We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and historic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
NY, SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet and historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed solo for a few nights before meeting friends for a festival. This was a perfect location to everything. Bricked in patio was wonderful- I enjoyed the cool breeze in the morning and read a book with some Cafe Au Lait. Historic details (courtyards, patios, balconies, depending on room) and wonderful staff... Don't use the soda machines, though- they take your money- the front desk will happily remedy, but it's not worth the bother- just hit one of the many stores along Chartres. Great for parties of all sizes, alone or with a crew of folks. Oh, and they have a pool! Unusual for this type of accommodation...

Room Tip: If you want a particular type of room (balcony, courtyard, etc.) ask for it and re-confirm closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saishirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    816
    200
    63
    22
See reviews for
518
972
82
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My mother and I stayed here in a twin room on the ground floor (so glad I did not have to lug bags up stairs) overlooking the pool (great room as it is quiet early morning and at night). Legend goes there was a fire at the hotel so ghosts are all around. I did not see any but I had the best nights sleep so maybe they were helping me out!
The staff are friendly and helpful - not overly so but enough to make the stay pleasant.
The breakfast is sufficient - eggs, bread or bagels, cereal, milk, tea, coffee, pastries, yogurt and apples so a good way to get your tummy ready for a day of southern food hot spots!
Great location - you can get a taxi to/from the airport for $33 (although we had one driver that tried to charge a metered price even though there is a set fee imposed) and walking distance from Frenchman street and the market and some great boutique shopping. I also walked to the river front each morning and went for a jog with other fellow joggers.
Felt safe, clean and well looked after so I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Bottom floor overlooking the pool - quiet, spacious, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights along with several other couples for a long weekend of booze, food, music, and NOLA! The hotel is located perfectly a few blocks from Bourbon Street in the quarter... it was nice and quiet. The hotel staff are very proud of this hotel and are anxious to give you some history at check in. The continental breakfast was perfect, the pool refreshing and big, and the rooms had everything that we needed. The hotel is overall a bit dated, however, this goes along beautifully with the charm of this quaint, lovely space. I will stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgh15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is magnificent. I have stayed at this hotel twice, both for two nights. All four nights spent at this hotel were incredible. The staff is very helpful, understanding, and comforting! They treat you as if you're the only one staying there! The rooms are really nice. I have stayed in the 300 building and 500 building!

I did have a paranormal experience. My mom, my sister, and I were in the main pool. It was around 6pm , right before a Saints game. We took a quick dip. I heard this strange ticking noise, and turned around to see a civil war soldier walking toward the lobby. I gasped and my mom turned around and saw him as well. We went to the lobby immediately afterwards and they confirmed of no man. I Google's what I saw, and many people have seen him around the hotel. It was definitely an experience!! Love everything about this hotel, and will return!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurennicoled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Provincial in the French Quarter. Very courteous staff, very clean and well located in New Orleans. Close to the French Market, Jackson Square, the Old Mint, Cafe Du Monde and Bourbon Street. The pool can be noisy until 10 PM when it closes. Irene's, a wonderful restaurant, is next door.

Room Tip: If pool noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I reserved a room for Jazz fest nearly a year in advance. Our room was in a separate building through the parking lot, which was fine, but no one ever mentioned it in advance. I was told that the entire property had just been completely renovated, but our bathroom must have been the exception. Finally, the breakfast was a little disappointing, but pretty adequate. On a positive note, the location was perfect-in the quarter but far from Bourbon Street, the staff was very helpful, the beds were quite good, and the property is lovely. Didn't get to eat or drink at Stella (the hotel restaurant) but it looked very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have stayed at the Provincial at least three times now over a period of roughly 10 or more years. This trip to New orleans I inadvertently had to stay in three different hotels, the Provincial, Westin and the Dauphine. The Provincial remains my favorite. Some things may be slightly dated, but not much. The service each time I am there is wonderful and the rooms around the courtyard are relaxing and the location is perfect. In my book you just can't beat it for value, atmosphere and location. Had it had openings over the weekend that is were we would have spent most of our time. I love the Provincial!

Room Tip: I think that the rooms around the central courtyard are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,069 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing