We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Omni Royal”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #21 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had never been to New Orleans but decided to go for our 40th Anniversary.We went on Trip Advisor and the Omni was highly recommended.It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end.We had a balcony room and could listen to music on Royal Street but it was quiet at night Our room was small but very comfortable.Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful.As a surprise for our anniversary they gave us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries.We would stay there again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,287 - 3,293 of 4,922 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

The chef was great with braised ribs on valentines day with room service. The chef also sent an amazing cheese dip and wonderful cake with wine to our room for my Birthday in room 408. Thank you to the chef and ANTHONY that made sure we got our special room 408. We will always stay at the Omni. Our turn down service by a woman who has served you for 30 plus years is amazing. We hope to have more Lawyer CLE's in the future. Great job! Britton Harris ABODA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Worked out perfectly for our French Quarter adventure. Make sure to get a room with a balcony. Close to everything. Far enough from Bourbon street to avoid the drunks. Room was beautiful and clean. 1st class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank mclairlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our stay at the Omni was great. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Our room was on the 6th floor and faced the street - a great view. The location of the hotel was just a block from Bourbon Street and 1/2 block from The New Orleans School of Cooking, which we planned to visit. Valet parking was quick and very handy to the hotel. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPC285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good: We enjoyed our stay at the Omni Royal for most of our time there. The hotel is beautiful and a very nice place to stay in the French Quarter. Centrally located, the walk time was reasonable to most places you'd want to see. It's very convenient to just park your car in their garage (slightly more expensive than lots on the street, but safe and you don't have to go repay each day) during your stay and enjoy the city by walking/public transit. We chose to walk almost everywhere. Coming back to the hotel was especially nice to get away from the smelly/noisy street.

Our room was exceptional in its location. We had a balcony overlooking St. Louis St., almost at the corner of Royal. The view of the Supreme Court building and Royal Street was great, especially considering that multiple street musicians played at and very close to the St. Louis/Royal intersection. That was by far the best part about the hotel - we sat on the lovely balcony or in our room with the balcony doors open to listen to the great music. It can't really get more New Orleans than that. If you stay here, I highly recommend a balcony room.

As a side note, this room was not the room we reserved. Ours wasn't clean yet (reserved a king), but this one was. It had a queen bed and the balcony. All in all, go for a room with the balcony. It is well worth it.

The bad: We had an unfortunate incident with dirty sheets one night, which is unexpected in a hotel of this (alleged) quality. The hotel did provide some accommodation for our difficulty, but nothing exceptional. Also, although the music is a benefit in our eyes, we did have some trouble sleeping b/c the French Quarter stays loud late into the night. Music + drunk people shouting/singing/screaming = poor sleep. If you really want to sleep well, consider asking for a room not facing the street (get the courtyard).

The worst: this hotel is pricey. We didn't pay too much b/c we booked through a special on Expedia. However, the posted/normal rates are exorbitant. The value we experienced (with a balcony room) for less than $160 a night was excellent. I would never consider paying the $300+ per night that this hotel normally charges. It's not that quality of hotel.

Summary: All in all, we had a good stay. I would go again for a similar price. I would never consider paying the normal rate.

Room Tip: Courtyard = quieter Street view = more entertaining Balcony = the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Loved our stay at the Omni! The staff was super helpful and really nice. We loved the location. It was easy to walk to anywhere we wanted to go. Our suite was really nice and quiet. Good place to stay in NOLA

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandandseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I visited the Omni Royal Orleans in New Orleans for business in February. The staff was very cordial and timely. The doorman/bellman was very helpful in supplying directions and suggesting places to eat. I usually stay here and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,360 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,685 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,578 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing