We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Provincial
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$325
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$271
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,871)
Filter reviews
2,871 results
Traveller rating
1,599
950
225
71
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,599
950
225
71
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench marketjackson squarestayed in buildinggreat locationbourbon streetdecatur stcontinental breakfastcharming hotelmain buildingcafe dubeautiful courtyardquiet streetwithin walking distancefew blocksfrench quarter hotelhotel barvalet parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,181 - 2,186 of 2,871 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband for a long weekend anniversary celebration in January. The Provincial is perfectly situated just off the beaten track and yet within walking distance of all French Quarter attractions. This makes the hotel a little more quiet as an escape from the constant party that is the French quarter. This is New Orleans, so you will encounter noisy partiers returning to their rooms, disturbing the peace. Also walls could have a little more noise insulation for improvement. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Decor is not your cookie cutter Sheraton. It has more of the old world atmosphere and ambiance.
Staff is beyond helpful and housekeeping is fast and efficient. There is parking on premises, if you have a car. Proximity to all attractions means that your car will probably stay in the lot for your entire stay.
Others have complained about the free breakfast provided. I can not agree. It's just enough to get you going with good coffee, breads, cereals, yogurt, pastries, etc. Who wants to fill up before the gastronomic fest just blocks away?
Overall I would recommend this hotel for its staff, location, cleanliness, and ambiance.
And no.... We encountered no ghosts! Although the walking ghost tours make stops at the Provincial for the resident ghosts!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unoudeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner and I may be in the minority in our preferences but we can't think of anything worse than staying in a big high rise hotel where you are one of hundreds of guests!
Hence why we chose to stay at the Hotel Provincial!
Other reviews that I had read mentioned that the hotel needed to be updated however i disagree- We found the hotel to be charming and really retained the beauty and charm that you would like from the French Quarter whilst at the same time had all of the modern day amenities we could have needed.
The service was mixed but generally was very good (maybe a few people weren't having the best day?) and the free continental breakfast is basic but was more than we needed as we planned to do most of our eating at our long list of recommended restaurants around town! The internet was very fast and FREE :)
Our room was gorgeous! They have used reproduction antique furniture of a very high quality and all of the decorations are very tastefully done. The only negatives i can think of are that the walkways can be a little bit noisy at night when people are coming and going so maybe try to get a room away from the stairs. The only other thing was that our room didn't have a window except for the ones in the door which face onto the walkway- we didn't really mind this but once again maybe ask for a room further from the stairs if you are looking to have a very isolated feeling retreat.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel especially considering it is incredibly priced and in the best location in town!
:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is very old and it is obviously from the moment you step through the doors. There are still slots behind the registration desk for each room. What a delight to see some of original pieces remain. We were met at the desk by a bellman who picked up our bags and carried them all the way to our room in building five. Along the entire route he gave us pertinent information about the hotel from when and where the breakfast is to security information. What a wonderful touch. The room was very small but very well appointed with modern conveniences. I would prefer a small room that has maintained the beauty and integrity of the original hotel than to have a new, generic room. The door is fabulous with the "Do Not Disturb" and "Maid Service" built into the door with an old brass dial.

We requested building five and were delighted to get our request. The building has only 8 rooms per floor and is wonderful. Our room overlooked the French Market. The only drawback was that the barges going up and down the river sounded their horns off an on all night so it was a bit noisy. The French Market also created a bit of noise beginning about 8:30 am.

The location was PERFECT. A few blocks away from the hotel is Jackson Square. Immediately behind is French Market. Royal and Bourbon Streets are only a few blocks away. I will definitely stay at Hotel Provincial during my next stay in New Orleans.

Unfortunately we did not experience any of the reported paranormal activity sometimes associated with building five but that's ok. We loved it just the same.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise than make sure you do not get building five OR ask for one that doesn't face the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duccessoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have stayed here in the past and wanted to try a different building. Property. Has different building with different settings. The property is in wonderful shape and offers breakfast in the morning. The Ice house Bar was new since our last visit. You can walk a block to the market or two blocks to bourbon street but, you are on the quiet end about 5 blocks to Jackson Square.

Room Tip: Building 1 is right behind the office and the two levels have courtyard and pool views. The building 4 is where we stayed on the bottom level with outdoor doors to street, the building 5 has 4 floors and ours had a view of the river. A/c was good as was water pressure.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennRob90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fantastic location in the heart of the French quarter. don't take a room in the back buildings, ask only for the main building or you'll be terribly disappointed. Great NO courtyard to have their included with room breakfast. If you don't like chicory coffee you'll have to go somewhere else to bring back a cup. Nice spacious room off the courtyard.

Room Tip: I am giving an excellent only because we demanded to change rooms after they tried to put us in a room in one of their back buildings which was horrible. A room off the courtyard is fantastic.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbtbpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews