We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Weekend In New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend In New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We are New Orleanians and during the hot summer months, we like to play tourist in the French Quarter. Usually in July and August, which is generally off-season in New Orleans, because of the hot, humid climate, hotels offer "Sizzling Summer Rates". We always spend a couple of weekends at the Omni Royal Orleans in the French Quarter. For about $100/night you get a great room in the heart of the Quarter. There is a wonderful rooftop pool that overlooks Jackson Square and the ships cruising down the Mississippi River. You can wind down on Friday afternoon sipping mint juleps around the pool or lounging under the covered bar patio. Even if it rains, as it does often enough in July or August, you can stay and watch the rain, cleansing away the week, as your sip your cocktail. Also, during the summer, you can get into just about any great restaurant without much notice, all within walking distance. We like to go to the Carousel Bar at the Monteleone Hotel on Royal and sit in the window and watch the world go by. Eventually we walk across the street to Mr. B's for barbecue shrimp and their hot white chocolate brownie dessert. We finish the evening with a martini at the Bombay Club(shhh!) in the Prince Conti Hotel, and finally back to the Omni Royal Orleans at the evenings end. Two nights at the Omni Royal Orleans in the Quarter and you're ready to tackle the week again on Monday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upt0wnN0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,678
    1,102
    281
    90
    57
See reviews for
625
1,972
148
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here the week before xmas of 2010, and it was wonderful. The location in the quarter is top-notch, our room was spotless, and the service was impeccable.

I had some trouble with the wireless internet that was never completely resolved, but we found a solution that worked.

Be sure and ask for a room with a new pillow-top mattress. Some of the mattresses are old. We had trouble sleeping our first night there, but they moved us to a room with a new mattress for the rest of our stay and it was great.

The only thing we couldn't figure out was the mysterious smell of eggs that permeated the reception area. It wasn't really offensive, just strange, and became a sort of in-joke by the end of our stay.

All in all, this hotel is huge and classy and old-school and very nice. The service we received was excellent. They offer complimentary in-room beverage service in the mornings to members of their loyalty program (which is free to join). And room service breakfast was reasonably priced and bountiful.

We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotfree1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We have been to New Orleans many times and have stayed at a different hotel every time. Until now. This is our hotel. The 150 sq. ft. room is a little small, but well laid out and beautifully decorated. Our bathroom was large and had a jacuzzi bathtub. (Our friends' bathroom was much smaller in a same-price room, so you might want to request this.) By joining the Omni membership program, we got free wi-fi and a tray left at our door every morning with our choice of 2 pots of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate and 2 juices. And the NY TImes, even on Sunday, or your choice of papers. I read that some posters had "tired" rooms and that they plan to redecorate this year. In the meantime, I would suggest if you get a less than perfect room, you ask to change. Our room was great!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The main reason for the average review for this hotel is because of the poor service we received in reception. This by no means reflects on the excellent service we received from the concierge and the bell boys.

Stayed here over the new year so it was quite expensive. When we arrived we were shown to a room where the door was already open and it smelt like someone had just been smoking in it and the bed looked like it had been rolled on. Back to reception where we complained and were told because we booked through a 3rd party basically we were almost 2nd class and don't expect much. Not in those words but that is how the receptionist made us feel. Shown to a new room on the top floor which was just okay considering the cost per night. The bathroom looked clean but it needed a really good deep clean as there was mold growing on the tiles. We could hear everything going on in the next room which was rather annoying. We know there better rooms as the rest of our family were staying on the floor 4th which was better.

We had a great time in new Orleans but if we were to stay at this hotel again we would phone ahead to make sure we had a non smoking room on one of the lower floors.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Gulliblelesstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your recent visit to New Orleans. Thank you for your feedback which we have reviewed with our Management Team. If you have time, we would love to hear a few more details so that we can determine who assisted you at the Front Desk and which rooms were not up to our standards of cleanliness. Please call the Executive Office at 504-529-7001 if you have a moment, we would really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I honeymooned in New Orleans 28 years ago, we have returned serveral times staying at different hotels - this was our first visit to Omni Royal and will definitely return. The location is perfect, we walked everywhere. We dined in the Rib Room to a 5 star meal and all services throughout the hotel were outstanding. Our room was spacious and romantic....couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I have just left New Orleans after a wonderful 10 night stay. I was there over New Years and the Sugar Bowl and the city was really, really busy. Good to see so many visitors in town.
I last stayed in the Omni in August 2006, just after Katrina. Way more guests this time , but the Southern charm, attention and hospitality was in no way diminished. The hotel is so very elegant but do not expect a brand new appearance. If you live in a McMansion then this is unlikely to be the right hotel for you.
The Omni has gorgeous marble and highly polished brass. It feels like you have stepped back in time, how refreshing. The staff are courteous and professional from Marty, the amazing doorman right through to the managers.
This is one hotel where you SHOULD order room service - the meals are huge, good value and absolutely delicious. Their gumbo, shrimp remoulade, oyster po-boy, chicken wings are all scrumptious and arrived very hot, in a timely manner.
The only drawback in my entire visit was my room. I had reserved a Petite Suite for this visit as a friend was joining me and I needed a sofa bed. On checking in to my room,
(245) I was upset to see that for $300 per night, my view was a roof top covered with
astro turf and mechanical gear, pipes etc. It soon became apparent that being located next door to the mechanical room was not good. My whole room vibrated and buzzed,
and the roar of the a/c-heating made you feel like you were onboard a plane and sitting
right over the engine.
I contacted Antonia Knouse, the Loyalty Ambassador, but to date she has never responded. That was very disappointing. The hotel was very full and although I was shown another room the next day, it was tiny. I chose to stay where I was and used earplugs. There was no noise from other guests, which is unusual in New Orleans.
Other reviewers have complained about dirty carpets, old/broken fittings etc. I found the hotel to be very clean in all areas I visited. She is showing her age - but I still love staying here, you cannot beat the location. I love this hotel, it exudes warmth, character and class. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawlins66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
We are so pleased that you selected our hotel for a return visit! Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our lobby area, customer service and room service cuisine. We are sorry that your room did not have an ideal view and that our Loyalty Ambassador did not reply to your email immediately as she was out of office for the weekend. Please let us know if you have any additional comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We went to New Orleans for New Years Eve and had a great time. The hotel is only about 1 block fom Bourbon Street but noise wasn't a problem. And Bourbon Street is quite noisy.

No complaints about the staff except that 2 of the housekeepers had a rather loud arguement in the hallway outside our room. The concierge was great and arranged dinner reservations immediately after we asked for them via e-mail. We weren't there on business but something came up that needed to be taken care of with the bank at home and the woman at the business center was quite helpful. Another nice feature was that they brought ice to the room and changed the towels in the afternoon. The staff in general was friendly.

The room was adequate. We were on the 7th floor, which is really the attic. So we had small dormer windows that didn't let in much light. But on the plus side, there was a window in the bathroom and I think we had one of the few rooms that actually had a view of the Mississippi River. Avoid the rooms that don't face the street. They faced a rather dark courtyard area.

They have a nice rooftop deck with a pool and fitness center. We watched the fireworks there on New Years, great view.

The Omni has a rewards program that is free to join. It was a good deal because you get free wifi in the room and your choice of coffee, tea, etc. delivered to your room in the morning at whatever time you choose. Maybe the ice delivery and extra towel service was part of that too, I'm not sure.

If you fly in, taxis charge a flat rate of $33.00 to and from the airport. I heard that the airport shuttle cost $40.00 per person oneway so a taxi is the better deal.

On the whole, a nice place to stay. I would go back for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you for choosing the Omni Royal Orleans hotel for your recent visit to New Orleans! We certainly pride ourselves in our location, being situated directly in the heart of the French Quarter. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of the complimentary perks of our Select Guest program, and as a member just a few more nights with any Omni will earn you a free night's stay!

The airport shuttle service is $38 round trip or $20 one way per person. So if you're travelling with 2 or more people to the French Quarter, a cab is actually cheaper.

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Big Easy! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing