We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel couldn't be in a better location. The beds and the pillows were fantastic and although the room and the bathroom were a little small, the space worked for me. Staff was really great. Only major complaint is sound proofing. I could tell you what my neighbors were doing when they were doing it and how they felt about it. I would stay here again, but I would bring ear plugs with me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,806
    1,134
    293
    95
    60
See reviews for
653
2,057
157
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was the first time I've stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans. I was very pleasantly surprised that the hotel was clean, bed/pillows were comfortable and balcony room on the 5th floor was the best. Location of the hotel was central to everything but on a "clean" street compared to other streets. I especially loved the rooftop pool and service. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Omni for 3 nights. We stayed in a premium room which was just fine for size. (A "petite" room would probably be quite small though). The location of the hotel is top notch, and one of its best features. Here are some of the hotel's other positives and negatives.


Positives:
- Anniversary: I had indicated we would be celebrating our anniversary at the time of reservation (and that I would bring the proof with me). While our anniversary was not acknowledged when we checked in, a bottle of champagne was subsequently sent to our room later that day. We really appreciated the recognition. It was a very nice touch.

- Plug by bed: This sounds like a small thing, but having a plug by the bed is a convenience that too few hotels offer.

Negatives:
- Wifi: The Wifi service is not very good as we experienced several instances of no service. Also, the free wifi service was not explained to us when we checked in which resulted in an unwanted charge (which was easily reversed).

- Noise: We were given a very noisy room close to the elevator and the maid station. The constant dinging of the elevator was bothersome, as were the conversations in the halls and the housekeeping noise (although necessary, I understand). While I appreciate the hotel's effort to put signs in the halls reminding people to be quiet at night, too many people ignore them.

I wish the hotel would have asked us when we checked in whether a room close to the elevator was okay. I surely would have said no. Instead, we did not bother with the hassle of requesting a room change - which perhaps was a mistake.

- Older hotel: Make no mistake, this is an old property (although well appointed) which means that some of the amenities of newer hotels (eg. large rooms, fan in bathroom, etc..) can't be offered. There are also structural and plumbing noises that come with the territory and probably can't be fixed. Not the mark of a true 5 star hotel (in my view).

Overall, it was a good experience and I would not hesitate to go back or to recommend the hotel to others. However, I can't give it 5 stars (but would give 4.5 stars) for the reasons mentioned above.

Room Tip: Request a room far from the elevator and maid station.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Franny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Service was very helpful and always friendly during our 3-night stay over Jazz-Fest weekend. Chilled-out at the pretty rooftop pool that's open until 10 PM along with their observation deck with fantastic views of the City and the mighty Mississippi. I'll book it again, especially in the 2nd-floor room that opened to the quaintly landscaped courtyard. The room was a bit small, but that didn't matter much since we spent so little time there.

Room Tip: Ask at check in for a room with a view or courtyard/balcony access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarmWeatherPlease013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Perfect location just a short 2 minute walk to Bourbon street, 4 minutes to Jackson square. Beautiful hotel with all the flare of New Orleans. Very well appointed with luxurious feel to everything. Rooms are expensive but they're worth it. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite and it was enormous with a king bed and a queen sized memory foam couch bed. Rooms do not have mini fridge and microwave. There is a mini bar. Roof top pool was large and kept warm. Beautiful roof top views of the city and water. One of our favorite hotel hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotMAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Completely satisified with everything. Location is ideal to walk to everything. Rooms very clean. Staff friendly. Used the check in online option and this made checking in even quicker. Nice pool on roof and a great place to have coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is lovely - a historical hotel restored so it feels like it belongs in the French Quarter. Our room was comfy. The staff was quick to accommodate my request for non-feather pillows (allergies). The location was great, as we walked everywhere - Jazz Fest at the State Fair Grounds, the WWII Museum, the St. Charles Streetcar and of course everything inside the French Quarter. Only area for awareness is our friends were on a room facing Royal Street, so it was pretty loud for them with all the activity at night. Our room was on St. Louis, so was quieter and not a concern. During your time there, make sure to head up to the pool one evening after the bar closes - it gets very quiet and has a great view of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaInTheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing