We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but room was way too small and had no dresser”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but room was way too small and had no dresser”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The service was great, hotel was clean, nicely decoreated and conveniently located in the French Quarter within walking distance of all of the popular spots like Bourbon street and Riverwalk. But the downside.... by far, the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in and for the price (which was average), we were disappointed. Feel like we could have had a lot more room for our money elsewhwere. There wasn't even a dresser in the room for our clothing which meant leaving our suitcase sprawled out on the desk for us to have to rummage through our clothing all weekend. Definitely won't be returning to an Omni Hotel in the future and will be more careful next time we book to check the square footage of our room before booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,746
    1,121
    285
    92
    58
See reviews for
642
2,015
150
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Since my first visit I've stayed here every trip. This hotel has been the most pleasant place to stay. The staff are very nice and courteous. The accomodations are very clean and updated. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on in any hotel anywhere! The location is very central to all the main attractions in the quarter and where you can walk to most anything & everything. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank lorrainem112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was the perfect place to stay. Located in the heart of the French Quarter. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Rib Room has great food. Located near a dozen super restaurants and places to shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Probably the best decision I made for our trip was to stay here. Situated a block away from the busiest part of Bourbon street. We are not much partiers but we did go out one night and it was very convenient to have our hotel right there. Noise was surprisingly controlled, contrary to any fears I was having of being so close to the party. Hotel is also at located at the best part of Royal street. Rooms were spacious and accommodating. Staff was friendly. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast buffet but I would most certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madtown
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My first visit to NO and the hospitality industry is beyond belief. I will tell every restauranteur I know to send their staff to NO to experience service.

Great location, just off Bourbon but far enough to be quiet. Top shelf beds and linens, Westin eat your heart out. The only complaint, it's not, would be that the coffee arrived four minutes early one day (join the frequent flyer program).

The lobby is small but do you ever need to spend time in a hotel lobby in city like NO? Lots of conventioneers and they do have a tendency to act like idiots at 11:30 but then again the Mardi Gras crowd does at 2:30am. One incident of each, not a huge problem.

We'll book this hotel when we go back.

Room Tip: Top floor on six (601 to 610 or so) has really, REALLY loud HVAC. We thought we would move rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I've probably been to New Orleans 15 times, but never stayed here before. I can't wait to go back! The room was small, but charming. I was on the top floor, so it had an interesting ceiling. The view from the roof was great. What amazed me was that we were there for the end of Mardi Gras and you would think the staff might be worn out….. nope, they were the best! The doorman, check in, room service, and even the concierge getting us a car back to the airport were all delightful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Such a great place to stay, never have had anything bad to say about our stay in this hotel. Looking forward to our stay at the end of this month. So close to everything that we enjoy doing, we don't even rent a car anymore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Absmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing