We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!!”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had an excellent time in New Orleans French Quarter, and some of it was because of the Hotel the Provincial. The staff was warm and friendly, the room was quiet, clean and had a feeling of the French Quarter. The location to all the attractions was perfect, not more than a few very short blocks to the French Marker, Bourbon Street, Jackson Square and Royal Street. The bartender made the best Hurricane in the city, much better than Paddy O's!!! We enjoyed the light breakfast before we left on our adventures every morning. We brought our laptop to keep track of things...and the wifi in the room was very strong. We rented a car, they had great parking on site...and never used the car because everything was so close to walk to! We would absolutely recommend this hotel, and will come back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    875
    211
    64
    23
See reviews for
574
1,059
90
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here with 2 friends from college for a long weekend. The place is impeccably clean, staff is friendly, and bonus points for the historical building! Even better, it's the PERFECT location. Just a few minutes walk to Bourbon Street, but far enough away that you don't get the noise of drunk people screaming in the streets at 4am! Will definitely stay here the next time I come to NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank upenn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at the Provincial. It is comforatble, clean, staff are exceptional and the location is what really makes it for us. Close enough to be adjacent to the French Quarter market and Streetcar stop but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet when all else is noisy and boisterous.

Room Tip: There are several reas to stay as the hotel owns several buildings. We stayed in Block 5 which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oilycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is located in a great area and the staff were super kind and helpful! I was there on a short weekend trip and was within walking distance of everything and far enough off the main street to be able to get a peaceful nights sleep. We got in super late and the staff helped us get settled quickly and suggested a local place to grab a late night snack. Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jessann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The location could not be better! And the price was reasonable for the location. Very nice hotel with ver courteous staff. The only thing we missed having was an elevator to our 2nd floor room. Carrying all the baby's luggage was a handful! We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh49137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife, daughter and I celebrated my 50th here along with my sister and family for 5 nights. We stayed in the supposedly haunted Building 5 but experienced no ghostly phenomena of any type...unless you count the dozens of haunted tours doing a brisk business outside the hotel! Location could not have been better...Easy walk to Jazz venues, French Market and Jackson Square in a quieter area of the French Quarter, and still close to the party on Bourbon st. Originally wanted to stay in the older part of the hotel Building 3 with larger rooms, but our smaller building 5 room was one of a few in the second floor of that building with shared balcony access overlooking Decatur street - turned out to be a good trade for that reason. Staff and Service were outstanding, rooms nicely appointed...i would put this 3.5 star in the 4 star range for value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great location on the quiet side of the Quarter, but still convenient to things. Very nice room and nicely updated bathroom in an old building, unusually quiet. Also very clean. The view was only of the parking lot, however. The continental breakfast was fine, but it seems that tour groups were coming (or going) every morning, which created a frantic atmosphere in the small breakfast room and lobby.

Room Tip: A room facing one of the courtyards would provide a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,827 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing