We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wonderful location in the French Quarter in a hotel with high standards. Very helpful staff, offered their very good advice on restaurants and places to go.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizliz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    875
    211
    64
    23
See reviews for
574
1,059
90
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

First room was a ground level handicapped accessible bathroom facing a brick wall- felt dark and creepy so we went back to the front desk and asked for another. Were given 211 overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor. It was much more comfortable and brighter. No issues, not blown away by anything or anyone. Location was alright, but I prefer to be closer to the sights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasingnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My family and I have been staying at the Hotel Provincial for 10+ years, and it is usually the only place we will stay. The staff remembers us every time we visit, and does everything imaginable to make every stay unforgettable. I returned to the Provincial with my husband years after a trip with my family, and it was still as wonderful as I had left it. The beauty of the courtyard, charm of the brick paths and bubbling fountains, and glow of the gas lamps will transport you back in time while still providing modern day luxuries.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were at the Hotel Provincial for 3 nights and loved it. We had a room that opened into the beautiful courtyard. This hotel is older, but that's to be expected in the French Quarter. The room was comfortable, clean and cozy. The bathroom was quite small, but we expected it to be small. The AC/Heat was very quiet. There was no microwave, refrigerator or coffeemaker in the room, but there was 24 hour coffee near the lobby. Breakfast included muffins, bagels, cereal, coffee, hardboiled eggs. There was 1 luggage rack, but room on the dresser for a 2nd suitcase. The TV had 40+ channels. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is ideal if you want to walk almost anywhere in the French Quarter. Also, this location is much quieter than the hotels on Bourbon Street. Be advised - there is a daily valet parking charge for parking your car, but almost all the hotels in the French Quarter charge for parking. However, the parking here is in a secure, enclosed parking area. The courtyard is a charming area where you can sit and drink coffee, read the paper, etc. The hotel has both a fountain and a swimming pool within the courtyard area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This hotel was very nice! I really have no complaints. (except the breakfast did not have waffles..waffles are important to me)

I stayed in building 5 so it was on the older side but it was very well maintained. The elevator was on the slow side but I was on the second floor so I only really used it when I had luggage.

The location is great and the affordable price for the location is better. Parking was also among the cheapest of the hotels I researched.

The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. When it was raining hard, they gave me an umbrella to use for the day until I could go and buy my own.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Hotel Provincial was once a great hotel in the French Quarter. The staff is still very helpful and very nice. They want to help but the physical state of the hotel is not good. Our room was definitely on the shabby side. The hotel was very noisy both at night and in the morning. Other than the staff the location is the best feature of the hotel. We will not stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I have brought a group to this hotel for the past 12 years. Missed one year when we couldn't all get in.... was very sorry because the other hotel was terrible. Provincial is very charming with each room being just a little bit different. Have also stayed in the back way up a steep staircase but by the time you reached your room the enchantment started. The staff is so great that you can not say enough about them. Many have been there for YEARS and still have the same smile and remember you. That can go to show you how great it is because they stay. They are putting in a nice bar adjoining the lobby that will be small but quaint. In other words... I would not say any other place in the Quarter.

Room Tip: All rooms in all locations have their special value so you will not go wrong where ever you are plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,827 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing