We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this French Quarter Hotel”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #17 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Provincial on Jan 1st and 2cd and absolutely LOVED it!! Had a beautiful room on the first floor with French doors on a lovely courtyard. The bathroom was newly renovated and was beautiful. Wonderful water pressure which is always a good find in the Quarter. Nice amenities and wonderful friendly staff members!! Very nice continental breakfast and free use of the hotel computer and printer!! Love the quiet location on Chartres Street. Safe and quiet and wonderful location. For summer travelers, a fantastic pool in a courtyard!! I will definitely stay at the Hotel Provincial again and again!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 116, 2 double beds and very comfy and convenient!! Beautifully renovated bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,021 - 2,027 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night of our 8 night NOLA trip because the hotel we had been staying in was full for New Year's Eve. The Hotel Provincial well and truly took advantage of this and charged a LOT of money for our room, which was dated and not particularly clean. We were only here for a short time, but every member of staff we had contact with was amazing and helpful though. If you can get a good price, this would be a good budget option. Given the chance again, I would not pay about $340 a night for what we got here though - even on New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel about ten times over the past 20 years. It now feels like a second home to us. The location is perfect. You can walk to everything you need in the French Quarter. We love eating at Irene's Restaurant which is next door. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We can't imagine staying at any other hotel. Stayed in the 500 building. Didn't see any ghosts, but did feel the bed shake several times. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You can not beat the location. Walking distance from everything that was on our itinerary except for a few restaurants. The hotel is near the end of The French Quarter so it was really quiet which was wonderful. The Bar is great, although the hours were limited.

We stayed in room 176 which was a 'suite' with a 'pull-out' couch, The pull out couch was not pull out but a couch that they put sheets on to sleep. If I had a 3 foot or 4 foot child, it would have been fine, but not for any of us! The door lock was broken and difficult to work and there was a leak in the walk-in closet. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. This room was not a high end room ...really no amenities.
When we called about the lock because we could not get out of the room, they responded saying..oh yes there is an issue, we will send someone up in a bit to unlock it. We actually figured out how to unlock it before anyone showed up. It took two days to get the rollaway for the night that I needed and that was only after I complained about the leak in the closet that got my clothes wet. They did give me a $40.00 credit for the wet clothing and offered to wash them for me.

The hotel is old and needs some work. To be fair we were there over the New Year's period and I don't know what the other rooms are like. It is possible that we were put in an older room for 'overflow'.

As I wrote at the beginning the location is fabulous but the amenities were totally lacking.
I

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

DH and I spent two days in NOLA right before taking a nine night cruise. I booked this hotel via Tingo back in June; total price for two nights plus taxes for a regular room with a queen sized bed was about $185.

A few days before we left home for NOLA, I received an email from Tingo that the price had dropped and we'd receive a credit ($26) refunded to our credit card after we checked out.

The hotel is really quaint and located in a fantastic area in the French Quarter and it is very convenient to anything you'd want to do in the Quarter. Someone had told us about getting a Jazzy Pass for the local transport system but we ended up walking everywhere.

We arrived around 3:00 on our check in day. We pulled into the driveway right off of Chartres Street; a bit of a tight fight as some sort of work was going on and they had some of it blocked off. We checked in and the bell/valet gentleman parked our car ($25 per night for parking) and we went up to our room; #207 in the front building over looking Chartres Street.

Oops! When we opened the door to the room, we immediately noticed there was luggage in the room and it was obviously already occupied (thankfully, no one was in the room!)

We went back down to the lobby, explained the situation, and they upgraded us for no extra cost to a petite suite #312!

We were very happy with this room; it was located in Building 3 towards the back of the property so much more quiet. The room was very large with a sitting area, king size bed, and nice bathroom. It also shared a little courtyard with a few other rooms complete with a fountain and some nice seating arrangements. Too cold, though, to hang out there the few days we were there.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The breakfast room did double duty as The Ice House Bar, which we frequented a few times while there. We enjoyed speaking with both Etienne and James. And, I must add, had the BEST Bloody Mary's we've ever had.

No safes in the room but there are complimentary safe deposit boxes available at the front desk.

Check out was at noon; no issues there.

Everyone was friendly and, as I said, the location is perfect.

We received the promised credit from Tingo on our credit card within days of checking out.

We'll definitely return to the Hotel Provincial next time we're in NOLA.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empress5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This place has the charm you are looking for in the French quarter. Nice quaint rooms with everything you need. The breakfast in the morning is nice. Everyone there is very helpful. The location is amazing. Two streets from Royal three from Bourbon and it's right behind Decatur and the French Market. We would walk around all day and end up right at our hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our room was very nice. The bathroom was new. The bed was comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows. The room was very clean. Great location within walking distance to Bourbon St., Frenchmen St., the French Market, and the streetcars. You couldn't ask for more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndiJordyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,276 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,627 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £97 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing