We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay!”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
livermore, ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This hotel is in a nice part of the French Quarter. Excellent location. There is a pool and bar on the 7th floor which offers a nice view of the Mississippi.
No need to rent a car here! Take an airport shuttle from the airport. Everything is in walking distance.
Royal street, which the hotel is located on, is closed to traffic part of the time to accommodate musicians and tap dancers.
The housekeeping staff did an excellent job each and every day of my stay. The rest of the staff were great as well. I would definitely come back again - I'd try to score a balcony room next time!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffmcgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for your 4 star review and for the nice description of the Omni Royal Orleans. Thank you, as well, for the compliments to the staff, we do try to give every guest the Royal O experience! We would love to have you back as our guests, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,921
    1,163
    305
    102
    59
See reviews for
677
2,147
162
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and I are just back from a week at the Omni. It was a special surprise birthday trip for my husband. On our arrival we had a bottle of sparkling wine and a Birthday card in our room from our Loyalty Ambassador Antonia Knouse. There was a small snag not getting our complimentary morning beverages on the first day but later we had a card from Antonia apologising for this and giving us a voucher for drinks from the bar. The rooftop pool was great and the bar staff very friendly. Yes the rooms and hallways need a bit of an upgrade but we had a Queen Room and we didn't find it small at all. The lobby and Bar are beautiful and the Concierge very helpful - as were the doormen. Thank you Omni for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for your 4 star review of the Omni Royal Orleans. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose the ORO for your special occasion! We will be renovating our rooms later this year and it would be our pleasure to have you as our guests again to experience the new rooms. We truly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Omni Royal. Overall it was a very positive experience. We really enjoyed the rooftop pool/bar which is very well maintained. There was a slight problem with our reservation, however, and our check in did not go as smoothly as one would like. I had booked my reservation directly with the hotel over the telephone as my husband and I were traveling with our teenage daughter and her friend, and it was essential that our rooms be adjoining or close in proximity. I was told we would have a superior double with a balcony, with a twin double right across the hall. When we got to the hotel, they did not have the proper rooms available. It took quite a bit of maneuvering on the part of the front desk to get us situated. My husband and I ended up in the balcony room as desired, but the girls room was a queen rather than two twins as I had been told we would have. Apparently there are no twin rooms near the balcony rooms. Otherwise helpful, friendly staff and superb location from which to enjoy the big easy!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 13 April 2010
Thank you for your review of the Omni Royal Orleans! We are happy you had a positive stay, however we apologize for the confusion with the reservation/rooms. We understand how important it is to keep your children safe and close by while staying in a hotel. Thank you for the compliments to the staff, we strive to accommodate each and every guest’s requests. We truly appreciate your choice to stay here at the ORO and hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I was a little concerned about this hotel going in, having read some of the reviews about small rooms, etc. Let me tell you, I feel like I got the best deal in town. Our room was fantastic, the staff was excellent, you're right in the heart of the French Quarter......there's nowhere I'd rather stay in New Orleans. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkGriswald_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalOrleans, manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Omni Royal Orleans. We are happy that you decided to stay here at the ORO and to see what the Royal O experience is all about! Thank you for the compliments and for the recommendation. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

From start to finish, I definitely see how hard the staff of the Omni are working to provide top notch service. Before my stay, a rep from the Loyalty program called to find out what time I was arriving and to offer her services in coordinating any plans. I was impressed before we even arrived! Upon check in, our room was ready (even though it was before posted check in time). The Omni did a fabulous job remembering my birthday. Again, I was impressed! At other hotels in the past, special occasions have gone unrecognized. I really felt special when the Omni remembered. Room service staff were prompt and pleasant, and the chicken fingers were tasty. As mentioned by everyone else, the location of the Omni cant be beat. The only downside was the noise from nearby guests, and I have seen previous responses by the manager that they are about to embark on rennovations to address this. So, to sum up, I was impressed by the wonderful customer service, and would definitely return to the Omni.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Beautiful hotel located two blocks off of Bourbon Street and two blocks away from Jackson Square.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic-Man81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

As many have mentioned, this hotel is perfectly located. You can easily walk to sights in every direction, yet not hear the noise from Bourbon St. one block away. Staff was super friendly & most accommodating & helpful. Lobby & rooms quite clean & tastefully appointed. (Note: rooms on 7th floor, top of hotel, while quite charming with the slanted beams, have very small windows due to the original building structure & have very little light. Also, request a room away from the elevator. As this is a late night town, you hear lots of loud people passing by your room constantly.) Beds were very comfortable with nice, soft linens, but agree with some others, they could use a heavier weight blanket. Traveled with a 6 & 19-yr old & was a welcoming place for both. Breakfast buffet had a nice selection of healthy choices. Rooftop pool with phenomenal views of the city at all different times of the day was quite a perk.

Our major complaint was not due to the hotel itself, but rather the major miscommunication with our reservation. We specifically requested balcony, adjoining rooms. Adjoining being a necessity with the kids, and a balcony a must in one of the rooms. We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday in his favorite city and this was his one requirement: to have a balcony & watch the N'Awlins street life go by. Based on all the TripAdvisor reviews, we chose this hotel as it was listed as one of the best to stay with a balcony. After many conversations with various reservation people & managers, and then learning about all the different room configurations & what was/was not possible for our request, we were told we could get 2 King adjoining rooms, only one with a balcony. A manager confirmed this (there's even a message on my answering machine) even with specifics that these were corner rooms, facing 2 different streets. We thought we were all set. Imagine the surprise when we walked into our rooms & not one of them had a balcony (not to mention very small windows). When I explained our scenario to the front desk, they tried to figure out what happened but there was nothing in our records except that we needed adjoining rooms. Jeffrey Franklin, the manager on duty, did feel badly about what occurred but unfortunately there was nothing he could do because the hotel was fully booked during our stay & all 16 balconies were occupied. He also said the room configuration that was confirmed to us only exists in one room in this hotel. I found this to be incredibly disturbing based on the amount of time & conversations I had regarding this reservation. The most surprising thing was that none of these conversations were documented anywhere in my record. Not sure if this was miscommunication between the main Omni reservation center & the hotel, but it definitely was not acceptable.

That being said, they did try to make our stay comfortable (rate reduced, breakfast offered for day that room service didn't show up in time one morning & we had to leave), but it surely started our short 4 day visit off on the wrong foot.

Yes, I would stay here again as the positives outweighed the negatives, but would just request something specific in writing regarding our reservation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,104 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing