We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Fun in the Big Easy”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We booked a room at the Omni Royal Orleans for the Rock N Roll Mardi Gras Marathon & 1/2 on Valentine's Weekend. We expected the hotel to be well located but had no idea just how good it would be! Convenient to everything which was a real bonus. We had seen the pictures of the hotel online and were not disappointed when we arrrived-hotel is beautiful and very comfortable, especially the beds! The room and bath were not overly large, but who goes to NOLA to stay in the room?! Plus, the desk clerk had given us a friendly heads-up about this at check-in so there was no surprise. Each time we had questions of the hotel staff, they were extremely helpful and steered us in the right direction. Love me some Southern hospitality! Also, be sure to check out the hotel bar, Touche. Will definitely put the Omni Royal Orleans at the top of our list for future trips to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAYLACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! A great majority of our staff have been here 30, 40 or even 50 years! This can add up to a wonderful experience for guests, especially in terms of recommending great activities or restaurants. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,718)
There are newer reviews for Omni Royal Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,172 - 4,178 of 4,720 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before our Dec 2010 vacation trip. We stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans, which is in the heart of the French Quarter, yet not in the noisy part. I have to say that the location was the absolute best! Easy walking distance to everywhere! Great hotel services, including bar and restaurant. I had not intended to eat in the hotel given the plethora of choices nearby, but one night the weather turned nasty so we "stayed in". And it turns out that was a great idea! Other nights the Concierge made great suggestions - and reservations! One drawback - our room was on the small side but OK since we were hardly in it, but the bathroom was uncomfortably tiny! Yikes! Overall, beautiful hotel, best possible location, fantastic service, and I would stay there again (though I would ask for a different room with hopefully a bigger bathroom).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dale08234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed two nights. Room was small but very nice. It was just my wife and I so we didn't need it any bigger. There is so much to do in NOLA that we were hardly in our room. Nice view of the courtyard. Bed was very comfortable.
GREAT Location. Near everything. Right on the corner of Royal and St. Louis. A block from Bourbon.
There was a slight odor in the hall but it didn't bother us.
The service was excellent. They gave us complimentary Starbucks in the morning since the store wasn't open. Very helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Wow, what a great stay! The folks at the Omni certainly do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. Small touches like recognizing my husband's birthday really make the difference. Also, I've stayed at other hotels and none compare to the Omni's cleanliness and elegance. I'd say the only room for improvement is that it does get a little noisy in the hallways at night when people are coming in from the bars, but that's not so much that I'd knock a star off the rating. I can't see staying anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We booked this hotel through Priceline for a 3 night stay over the MLK holiday. I had called the hotel prior to our stay to request a roll away bed for our 3 year old daughter and to check if there were any extra charges since sometimes hotels will charge for a 3rd person/ roll away bed when booking through Priceline.

We were given a room on the 3rd floor next to the elevator. And by next to the elevator I mean literally SHARING A WALL with the elevator. The whole time you are in that room you can hear the cables cracking and braking noise of the elevator going up and down. It's loud. Even louder when you are trying to sleep. That room should never be a room, it should be used for storage at best. We immediately requested to go to a different room, but they said they only had a smoking room available and we couldn't move to a smoking room/floor with a little child, but they would move us the next day. It took about 40 minutes for the roll away bed to arrive (and we arrived at 11 PM), it barely fit the room, which was really small (no room to go from the bed to the bathroom without having to jump over the roll away bed). The room is fairly old and worn, I was very surprised since this is a 4 star hotel with good reviews, I obviously didn't see other rooms but the one we stayed wouldn't get more than 2 stars at all.

We couldn't sleep all night because of the elevator noise and the next morning we asked again if we could be moved to a different room. They said not yet, but they would do it later in the day. We went out for our day tour and when we came back around 5 PM, we asked again. Once more they said they didn't have anything yet but would keep looking, and maybe tomorrow they would have something. We were all tired from a sleepless night and couldn't accept staying in the same room for yet another night. My husband pressured them about changing room and at first they said they were sold out and then said if we really wanted to change rooms maybe we would have to pay more "to move someone else" (??). At that point I called Priceline to see if they could do anything about it, since this hotel obviously accepted a bid as a 4 star hotel but was offering a room in return that was not usable. Priceline called the hotel and said we could stay there another night and check out the next day, and they couldn't do anything about it.

I went to the front desk and told them that room should not exist, it's not fair for ANY guest to stay there. I wouldn't want to stay there even if the room was free; they were basically telling our family that we would spend another sleepless night, since they wouldn't allow us to check out that night to find another hotel and wouldn't accommodate us in a different room. They argued that nobody ever complained about that room (maybe the type of guest that stays there is too drunk to be bothered by the elevator noise) and that it was a great room for the price we paid (no room is great for any price if it's not usable, but they seemed to miss the point). They also argued that they were not charging us any more money for a 3rd person/roll away bed, like this is any justification for the service we received - that's their choice, I would gladly had paid for a roll away bed if we were given a room that is anything like a 4 star hotel room (like I just did a couple of weeks ago at a different hotel which was 3 stars and much nicer than the Omni, they charged $30 night for a roll away bed). So they think that since they didn't charge us extra we should just shut up and deal with a horrible room. No thank you.

After a big argument they ended up agreeing to let us check out and we went to a much nicer hotel, very far away from elevators, to a much deserved night of sleep.

Beware if you ever book this hotel through Priceline, and since you don't know what hotel you are getting when you do the Priceline bidding, I would stay away from Priceline altogether for a 4 star hotel in the French Quarter. Priceline shouldn't do business with this hotel if that's the kind of room they will offer. And the Omni shouldn't offer this type of room to anyone if they had any decency. It's a shame and I hope that when they do the much needed renovations later this year, they will turn this room and any other guest rooms like this into storage or other administrative type rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luciana-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

We apologize that you were unhappy with your room, we are a historic French Quarter property and unfortunately a few of our guest rooms are small due to the way the building was designed. We agree to sell rooms on Priceline and do not want to treat any of our guests like second class citizens. We want every guest to receive the four diamond treatment of which we are proud. Unfortunately, many of our guests coming in that weekend booked our full rate and by paying the full rate are guaranteed their specified room type. We're sorry that there wasn't much room for the rollaway bed, in our upcoming summer renovation we wil be taking many of these rooms and knocking out walls to double the space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My husband (a previous resident of NOLA) and I get to New Orleans as often as we can.... it's simply our favorite place to visit and be together! This time we decided to bring our sons (age 11 & 12) for their first taste of the Big Easy. We have stayed in many different hotels there, but never in a better location than the Omni Royal Orleans. As Omni select guests, we decided to request our first upgrade ever (from the rather small 2 double bed room we had booked). Antonia, a delightful young lady that was a pleasure to deal with, jumped through hoops to make this happen; in less than 2 hours of arriving we ended up in the Tennessee Williams corner suite with two balconies on the 2nd floor! Perfect! My boys were thrilled, and it made our visit the wonderful memory it is! This hotel will benefit from it's upcoming scheduled renovation, but it is clean, comfortable and the perfect location to enjoy the French Quarter. Please note.... the showers in this hotel are AMAZING!!! I have never had that amount of water pressure from a hotel shower, or any shower for that matter. There was always a clean and fresh scent, and I never detected the "egg odor" mentioned in a previous review. In fact, it was one of the cleaner places we have ever stayed in the Quarter.

We especially look forward to returning following the renovation, but would return here regardless. The entire staff seemed eager to assist with anything, and genuinely happy we were there (with one exception "Michael" was a rather smug and indifferent gentleman at the front desk who didn't want to be bothered by anyone, and I can imagine he doesn't get along well with his pleasant colleagues). We had a minor issue with street noise, but nothing a little white noise machine didn't fix. Besides, for the location... it's nothing like the noise we had anticipated. Other than that, I have nothing but glowing things to say about this fabulous place! We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We are New Orleanians and during the hot summer months, we like to play tourist in the French Quarter. Usually in July and August, which is generally off-season in New Orleans, because of the hot, humid climate, hotels offer "Sizzling Summer Rates". We always spend a couple of weekends at the Omni Royal Orleans in the French Quarter. For about $100/night you get a great room in the heart of the Quarter. There is a wonderful rooftop pool that overlooks Jackson Square and the ships cruising down the Mississippi River. You can wind down on Friday afternoon sipping mint juleps around the pool or lounging under the covered bar patio. Even if it rains, as it does often enough in July or August, you can stay and watch the rain, cleansing away the week, as your sip your cocktail. Also, during the summer, you can get into just about any great restaurant without much notice, all within walking distance. We like to go to the Carousel Bar at the Monteleone Hotel on Royal and sit in the window and watch the world go by. Eventually we walk across the street to Mr. B's for barbecue shrimp and their hot white chocolate brownie dessert. We finish the evening with a martini at the Bombay Club(shhh!) in the Prince Conti Hotel, and finally back to the Omni Royal Orleans at the evenings end. Two nights at the Omni Royal Orleans in the Quarter and you're ready to tackle the week again on Monday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upt0wnN0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,198 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £125 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing