We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #19 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in down the years.Just a couple of nights was enough. I just couldn't love this place enough, perfect location for walking around the french quarter, and a short walk to the river boats. New Orleans is a truly amazing experience and what a place to base yourself. It even featured in an old Bond movie, can't remember which one but I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P.J. Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,105 - 3,111 of 5,052 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great hotel, located in the middle of the New Orleans, French Quarter with a top notch staff and an immaculate facility. If you go once you will be ready to plan a return trip before you leave. The whole team make you feel like a family being welcomed home. From the moment of your arrival to departure they are going to help you feel safe, happy and ready to enjoy one of the great cities of the world. Everyone is well trained and anxious to assist in any way possible. You are in the middle of some of best places to eat in America and just blocks from wonderful music and a magnificent river front. Don't miss this place for business or pleasure it is sure to please beyond your expectations. Also you get a great view of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River front from the roof to pool, spa and bar area. A great place to relax and refresh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment we arrived until our departure, the service was outstanding. We walked to everything except when we took the street cars. While the room was a bit small, the outdoor patio for the rooms on the 2nd floor made up for it. We joined the loyalty program and received free internet. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank bartoletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Wow! Thank you Omni Royal for upholding the highest level of service to your guests! After a very disappointing stay at the Omni Crescent, you totally delivered and reinstated our confidence in an Omni property. The rooms were amazing and the customer service was outstanding. I would highly recommend the Omni Royal over the Omni Crescent. Within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. We can't wait to go back! Congratulations on a job well done!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night and it was a very quick stop over in New Orleans. The omni was a stunning hotel, with rooftop pool, good gym and location wise it was perfect.

However, $40 for 1 night parking....ridiculous. We also had our dog with us, great that the hotel was pet friendly but again $50 fee, not the worst by hotel standards but that's $90 just on 'extras'.


Still a top hotel, definitely recommend it - just be warned about the parking.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee_Mac_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had the pleasure of spending three nights at the Omni in a room overlooking St. Louis Street with my boyfriend. There were times where we could hear people in the rooms next to us, but if you bear in mind what an old building this is, I would argue that it's more than reasonable to overlook a bit of noise (as long as it's during normal hours) for the charm factor of the building. We found the room to be quiet in terms of street noise, clean and the bed to be wonderfully comfortable. Check-in and check-out were a breeze, particularly because the bell and front desk staff were attentive and willing to take the time to respond to our inquiries about food, transportation and things to do. As others have mentioned, the staff and housekeeping are attentive, but perhaps a bit too much on the housekeeping side, as we experienced knocking on our door at 8:15 and 8:30 two mornings, and if you are doing vacation, and doing it in NOLA, you know we were definitely still sleeping. One of the last great features of the hotel is the lovely rooftop pool, bar and viewing deck which provides fabulous vistas of the surrounding area. On my next visit, I would no doubt book a room at the Omni!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meaghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although a long-time visitor of the Quarter, this was my first stay at the Omni. It will not be my last. This hotel rated well above average in most every regard, except for wifi. Wifi was simply slow.

Rooms were very clean. Kudos to housekeeping. Need extra this or that? Response times are lightening fast. Curtains/blackouts were effective. Rooms and decor seemed fairly fresh and tasteful. Rooms are fairly large for New Orleans. A suite compared with San Francisco. Water pressure was very good, thankfully. Shower water pressure will have you on your way in no time. Plenty of hot water as well. Air conditioning will freeze you out if you are so inclined.

Elevator wait times were minimal. Hotel was pretty full, yet elevator waits were insignificant. Lobby is very attractive. Seating throughout to lounge, have a drink and listen to the jazz entertainment in the evening. Hotel bar is a nice setup. Always well staffed, no wait for refills. The Rib Room is the in-house restaurant, said to be very good but we did not try it this time. VERY cool private dining rooms exist below the main dining level for a unique experience.

Hotel location is great. Very central. One block off Bourbon, you might think that there MAY be some unacceptable noise levels. However, our room was a balcony on Royal facing Bourbon and noise levels were not bad at all. And, if you ask enough people, everything in the Quarter is haunted. We observed zero paranormal activity during our stay :-)

OK, one complaint. $40 per day for parking. Ouch. So $300 per night, plus $5 for wifi upgrade, plus $40 per day parking. THEN, appx 15% tax. So now you are pushing $400 per night. Regardless, I highly recommend this hotel. From bellmen and valet to front desk and housekeeping, staff was extremely well versed, polite and professional. Simply a well-managed operation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marlinchaser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £132 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing