We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, luxury hotel in a great location”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, luxury hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We just returned from a 3 night stay, and this hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter--on a quiet side street, just steps from Royal Street, a short walk to Jackson Square, and less than 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. The Omni is a small hotel, but it's quite elegant. Every member of the staff were welcoming and friendly and the service was what you'd expect from a luxury hotel. Our room, a Premier King with a small, charming balcony facing St. Louis Street, was quite small, but it was very clean and nicely decorated. The marble bathroom was only big enough for one person at a time, but it had good water pressure and a large, luxury shower head. The bed and bath linens, as well as the toiletries provided, were a high quality. Our only complaint was that the carpet looked a bit worn and should be replaced, so I'd suggest bringing slippers from home, since the hotel doesn't supply them bedside (this is the only simple luxury that could improve this hotel).
We chose the Omni, mainly for it's rooftop pool and observation deck, and it was everything we'd hoped for. After a long day of sightseeing, we love a quiet place to sit outside and relax with a cocktail, so the rooftop bar was very convenient, and the great view was an added bonus. Also, there were plenty of lounge chairs around the pool, a shaded sitting area, and tables with umbrellas if you don't want to sit in the sun.
We traveled with another couple who had been to New Orleans many times, and they were equally impressed. If you're looking for a clean, luxurious hotel, with a great location, and the charm of the French Quarter, we'd highly recommend the Omni.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2rockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Our rooftop pool and deck is a big hit. We like it so much we hold our employee appreciation events there as well. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in New Orleans. It’s nice to hear that people are impressed with the hotel and we appreciate you spreading the word on TripAdvisor. We hope you will come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,982
    1,175
    307
    107
    61
See reviews for
692
2,192
163
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Have been to New Orleans several times before and this time selected the Omni on St. Louis St. I was very pleased with the friendly staff, from the doormen to the concierge and the valet guy everyone was helpful and very friendly! My room was nice, quiet, clean and that's also true for the bathroom. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitta-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
It's great to hear that everyone was helpful and friendly. We strive to set ourselves apart with top service for all our guests. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we look forwarding to seeing you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Beautiful hotel in the great French Quarter. The hotel and room were exceptionally clean The staff is very friendly and helpful. Quiet location location, but only 1 1/2 blocks to Bourbon Street. You can walk to anywhere in the French Quarter and to Harrah,s if you want to go to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
We couldn't say it any better. Thank you for the review. We hope you will see you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My fiance made reservations at this hotel for a surprise weekend trip in August 2009 during which he proposed! I have found New Orleans to be somewhat lacking in the area of hotel value but we were very pleased with the charming Omni Royal Orleans.

First of all, the location is perfect! Acme and K-Pauls's are right around the corner, Bourbon Street and Jackson Square are not far and the street car is only a few blocks away on Canal Street.

Our room was a bit on the small side, but hello, it is an historic city people! It was just fine for a weekend stay and we found the bed to be very comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was tight but spotless. The overall decor of the hotel is very elegant and the service met all our requests.

We love New Orleans and hope to make the Omni our regular hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAshley96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
We’re so glad you chose to stay with and want to make us your regular hotel in New Orleans. You’re right. Our location really can’t be beat. And we can’t recommend Acme and K-Paul’s enough. There are so many great restaurants in the French Quarter and we hope you come back soon and enjoy them all. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohoes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans for three nights recently, and we will definitely go back. The hotel is situated right near everything, in the heart of the French Quarter. It is a chain hotel, but doesn't feel like one. The property has character, and feels like it belongs right where it is. The petite room, (which I hear they are redoing), was indeed tiny, but it was clean and charming, and everything else about this hotel made up for the room size. The view, and pool on the roof are great. We ate one nite at the Rib Room, which was excellent, on all accounts. Most importantly, every member of the staff that we came into contact with couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Really. I actually looked forward to seeing the doorman, Marty, every time we entered or left the hotel. Before we left for our trip, I saw a review here that bad mouthed the staff. After my visit, it actually makes me angry. I left my glasses in the hotel room on departure. I called the hotel, and they went to the room immediately, found them, called me right back, and fed exed them to me at home. Best stay at a hotel for us ever. Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crw5216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Wow, thank you for such a kind review. We try to go above and beyond for our guests and we’re glad you felt well taken care of during you stay. You are correct. We are renovating the hotel. You’ll also be happy to know we are knocking down some walls and making some of the petite rooms double the size they are currently for more space in the rooms. We hope you will come back and check out our progress soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Spent 4 days in the Omni, the staff are very polite and helpful. The roof-top pool is a big bonus, especially on a hot day. Room was lovely, and the bed was great. Best sleep I have had in years. Its in a great location, all attractions just a block away. Would definately use Omni hotels if visisting the States again - which I will be.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIDHMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your visit to New Orleans. We appreciate the comments and we hope you had a safe trip back to Scotland. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the omni royal in md-august. While the hotel is obviously very old,it added to the atmosphere and ambience imo. Our room was quite small but it had a balcony facing out onto royal st. It was great to just sit on the balcony with a coffee and watch the various forms of streetlife unfold beneath you. The bar on the roof is a great spot for a few beers before heading out and the view is spectacular. The hotel also has a bar around the corner on royal st. called Touche. We drank here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. Sadly it was nearly empty both times but the bar staff were excellent.

The hotel do charge for wifi but i joined their loyalty scheme and you get complimentary internet access as a privilige. This applies to all their hotels.

For location,service and atmosphere i'd definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnK9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
The balcony rooms are great for that true French Quarter atmosphere. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you uploading photos as well. It’s great for other TripAdvisor readers to see more photos than those we have online. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,299 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing