We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but a little loud and off by itself”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but a little loud and off by itself”
Reviewed 16 January 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Provincial January 4-8, we were in New Orleans for the BCS Championship game. The staff is very nice, very helpful, very courteous. The rooms were tastefully appointed in antiques, very clean and comfy, well maintained. As other reviews have noted, its an older place and if you want all the creature comforts then go somewhere else. But we really liked the decor, and our room had French doors that opened into a very quaint courtyard, you could have coffee and breakfast there, again, very nice. About our only complaint was the location - its at one end of the Quarter, which means that to walk anywhere will take you several extra minutes. Not a big hassle though. Its also a little on the loud side, it just seemed like every little noise was magnified and made sleeping/napping difficult. But, in fairness, it was full of college football fans so that probably made a difference. All in all, though, a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newgentry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    824
    201
    64
    22
See reviews for
528
990
83
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2008

This is a nice place, in a fantastic location. Close to Bourbon St, but far enough to get some sleep. Very comfy beds, nice antiques in the room, pretty courtyard, helpful staff. The only minuses where the small bathroom(with a sloooow drain), and the outdoor motel-style entrances to the rooms.

  • Liked — Great location, comfy bed.
  • Disliked — small bathroom, outdoor entrances.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eleni79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

The Provincial is a pretty hotel, in a un-touristy part of the French Quarter. The beds are very comfortable, which to me is the most important factor in a hotel. The rooms are pleasant, though our bathroom (in a standard room) was small. The staff were all lovely, and helpful. Valet parking was made easy by the energetic attendant, who also called taxis when needed.

There is no coffee in the rooms, and the coffee in the lobby is a minimalist experience, without milk or cream (just little packets of fake stuff) and styrofoam cups. There is only a tiny sitting area in the lobby (like two chairs.) (It would be easy for the hotel to offer real milk or cream, and put out another chair or two.)

We were staying at the Provincial with a group of 20 year old kids, and they loved the beauty of the patio, and the old feeling of the hotel. They were happy and satisfied with their rooms (Petite Suites). The Provincial is around the corner from the Croissant D'Or, which is a wonderful coffee and pastry shop.

After surveying what is available in the French Quarter, I've booked another room here for next week, because of the comfortable beds, quiet location, helpful staff and beauty of the patio.

  • Liked — The beds.
  • Disliked — Poor coffee and no real milk or cream in lobby.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gallopingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Having visited NOLA many times, we were searching for the perfect place for our quick get-aways. We found it at the Hotel Provincial. The price was more than right as we found a coupon at the visitor's center. The grounds and facilities were beautiful. The staff was very accomodating to our requests. We were originally in a room that faced the street. When we asked to be moved, they came to our room immediately and took us to a much quieter room.

The courtyards were the perfect place to relax and read, or have a quick picnic of Central Grocery muffalettas in the cool shade. After a day of walking and exploring, the two pools were a great bonus for coolng off before heading out to dinner.

The location is ideal; it's a close walk to many of the sites and the French Quarter, but far enough away from all of the noise that comes with that area.

The staff knew we were there to celebrate our anniversary and had a listing of special romantic places for dinner (several of which we had not heard about or visited from our previous trips) waiting for us when we arrived at check-in. The staff was always very friendly and accomodating.

We will definitely be making the Hotel Provincial our place to stay on future trips to NOLA.

  • Liked — location, service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AlaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

First time in New Orleans. Paid 198 the first night, 229 the second night and 329 for Friday night. Very unfriendly hotel. No coffee made in lobby. Toilet rocked from side to side when you sat down. Was not worth the cost of a suite. The lady at the desk upon check out didn't even bother to ask if we enjoyed our stay. Would never stay at this Hotel again

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unfriendly no room service or cafe near by
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Glennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I usually travel on business to NOLA during the summer months, this trip was a little later in the year and prices go up, so I was looking for an alternative. I was very pleasantly surprised with the Hotel Provincial! The rates were great, the room was beautiful and the service was first class.

My 20 year old daughter was along and stayed back at the hotel and french quarter during the day. Our last night we stopped at the front desk to inquire about a cab to get her to the airport to meet me at the end of the next day since I would not have time to return to the area before our flight. They immediately called and arranged for a cab the next day, assuring me they would see that she was sent on her way.

The location was very convenient to Cafe du Monde and Central Grocery...very important...and just around the corner from Irene's Cuisine, which was an equally great discovery on this trip.

This is not a new hotel, all the charms of a vintage hotel come with the package, a little musty, no elevator (we were on the second level), small bathroom, etc. But that is what makes French Quarter hotels so wonderful! The room was clean, historic, had nice beds, and safe!

  • Liked — Location, Historic
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyImH0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2007

Hotel Provincial has become our home away from home. We first experienced them right after Katrina, and fell in love. Its the only place we stay now. The staff always remember us, and make us feel like we never left. The rooms are meticulous, we usually go in the summer and the rooms are delightfully chilly. The pool is so clean, the kids throw quarters and swim down to fetch them. There is a snack machine, close proximity to the finest food in the world, far enough away from Bourbon to not be overwhelmed by the crowds, but close enough to enjoy the overflow from the balcony. There is nothing more incredible that waking up in this hotel to the gentle clopping sound of the horse carriages going by, then heading down the street for a beignet and coffee. The entire staff down to the room maintenance crew are unbelievably friendly, we would never stay anywhere else in New Orleans!!!!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, the safe environment, the cleanliness.
  • Disliked — That we live in California and its so far away!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,000 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing