We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Anniversary Stay”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Attentive service, comfortable accommodations and a romantic setting combined for a very special 39th wedding anniversary. My husband and I had a lovely balcony room overlooking historic Royal Street, and were serenaded by street musicians and enjoyed walking to the best restaurants in New Orleans. The restaurant and housekeeping staffs were outstanding, and the fitness center offered just what was needed to work off those Galatoire's and Antoine's calories. The rooftop pool area with a spectacular view of Old Man River and the French Quarter was delightful. We are looking forward to spending our 40th, God willing, in this most welcoming of hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownieNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2009

We are so glad to hear you chose to stay with us for your 39th wedding anniversary and we are looking forward to seeing you back next year for your 40th. Let us know if there are any special preparations you would like us to make before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,440 - 4,446 of 4,790 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

The room was small but charming. The bedset ( pillows, comforters, sheets) could use some upgrading. But, you are in the heart of the Quarter and the rooftop bar had gorgeous views of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MQadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel in the heart of New Orleans' historic French Quarter! We are scheduled for a full room renovation in the Fall / Winter of 2009-2010. Not only will we replace all beds, linens, carpets, etc., but we will also combine 30 of our smallest European Queen rooms and create 15 larger luxury rooms. We hope when you return to our fair city, you will choose to visit us again and that the renovation upgrades will be to your liking. We welcome the opportunity to give you "The Royal Treatment" in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The rooms were very nice and clean. My only complaint was the sound proofing is non existent. If there were people talking in the hallway, i could hear every word, they sounded like they were in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! As part of our scheduled full-room renovation in the Fall/Winter of 2009 - 2010, we plan to address some of the sound-proofing issues. We hope that when you return to New Orleans, you will once again consider staying with us at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. It would be an honor to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

If you like the quarter, you'll love this hotel. Great location to experience all it has too offer. Historic hotel w/ all the +s and -s that go along with that (interesting, small rooms, etc.)

Great pool and observation deck.

Expensive add-ons, but that's to be expected. Staff very friendly. The room we had (small queen single bed) felt like a shoe box. Clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG_SOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, friendly staff, rooftop pool and observation deck at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. We are, indeed, in the heart of New Orleans' historic French Quarter and within walking distance of everything there is to see in the Quartres; music clubs, world-famous restaurants with celebrity chefs (Emeril Lagasse & Paul Prudhomme, to name just two,) great architecture, the majestic Mississippi River, French Market, and Bourbon Street. In the Fall/Winter of 2009 - 2010 we are scheduled for a full room renovation and will be combining 30 of our European a.k.a. shoebox Queen rooms and creating 15 larger luxury rooms. We hope that once the renovation is complete, you will consider returning to us and, hopefully, experiencing a five-star stay. Thank you very much for choosing the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I took my 3 children (12, 9 & 7) as well as my 4 yr old nephew to meet my brother and his two children (15 & 12) at the Omni Royal:) I LOVE old hotels and I have to say this was far the best hotel I have stayed in. We have stayed at the Peabody a couple of times and I prefer this hotel over the Peabody. The staff was super friendly. The rooms were immaculate and room service was WONDERFUL:) The location was excellent. 5 minute walk, MAX, to Jackson Square. 10ish to the aquarium. It's right beside Antoine's and across the street from Ralph and Kacoos. It's also a quick 2 block walk to Southern Candymakers on Decatur Street. They make the BEST pralines on this earth. Oh and the kids loved the hotel as well. I highly recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2009

We are ecstatic to read that you, your three children & nephew had a lovely stay at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. Thank you very much for telling everyone of your experience visiting the fair city of New Orleans. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for many return visits! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Quick summary: fabulous location, excellent service offset by terrible (2-star worthy) rooms, no name bath products and low quality, "crunchy" bedding.
When reviewing this hotel in my mind, I had to consider a few things. First, it's a historic hotel; so I have to excuse the lack of power outlets, the tiny bathroom, and basic signs of age. Second, I'm staying in the Quarter, so I should expect to be nickeled and dimed. As such, I won't mention these issues again. Finally, keep in mind the hotel is rated as a 4/4.5 star hotel, so it should be compared with other 4/4.5 star hotels.
So...We'll start with the outstanding service, willing to bend over backwards to make your stay better. Turndown service was available and bar service at the pool was excellent. Sadly, the turndown service did not replace the rock hard beds (I could feel the springs!), the rough crunchy sheets (I didn't know they made thread counts this low) or the horrible blankets with holes (or as we called them "holy blankets"). The carpets looked filthy ( although I'm guessing this is from age/wear and not actually being dirty) and they need to be replac or at least stretched. There was a 2-3 inch high ridge in the carpet that extended the length of the room. This "ridge" could be eliminated by stretching the carpet, but since
it is also so hopelessly stained, replacement is really the only option for a 4/4.5 star hotel. The TV is quite old, and the power button was missing as it had receded into the TV. All in all, a disappointing room by 2.5 star standards, and an unacceptable accomodation by 4.5 star standards.
Compare to other hotels in the area, like the JW (half the price, double the luxury, but on canal st) or the Ritz (also overated in New Orleans, but much better rooms and the have a spa, unlike Omni), or go a star level down (but a room level up) with free breakfast and a historic feel at Iberville Suites. In short, you will not feel like you get your money's worth at the Omni if you have the opportunity to compare to other area hotels. Although you may have to walk 3 extra blocks, we could all probably use the excercise anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulane5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2009

We are delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel and the excellent service of our dedicated team of associates. We do regret, however, that you did not enjoy your accommodations. Please know that we will embark on a full room renovation in the Fall / Winter of 2009 - 2010 and will replace all carpeting, bedding, linens, televisions and more. We can only hope that once our renovations are complete that you would consider giving us a second chance as we would love the opportunity to welcome back to the Omni Royal Orleans again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Omni and it was great. We arrived early but our room was ready. That is always nice. The location is great you are very close to all the all the great things to do in the French Quarter. Housekeeping was wonderful and v ery attentive as to when you might be gone so they could go ahead and get your room cleaned up. The doormen were the best around. The free coffee service in the morning for being a part of their rewards program was great. It is nice to have some one knock on your door and deliver fresh hot coffee every morning. Had room service one night due to illness in our group and the prime rib was wonderful. We will return here on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2009

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter. We are delighted you had such a beautiful experience while visiting our fair city and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing