We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Quaint Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Quaint Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here taking a chance it would be decent enough for our 6 year anniversary trip. It was more than we expected! It was quaint, charming and the staff was very accommodating. The location is perfect - a quiet residential street behind Jackson Square. We were able to get around quite easily. We love the view and wish it was warmer (we went in January) but we tried to keep our romantic windows open to soak in the beauty of the street.

Can't beat the price either! We look forward to visiting again.

I will say a note to the management - it wouldn't hurt to update the bathrooms or at least a deep clean on the baseboards.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarnold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    810
    198
    63
    22
See reviews for
515
960
82
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We traveled with a group of 12. Checking was very quick and easy and the staff was very nice. They allowed us to split the cost of the rooms right on the spot. Staff was friendly. The court yard is lovely and a wonderful place to sit and enjoy coffee in the morning and drinks in the afternoon with friends. Close to the main activity in New Orleans and the Market center.

A wonderful quite place. Have stayed here twice and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The location can't be beat. Rooms are quaint and cozy. The facade and property made me feel like I was in Europe. I loved that my car was parked close by, on the property.

We were leaving for a cruise the morning that we checked out, and the bellhop/valet helped us tremendously. We didn't know about some important paperwork to print and attach to our bags-he recognized this and helped us ready our bags. That was great service.

We would stay at Hotel Provincial every time!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkmclean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Provincial for 4 nights in March. The location is great...right in the French Quarter, across the street from the Ursuline Convent and one block from the French Market...but far enough from Bourbon Street to be fairly quiet at night. The room was very quaint...antique furniture (but not in a grandmother kinda way), exposed brick wall, fireplace, french doors opening to the outside. There was plenty of space, the bathroom was updated, and everything was clean. Linens were nice, bed was comfortable, and there was very little extraneous noise from other rooms. The front desk staff was helpful with directions and information, even arranging for a cab to pick us up twice. The lobby is very, very small but the bar/restaurant area is cozy and the courtyard is lovely. All in all, it had a sweet, boutique hotel feeling for a reasonable price. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 4, with a street view. I believe one side of each building is a parking lot v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ezwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I had brought our two boys with as a Graduation gift for one of them to see the WWE 30th Anniv. Celebration. We could not have asked for a better location for all of the sites and sounds of New Orleans. We were able to walk all over with no problems and felt safe at all times. We even walked to the Cadilac Super Dome for the Event and then walked back to Bourbon Street. It was our first time in New Orleans and it was a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 411 and it was quiet and peaceful. Next time we will get a room with a balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel and had a great time. The hotel was close to everything but was never noisy. Nice breakfast and the bar had good choices.Love to go back when there is better weather.

Garret

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived very late in the evening and both Rick in Reception and Miss were so helpful and friendly. Great spot in the French Quarter - really handy to all the top spots. Frenchman street and the Market. The next day we were greeted by Sherlane who was very professional and always so helpful ,warm and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for her. We had a great 4 day stay. The room was clean and breakfast included with tea & coffee facilities available from the dining room as well. Very close to to "Suds dem duds" laundromat around the corner for a great laundry drop off and collect service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing