We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for this good hotel.”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

The location for this good hotel definitely wins the Grand prize. Right in the middle of French Quarters. Beautiful main lobby and very helpful staff. Room was somewhat small and maybe little outdated but very clean. This hotel has that old world charm. We would definitely use Omni Royal for our next stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruzers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,722)
There are newer reviews for Omni Royal Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,766 - 3,772 of 4,722 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

The good:
Beds were super comfortable
Location is great, right off Bourbon street.
Small but nice rooms.
Very Quiet.

The bad:
The hotel did very little to recognize platinum or Black status in the Omni Hotel chain, like most other Omni hotels.
Shower pressure was a little bit high.
Workout facility is small, very little place to lift weights in there. Maybe reconfigure setup.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent location off bourbon street - safe, close to all. Rooms are nicely appointed... Comfortable beds, coffee maker, robe, etc. the bathrooms are very very small... No counter space and toilet has flush valve like public restroom. Very odd.
Fresh brewed Starbucks coffee iced coffee and iced tea downstairs for a fee is nice touch.
******they are renovating tight now on floors 2 & 3 starting at 7 am. It is very
loud. Be sure to request room on upper level if you go during 2012!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Loved this hotel! Close enough to Bourbon Street to enjoy it, but far enough away not to hear it! The hotel is being remodeled and we stayed on the 7th floor. Room was a bit small, but it was clean and everything worked. Well, we did some electrical issues, and the hotel was quick to respond to repairs, but later we learned, that maybe there were other reasons for electrical issues not related to construction.
Check in was super fast and the all of the employees were very willing to help us! We are Omni rewards members, so our check in was pre done and we received free wi fi in room, and morning drinks from room service. Which was really nice, because making the in room coffee can be tricky and having the coffee delivered was a real treat.
The bar at the rib room was wonderful. Great drinks and wonderful staff.
The roof top bar was great, but the bummer here is that people were allowed to smoke so we did not stay as long at the rooftop bar as we would have like to. But we just jumped in the pool. Problem solved. Beautiful views of the Mississippi River from the observation deck. We even visited the bar that is attached to the hotel, but outside, Touche. The bartender there remembered our room number was accommodating.
The room next door to us did a have screaming baby. But we had brought our earplugs so we had to use them at times to sleep.
I would stay at this hotel again and again. Loved it.
The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because our group had 3 rooms and we all had different levels of service. The maid service was very inconsistant, where our room would be cleaned first thing in the AM, but the room right across the hall from us, wasn't cleaned at 4pm. Wierd. And on the Sunday of our stay, the room service trays from breakfast were still on the floor of the hallway until 8pm. Gross. But like I said, this was inconsistant and not a reason to deter me from staying here again.

Room Tip: 7th floor: small rooms with little windows (king beds). 6th floor: larger rooms with big windows (d...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEPRICN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here last year for a week and I must say it really is fab and the food is also fab.
The area is in a perfect location to see the french quarter.
Don't miss out, book it now... You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Irishpaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed for seven nights. The hotel was elegant and in a superb location nearby everything in the French Quarter. The service was FABULOUS. The staff truly went out of their way to welcome us and get us everything we needed. For example, on our first night there we were headed out to explore (clearly not sure where we were going) so one of the guys at the front desk took about 5 minutes to give us some tips on where to go ... he also noticed there was a potential for rain and gave us an umbrella. Truly outstanding service. All of the bellman were great as well. I felt like a very honored guest. The room was small but was very clean, newly remodeled, and nicely decorated. Not like I'm going to be running laps around the room. It was just fine for me. The restaurant was wonderful too. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I've previously stayed at the Omni Royal. The service is always superb and the location is so central that the room size issues become insignificant. The rooms are well cared for and clean and the turn down service does make you feel pampered.
We were checked in by Phil, whose customer service skills were A++++. He was EXTREMELY helpful, considerate & thoughtful. The rest of the staff we encountered never failed to greet us.
They are undergoing a renovation so there was some noise, but it was minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grisel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,204 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,427 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,429 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £127 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing