We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home away from home”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a home away from home”
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Hotel Provincial has become our home away from home. We first experienced them right after Katrina, and fell in love. Its the only place we stay now. The staff always remember us, and make us feel like we never left. The rooms are meticulous, we usually go in the summer and the rooms are delightfully chilly. The pool is so clean, the kids throw quarters and swim down to fetch them. There is a snack machine, close proximity to the finest food in the world, far enough away from Bourbon to not be overwhelmed by the crowds, but close enough to enjoy the overflow from the balcony. There is nothing more incredible that waking up in this hotel to the gentle clopping sound of the horse carriages going by, then heading down the street for a beignet and coffee. The entire staff down to the room maintenance crew are unbelievably friendly, we would never stay anywhere else in New Orleans!!!!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the safe environment, the cleanliness.
  • Disliked — That we live in California and its so far away!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    835
    203
    64
    22
See reviews for
535
1,012
84
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Room was nice, the staff was fantastic! It's just a few blocks to Bourbon and all the fantastic shops! We will be back!

  • Liked — The willingness to help with any special request!
  • Disliked — No continental breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank theurbanlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

this is a lovely hotel. staff was extremely professional and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests. i would definitely recommend it to friends and would stay there again.

  • Liked — hotel design, parking, location
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We stayed here recently and loved the hotel. The location was perfect...close to everything we wanted to see. The price was only $79/night plus $18/night for parking. The floor of our room seemed to be at a slight angle, but besides that the room was very comfortable. The bathroom did not have much counter space. The air conditioning worked great (good thing because it was HOT outside!). The front staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — room price, location
  • Disliked — having to pay to park
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WICHITA, KANSAS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We had planned to stay two nights at the Hotel Provincial but one was enough. The room was clean but the room was hot. When we tried to change the thermostat the cover fell off and we did increase the air conditioning but the room never really got cool enough. Fortunately, I had packed a small fan. My sister was staying in a different building and said their room smelled mildewey. Bathrooms in both rooms were extremely small. The hotel pool looked okay. I couldn't really tell if it was dirty or just old. The cover to the pool drain was off of it and laying loose in the deepest section of the pool. This is very dangerous as we have all heard in recent news events. The hotel staff was courteous and the valet parking had very good service. The courtyards were pretty and the hotel was in a good location, walking distance to most places we wanted to go to. Probably wouldn't stay here again. When I am paying $200 per night for a room, I want it to be cool enough - especially in July.

  • Liked — courtyards were pretty
  • Disliked — room hot - pool looked unappealing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I took my boyfriend on a trip to NOLA for his birthday since it is my favourite US destination and I felt he needed to experience it. Unfortunately during our Stay hurricane Dennis was on on the prowl. Luckily dennis did nothing to Nola.
I had booked the Provincial -mistakingly thinking it was a hotel I had stayed at during one of my other visits - but it wasnt.
The hotel was very nice. Clean and well maintained. The staff were amazing. They bent over backward for us, and during the little bit of a skirmish that Dennis did cause - they constantly checked on us to make sure we were okay, or if we needed them to do anything for us. This was very sweet - and thoughtful - especially since Dennis was nothing in comparison to what was about to come :-(
The pool was nice - the courtyard was cute - parking on site (which we didnt need - but a friend of ours who lives in Mandeville used to visit us).
staff were knowledgable of all the spots to go.
We had a great time and i would definitely go back and support the Provincial.

  • Liked — STAFF - AMAZING PEOPLE super nice and top notch customer service
  • Disliked — not much to dislike
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GregSBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

On a whim, my kids and I decided to stay a weekend in New Orleans. We saw a flyer at the Louisanna Welcome Center advertising Hotel Provential, it was a great rate. They were very nce about giving me the rate, the hotel was not the fanciest I've ever stayed at, but it was really nice. Very very clean. And it smelled good, a little old but good. Lots and lots of character. Loved the pool and courtyard. Employees were nice and helpful. I felt safe at night in the hotel without my husband. It all felt personal, not like a big chain hotel, more like a visit at Grandma's when all the cousins are there too.

The perfect location was great. We didn't wear ourselves out getting to the places we wanted to explore, or the tours we went on.

New Orleans will never recover from the hurricane, but they will survive and flourish. Despite the damages still showing in so many places there is a great deal of life left in the city. And it is wonderful to see it making a come back.

  • Liked — the atmosphere, cleanliness, architecture, good bed
  • Disliked — had to pay for parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,988 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing