We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms need a facelift.”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location but rooms need a facelift.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Overall, the hotel runs smoothly but remodeling with updated decor is in order. From my first step into lobby where I noticed the carpet was worn on the steps to the moment I entered my suite, I had the feeling that it is time to redecorate this hotel. Also, the thermostat was not consistent so we were comforable going to bed but woke up hot in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 926peggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,803
    1,133
    291
    94
    59
See reviews for
652
2,054
157
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful hotel in the midst of the French Quarter. Quick walk to EVERYTHING!! Hotel was visually pleasing across the board. My room was very small.....like cruise ship small but very nice. Room lighting was a bit dim, but plenty of window light when wanted. Roof pool is a real bonus for relaxing. Staff was courteous and helpful. Would absolutely stay here again next time I manage to get back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 182scottw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The food, pool, and service were really great. The room was a bit small and could have been better cleaned/prepared but I will just make note next time. The location was a few blocks from my office but close to all the action, which is exactly what I wanted. I plan on staying at the Omni for all my business trips and can't wait for the pool bar to open in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I highly recommend the Omni Royal Orleans to anyone planning a visit to New Orleans. The service is outstanding, and the location is the most perfect in the city! It is worth the extra money you might pay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans every time we visited New Orleans over the past few years and have never been disappointed with the hotel or service provided. We come to New Orleans at least twice a year. However, this time around we were disappointed before we even stepped foot in the place! We went to New Orleans for Mardi Gras, we booked the room on the hotels own (omni select guest) website, paid a premium for the time of year, and called the hotel a month before arrival and specifically requested help with transportation to the hotel 'front door', even then, we still ended up walking across Bourbon St at 7pm with our cases in tow through the crowd!! Thats after being assured this would not happen and that we would get transportation to the front door!

The hotel is as cool as ever once inside so we were soon back on track but that is just not good enough this time around! You let us down, BIG time!

Its a shame we will never return to the Omni Royal Orleans, but you only get one chance.. Lying is not big and its not clever, if you cannot help your guests get to the hotel from the airport, say so.. don't lie!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As is the way with sites like Trip Advisor, I saw a number of negative reviews and started to worry. There was NO NEED to be concerned. This was a FOUR star hotel all the way. Where do I start? The location is close to EVERYTHING we wanted to see in the Quarter, walking distance to all the attractions. The room was immaculate and quiet even though it was a balcony. Now, we went at a time of year that was AFTER Mardi Gras. My experience in the Quarter has been that if it is a busy time, you take an inside room. The balcony was lovely with two chairs and a table and an overhang so on the one drizzly day we had I could still sit outside. The doormen and the restaurant staff provided stellar service. Housekeeping kept the room lovely. The ONLY thing you have to know about is that the access to the lobby is up stairs at every entrance. My husband uses a wheelchair to save his energy and the Doormen consistently hucked it up and down the stairs for us. they also have an automatic lift at the St. Louis and Royal entrance. DO NOT let this little inconvenience stop you from this landmark, lovely hotel.

Someone on one of the reviews commented that there was "no lobby" I suspect they were maybe imbibing a bit too much. The lobby is lovely, lots of places to sit and little couches tucked away. There is a spectacular roof pool that has all kinds of GREAT views and different places tucked away to relax and enjoy the sun. There is also a bar up there but it does not open until April...bummer. That probably would have been my fave place. We went to the Rib Room every morning for breakfast and had dinner there one night.

The bartenders provided excellent service as did the managers and the wait staff. Each person went out of their way to make us feel welcome and a part of the family. If you go to the OMNI website, you can sign up for their loyalty program. When you do that, your web access is free (you do have to pay more to stream but it is discounted); you get coffee delivered free every morning, a newspaper and a bottle of water each night. Little things but they were appreciated. They missed the first day and as soon as I asked about it, they fixed it. You can opt to have coffee delivered or you can make coffee in your room. We chose a higher end hotel and stayed a few less days and I would do it again. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Note...I hit spa and we did not take advantage but I don't know how to unhit it. :) The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location was perfect! Although I arrived late, I could look around the French quarter area and go to the preservation hall to listen to the Jazz music. The staff at the front desk was friendly. The view from the pool area was just perfect at night. I would stay again next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shinyoung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,992 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing