We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the French Quarter”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Having visited NOLA many times, we were searching for the perfect place for our quick get-aways. We found it at the Hotel Provincial. The price was more than right as we found a coupon at the visitor's center. The grounds and facilities were beautiful. The staff was very accomodating to our requests. We were originally in a room that faced the street. When we asked to be moved, they came to our room immediately and took us to a much quieter room.

The courtyards were the perfect place to relax and read, or have a quick picnic of Central Grocery muffalettas in the cool shade. After a day of walking and exploring, the two pools were a great bonus for coolng off before heading out to dinner.

The location is ideal; it's a close walk to many of the sites and the French Quarter, but far enough away from all of the noise that comes with that area.

The staff knew we were there to celebrate our anniversary and had a listing of special romantic places for dinner (several of which we had not heard about or visited from our previous trips) waiting for us when we arrived at check-in. The staff was always very friendly and accomodating.

We will definitely be making the Hotel Provincial our place to stay on future trips to NOLA.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AlaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,650 - 2,656 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2007

First time in New Orleans. Paid 198 the first night, 229 the second night and 329 for Friday night. Very unfriendly hotel. No coffee made in lobby. Toilet rocked from side to side when you sat down. Was not worth the cost of a suite. The lady at the desk upon check out didn't even bother to ask if we enjoyed our stay. Would never stay at this Hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Glennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I usually travel on business to NOLA during the summer months, this trip was a little later in the year and prices go up, so I was looking for an alternative. I was very pleasantly surprised with the Hotel Provincial! The rates were great, the room was beautiful and the service was first class.

My 20 year old daughter was along and stayed back at the hotel and french quarter during the day. Our last night we stopped at the front desk to inquire about a cab to get her to the airport to meet me at the end of the next day since I would not have time to return to the area before our flight. They immediately called and arranged for a cab the next day, assuring me they would see that she was sent on her way.

The location was very convenient to Cafe du Monde and Central Grocery...very important...and just around the corner from Irene's Cuisine, which was an equally great discovery on this trip.

This is not a new hotel, all the charms of a vintage hotel come with the package, a little musty, no elevator (we were on the second level), small bathroom, etc. But that is what makes French Quarter hotels so wonderful! The room was clean, historic, had nice beds, and safe!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LucyImH0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Hotel Provincial has become our home away from home. We first experienced them right after Katrina, and fell in love. Its the only place we stay now. The staff always remember us, and make us feel like we never left. The rooms are meticulous, we usually go in the summer and the rooms are delightfully chilly. The pool is so clean, the kids throw quarters and swim down to fetch them. There is a snack machine, close proximity to the finest food in the world, far enough away from Bourbon to not be overwhelmed by the crowds, but close enough to enjoy the overflow from the balcony. There is nothing more incredible that waking up in this hotel to the gentle clopping sound of the horse carriages going by, then heading down the street for a beignet and coffee. The entire staff down to the room maintenance crew are unbelievably friendly, we would never stay anywhere else in New Orleans!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelHappy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Room was nice, the staff was fantastic! It's just a few blocks to Bourbon and all the fantastic shops! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank theurbanlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

this is a lovely hotel. staff was extremely professional and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our requests. i would definitely recommend it to friends and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We stayed here recently and loved the hotel. The location was perfect...close to everything we wanted to see. The price was only $79/night plus $18/night for parking. The floor of our room seemed to be at a slight angle, but besides that the room was very comfortable. The bathroom did not have much counter space. The air conditioning worked great (good thing because it was HOT outside!). The front staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OhioPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 167 in New Orleans
1,486 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £97 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing