We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned beauty!”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old fashioned beauty!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Omni Royal for 3 nights this June. The hotel is very beautiful and opulent. My room was tiny, but it was very luxurious and I really enjoyed it. The staff were great and it seemed to be the same staff pretty much every day. Very friendly and helpful right from the doorman to the room service staff. The location was great - away from the Bourbon St noise but still close to everything in the French quarter.
The only thing I could comment on as a negative would be the restaurant and bar. The service was not as good as it could be - very hard to get served promptly in the bar and the restaurant staff were a bit too much the other way and wouldn't leave you alone to eat for 5 mins! Both were again very beautiful though and the drinks and food were of a good quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Arwen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    1,145
    297
    98
    60
See reviews for
657
2,092
157
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel. the pool is on the roof top so you great a great view of the river and surrounding area. It is pet friendly but does not smell that way. As soon as we arrived we were greeted very warmly and the valet's jumped right in and took care of us. Parking is a little costly but worth it. Each day when we left to go out and about we were greeted coming and going. The room was a very nice size and was clean. The hotel is in a great location as well.

Room Tip: Take a king size room it only cost a little more and you get a much bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is pet friendly but the closest place to walk your dog for restroom purposes in 4 blocks away. Spend the extra money for a premier room! The petite rooms are just that. The hotel staff was amazing and the Rib Room’s food was out of this world!! We are very happy we chose the Omni Royal Orleans!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Shopgirljenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Where to start? The rooms are beautiful and elegant. Get a balcony! They are such an added luxury, roomy and with a beautiful view of the French quarter. The staff is fantastic- helpful, friendly and ready to make you feel at home- at all times! And of course, the rooftop with pool and bar, a perfect set up in a fantastic location.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Can't go wrong with Omni. They always do it right. Location, rooftop pool w/bar, great restaurant, friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again. But, I do need to comment on two issues. #1 - The room had great a/c but no ventilation. So, not to be crude, but any smells you may create are going to stay with you for awhile. #2 - all Omni's across the country that we stay at have the most wonderful staffs. They are always friendly and helpful. Except for one front desk clerk in New Orleans. We had a problem with our bill at checkout. We were nothing but friendly with "good morning", "how are you", "thank you", etc. out normal Texas Friendly demeanor. It was like pulling teeth for him to respond in kind, both on the phone and in person. There were a number of room service items added, then deleted from our bill, because they were in error. But there were some others we questioned because of this, which were still in error. He treated us like we were trying to scam the hotel, acting very suspicious of us. And we're only talking about $20. Not the way to treat a Gold Select guest who just spent $1000 in your hotel. Left us with a sour taste on our way out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Will probably cost more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at The Omni Royal Orleans was unparalleled. From the champagne and chocolate strawberries in the room to the ridiculously comfortable bed to the unbelievably friendly door staff (thanks Leroy and Rico) our 3 night get away was perfect. You cannot ask for a better location, cleaner rooms or a friendlier staff. Try to book a room with a balcony overlooking St. Louis because when you are tired from exploring all day, the people watching is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Coopersanddollar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Omni Royal Orleans in the French Quarter has it all going its way. Great hotel, bars, and location in the French Quarter. The room was comfortable and nice. We had a courtyard room on the second floor which was ideal for sitting out in the morning. One of the big reasons I selected this hotel over others was the outdoor pool on the roof and the pool bar. One of the few in the French Quarter with that set-up. The staff was courteous and made you feel welcome, and exhibited an appreciative attitude that we were staying at The Omni. The hotel is centrally located in the French Quarter, and very close to our favorite diner for breakfast in the French Quarter, The Grill at Chartres and Toulouse. We will definitely be staying again at The Omni when in New Orleans next year.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first trip to the French Quarter, as well as your time with us. We look forward to many more great visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,034 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,091 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing