We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for anniversary. What a beauty! And it's right in the middle of everything for a French quarter experience. Upon arrival valet immediately tended to our vehicle and bags and showed us the way to elevator. Once off elevator we were greeted by bellman. Then off to the desk where the front desk employee was super nice and helpful with maps, things to do, and how to find room, pool etc. Now for room it was quaint but well cleaned and put together. Roof top pool and bar was nice but the observatory above that was so nice to look over the city. Everytime we left hotel or arrived doors were held and we were always greeted with such kindness and willingness to help with anything. Loved this place! We will be back,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It seems as though we have accomplished our goal of exceeding your expectations! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,673
    1,097
    281
    89
    57
See reviews for
622
1,967
147
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Omni in NOLA is a terrific location for FQ fun and activities. Just a block or two to the restaurants we wanted to visit, antique shops on Royal St and Jackson Square.
Our room was nicely done, the bed very comfortable with lots of goose down comforters and pillows. Overall I was very pleased with the room, though the bathroom was quite small and cramped. The sink actually blocks the tub.
However, the attention to detail and service lacked dreadfully. When we checked in I asked about the view from our room we were told we had a terrific room with French doors that opened onto a courtyard. When in fact we had a room with locked windows that opened onto a rooftop that faced the parking garage. We later discovered the real courtyard on our floor with rooms with French doors opening onto it with. When we asked at the desk about this, we were very quickly given a coupon for a complimentary breakfast in the restaurant (where the service was dreadful) as a knee jerk response to our complaint but not offered to move our room.
There was a grocery bag behind a chair in a room where it had not been vacuumed in quite some time.
We were also awakened by drilling above our heads at 8:00am that went on for an hour before it stopped only after multiple phone calls to the desk.
But on the plus side, the rooftop pool area and bar is a delightful area with great views of the FQ.
I would have rated this hotel as excellent - because I did love the location - but the poor service (rude waitress at breakfast) and lack of attention to detail made this an average to poor experience.

Room Tip: Ask if you have a view of the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. This is in no way indicative of the service we strive to provide, and you should never have to deal with such issues on your vacation. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review, as it will be helpful in addressing the issues mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We wanted a place close to Bourbon St. This definitely is in the heart of everything. Only takes a few minutes to walk to the party and fun. Felt safe walking back late in the night. Property was clean and staff pleasant. Nice to have the pool in August. Read the morning paper up there in the morning....very peaceful. The price was average for the location and quality of property. The rooms are small but most are in NOLA. Bed was very comfortable and room was quiet to sleep in. Was given a late check out which was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I request a room on high floor, away from elevator, in a quiet area and that is just what I received...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belledog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a surprise birthday trip in May and were not disappointed. Terrific location in the French Quarter. Room was spacious, staff was gracious, common areas were great for enjoying cocktails and playing cards, and the constant stream of weddings was an additional source of entertainment. But the best part was the rooftop pool. Terrific views of the city, bar on site - a wonderful way to cool off and people watch. Would come back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are excited to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the Omni Royal Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and it is a very nice hotel in the French Quarter of New Orleans. Very central to all the sights and close to Bourbon street and Frenchman street! It is a historical American hotel with very nice rooms and the staff is friendly. You can park your car in the garage but is not cheap! Very nice swimming pool and bar at the rooftop!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 459Paul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocheport, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

the hotel was very nice and we were able to check in early. Issues both night with guest coming in early night and banging on door to get in there room. Also no complimentary coffee in room or lobby. We were waiting in lobby early morning for tour would have been nice to have complimentary coffee available- when waiting on shuttle in St Louis hotel coffee was available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank papa4844853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbances during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable and we appreciate your taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We remain upset about our room experience--hence the "Poor" rating, though we'd have given a "Good" or "Very Good" if not for that experience, as below. I personally spoke with a hotel representative to make our reservation. My wife and I were traveling with two 12 year old girls for 3 nights and requested a King room for us and a room with two doubles for them, adjoining. The Omni rep told me they didn't have such an arrangement available but that we could get a King suite (for $200/night more than the regular room rate) where the living room area would adjoin the double room. We were persuaded by him to take that option, even though it was much more expensive, as we wanted to have the girls in an adjoining room and figured they could have the use of the living room area separate from our bedroom. I verified this arrangement with him at least three times during the call. However, when we were assigned our rooms, they were NOT adjoining. We immediately alerted the front desk and were told that the adjoining rooms were no longer available and they "apologized." There was no offer of any other accommodation for our inconvenience. This situation significantly diminished our enjoyment of our vacation with the girls. In addition, we did not use the living room at all, other than the extra bathroom, and found it extremely irritating that we had been talked "up" by the Omni representative and then not given what we were told we were paying for--effectively a "bait and switch." When we checked out, we spoke with the manager, who offered to comp a $56 room service charge, which we found entirely inadequate. He subsequently offered to reduce our rate by $100, which we took to mean $100/night (which we thought would have been fair), but in fact he only refunded a total of $100 for the three nights. Other than this, the location is excellent, the rooms are decent size and comfortable, though with somewhat stodgy decor and VERY small bathrooms (more like powder rooms with one sink, a toilet and a bathtub/shower crammed in), and the beds are comfortable. Except for the front desk, service is a high point--bell staff and front door staff are very helpful and friendly. However, desk staff behaved as above. Overall, we wish we had stayed elsewhere--check out the Monteleone or the JW Marriott. They looked great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,807 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing