrived after midnight, having shared a taxi from the train station into town. Coming into the Old Quartre is special. I hope that there is not too much damage to the area after this latest tropical storm. The hotel's decor is charmingly retro and my room was large - spacious and comfortable with a padded under blanket that made my few hours of sleep blissful. Breakfast good and checkout smooth. The next time I am in New Orleans I will definitely stay here and spend longer in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leomina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have become regulars at the Omni Royal Orleans for good reason -- this is an excellent hotel on all fronts: unbeatable location, first-class staff and service, nice rooms and beautiful public space. Yes, the common hallways need an update (perhaps this will be done in the current renovation?) and the rooms are not luxurious (but otherwise fine), but overall this is a terrific hotel and a good value. The doormen are about the best I've encountered anywhere and made us feel very much at home. This is by far the best hotel in the Quarter.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JECEsq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Omni in New Orleans this past week. We were met outside by Ryan, we were parked in front because we did not know if we were at hotel. He was so helpful. We had gotten there at 8pm, so chek in was a breeze, the front desk clerk was so nice, I think hi name was Brandon. Ryan showed us to our room and told us places to eat and where Bourbon street was, etc. Our room was a little small, but did not matter because we were almost in the heart of the French Quarter and 2 blocks from Bourbon street. Room was soooo clean and nice. Had a problem with an extra charge to our credit card, but Brandon quickly took care of it and even called my credit card company and had charge immediately removed, even gave us a comp meal for our trouble. Bubba Gump Shrimp was close and it was fun and a very good meal. Valet parking was very expensive which is the only drawback.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at the Omni Royal last week. This really is the perfect location for a hotel in New Orleans. However, as noted below, there was very loud construction going on in the rooms next door & above my room. Before booking this hotel, make sure you are not in a room adjacent to construction activity.

Here's what I liked about the hotel:
1. It's 2 short blocks to Bourbon Street where there is live music playing everywhere. The hotel is also 2 blocks (in the other direction) from the Mississippi River and shops, restaurants. The infamous Cafe DuMonde, known for its beignets and cafe au lait.

2. The Supreme Court with police/security is directly across the street from the hotel, which made me feel pretty safe when walking to my hotel at night. There are also cabs lined up on the street across from the hotel, so transportation is very accessible.

3. The hotel staff were superb. I didn't have any extraordinary needs, but they were always helpful (e.g., printed my boarding pass for me).

4. I attended a conference at the hotel. The meeting rooms were very comfortable but professional. The hotel layout was perfect for running multiple sessions.

5. The food was very good - esp breakfast - and they serve Starbucks.

6. Housekeeping staff was very responsive - when iron didn't work... and when the replacement didn't work either. They immediately brought me a 3rd iron & checked for themselves to make sure it went on.

7. View from the roof top area. It's the first place I went. Very nice. There's a pool, bar, exercise room, and observation deck.

Here's what I didn't like:

1. Construction going on in the hotel, immediately next door to my room AND in the room above me. At 8 a.m., there was hammering directly on my wall. I called the hotel and they stopped hammering directly on my wall but the construction noise (hammering, etc) continued. I was already awake, but trying to enjoy the morning. It was not possible to do that in the room. I felt forced to leave the room, which I did.

I came back to the room at around 1 p.m. and there was very loud noise (like a jack hammer) from construction going on in the room above me. I had returned to the room to make a business call. I was not able to do so. If I had wanted to relax and watch TV, I would not have been able to do so.

I cannot understand how a hotel allows this to happen; there is just no excuse for it. It definitely detracts from the stay b/c you absolutely would not want to be in the room with this kind of noise.

Finally - The room itself was nice enough. It was a good size. The bathroom was clean and somewhat updated. The room had 2 double beds and a flat screen. The furniture (e.g., headboards) were pretty dated looking but comfortable. The carpet is kind of gross. Seemed damp all of the time so I kept my flip flops on. The wall behind my bed had a hole in it (I had to pull the mattress away in order to charge my phone). There were no bugs which I thought was pretty remarkable with the opening in the wall & the age of the hotel.

Bottom line - I can't think of a better location when staying in the French Quarter. Prefer this to being right on Bourbon street which I think would be rather loud at night. The room is fine if you don't need fancy. But I would NOT stay in this hotel if there is construction going on in an adjacent room.

Room Tip: Stay away from construction! Ask to stay in a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank safegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,038 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,213 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing