We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week of leisure”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #20 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I used to live in the French Quarter, and come back every year to soak in the ambiance. This is my second stay at the Omni Royal Orleans, and I love it here. I have a small Pug, and the staff made me feel very welcome. He is crate trained and quite the gentleman. The hotel is very quite, and the rooms are beautiful. I spent two days just lounging around the roof top pool and bar. Rico, the doorman, was amazing and made my family feel like royalty. He even spread rose petals for us to walk on to make us laugh. The Rib Room is by far one of the yummiest secrets. We ate there two times for supper, despite the choices in the quarter. The prime rib is delicious, as is the filet mignon. Parking was steep, but when you look at the parking situation in the quarter - you are glad for a safe place for your car! I recommend this hotel for every kind of travel. Again, the rooms are very solid and quiet. I hate noise when I sleep, and there was a family with a baby next door but I never heard a peep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the street. The city is beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are so glad you were able to enjoy yourself and relax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,911 - 2,917 of 4,924 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is situated in the center of the French Quarter and is in a building typical of most of the architecture in the neighborhood, but it was built in the 20th century, I think in 1960. They did a good job at replicating the old style. The lobby is rather nice, the staff is very friendly, and the rooms are standard. They are rather small rooms and you may get a view of the back alley. We were at first given a tiny room with one bed that had a not so great view of the back. However, the staff at the front desk reassigned us to a larger room that had the view of the street. I was quite pleased with the change.
The cleaning was nothing unusual, A couple of nights they missed our turn down, and, for some strange reason, they took away one of the robes that came with our room.
Breakfast is an arm and a leg, but it is quite good. They actually cook at the hotel restaurant, but they don't have lactaid milk so I couldn't have my morning cereal. Never tried the restaurant for dinner because it is expensive.
There are some really gorgeous ball rooms there - a great place for a wedding.
The hotel has a small pool on the roof. There is a bar there as well and an observation deck that you must go to. There is also a gym on the roof. These facilities are open from the early morning until 10 at night. A very nice place!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the street and a room with 2 beds. The rooms with 1 bed are the size of a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Location is great, Service excellent, noise at night but it is the French Quarter. We were close to everything. Checked in early and parked the car. Walked to lunch in Jackson Square came back to the pool to cool off then out for the night. Great Experince

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overall the hotel and staff were very good. Glad the hotel had parking available. Super location to get to fun activities and resturants. You could walk to most attractions on the French Quarter. Overall great service and accomadations. The only negatives were the room was really small and parkig was very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Let me start off by saying how nice everyone is at this hotel. I traveled to New Orleans on business and had a few late nights while staying here. They were so kind to have a wake-up call for me in the morning and even brought up band-aids and ointment to me after I fell and cut my knee. Such southern hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The entire staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and overall I enjoyed my stay. I was in a small queen that had only a shower instead of a bathtub, however, I understand that is a personal choice. The room was clean, quiet and quite nice. I would stay there again. I was impressed that they give military discounts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel location is awesome, close to the action on Bourbon Street but far enough away to be quiet. Staff was friendly and room was spotless. Bathroom very small, hardly room for toiletries but shower great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £119 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing