We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love love this place”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love, love love this place”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a surprise birthday trip in May and were not disappointed. Terrific location in the French Quarter. Room was spacious, staff was gracious, common areas were great for enjoying cocktails and playing cards, and the constant stream of weddings was an additional source of entertainment. But the best part was the rooftop pool. Terrific views of the city, bar on site - a wonderful way to cool off and people watch. Would come back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are excited to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the Omni Royal Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,977
    1,175
    307
    106
    61
See reviews for
689
2,189
163
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and it is a very nice hotel in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Very central to all the sights and close to Bourbon street and Frenchman street! It is a historical American hotel with very nice rooms and the staff is friendly. You can park your car in the garage but is not cheap! Very nice swimming pool and bar at the rooftop!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 459Paul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocheport, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

the hotel was very nice and we were able to check in early. Issues both night with guest coming in early night and banging on door to get in there room. Also no complimentary coffee in room or lobby. We were waiting in lobby early morning for tour would have been nice to have complimentary coffee available- when waiting on shuttle in St Louis hotel coffee was available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank papa4844853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbances during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable and we appreciate your taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We remain upset about our room experience--hence the "Poor" rating, though we'd have given a "Good" or "Very Good" if not for that experience, as below. I personally spoke with a hotel representative to make our reservation. My wife and I were traveling with two 12 year old girls for 3 nights and requested a King room for us and a room with two doubles for them, adjoining. The Omni rep told me they didn't have such an arrangement available but that we could get a King suite (for $200/night more than the regular room rate) where the living room area would adjoin the double room. We were persuaded by him to take that option, even though it was much more expensive, as we wanted to have the girls in an adjoining room and figured they could have the use of the living room area separate from our bedroom. I verified this arrangement with him at least three times during the call. However, when we were assigned our rooms, they were NOT adjoining. We immediately alerted the front desk and were told that the adjoining rooms were no longer available and they "apologized." There was no offer of any other accommodation for our inconvenience. This situation significantly diminished our enjoyment of our vacation with the girls. In addition, we did not use the living room at all, other than the extra bathroom, and found it extremely irritating that we had been talked "up" by the Omni representative and then not given what we were told we were paying for--effectively a "bait and switch." When we checked out, we spoke with the manager, who offered to comp a $56 room service charge, which we found entirely inadequate. He subsequently offered to reduce our rate by $100, which we took to mean $100/night (which we thought would have been fair), but in fact he only refunded a total of $100 for the three nights. Other than this, the location is excellent, the rooms are decent size and comfortable, though with somewhat stodgy decor and VERY small bathrooms (more like powder rooms with one sink, a toilet and a bathtub/shower crammed in), and the beds are comfortable. Except for the front desk, service is a high point--bell staff and front door staff are very helpful and friendly. However, desk staff behaved as above. Overall, we wish we had stayed elsewhere--check out the Monteleone or the JW Marriott. They looked great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

While going to Nashville from Houston. We planned to stay in this hotel. The idea was to see the New Orleans places so we booked in heart of french quarters. I saw that this was a 4 star hotel and I was confident that this must be a great deal. But as soon as we entered the room, it was so small that we never stayed in such a tiny room. There was no place to walk, just bed and a chair and tightly packed room. 42 inch TV just in from on Bed. In the bathroom, no place to stand properly to bath. This was horrible experience since we never thought that a 4 star hotel can have such a small room. I don't know if hotel associations has any standard for room size but this is bad that this rating hotel has such a small room.
I will suggest to stay away from this hotel if you like spacious rooms. I felt cheated since I expected it to be a great stay and this hotel spoiled our whole trip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajay2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really a wonderful hotel. The only thing that lacked was the valet. Which over a 4 day stay we visited 6 times and was overall lacking in kindness. When we got there they valet directed us where to park and then pointed where we needed to go. For a hotel like this I expected him to help us unload the car and take our bags up. After I asked he reluctantly to our bags inside and told us the front desk would handle it. From here it was great. The check in was wonderful and easy. They basically just handed us a car and told us the Bell man would bring up all our stuff. We went up to our room and a short time later the Bell man brought up our stuff. His name was Rico and was the highlight of the hotel. He gave us a walk through of the hotel and the city and gave us a card and told us to call him if we had any questions. The next day when we called down for the car to the valet to have it ready at a certain time as we where going to a wedding they said no problem. When we got there however we had to wait 10 min for the car and when I was waiting was asked very rudely what my problem was. Just as an fyi I tipped everytime so there was no problem with that. On our last day there we ordered room service and when we called they told us it would be up in less that 35 min and they brought it to us in 20 min. It was great and they were very nice. When we left we planned to spend the day in Nola so we checked out and let them hold on to our bags. We asked from Rico and he showed up at our door and took care of our stuff while we spent one last day in NOLA. He helped us pack the car and even found a way for us to pack up flowers and a vase so that nothing would break. I will stay here again I just hope they get the valet situation fixed as if you have a car you will be dealing with them alot.

Room Tip: free wifi if you are a member which is free online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Windsor Court last year. WC is nicer than RO in my opinion but RO location is better. Pool was fun - and there were a lot of kids so that was good for us - not too quiet. Staff very friendly.

Will move on to Place de Armes next visit.
.....

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromaledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,299 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing