We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a quiet area of the French Quarter”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Charming hotel in a quiet area of the French Quarter”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is lovely old hotel situated in a convenient section of the Quarter, away from the noise. Although our room was small it was charming. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Definitely better staying here than close to Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neworleansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    875
    211
    64
    23
See reviews for
574
1,060
90
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This big hotel has a much smaller feel to it, rooms are of adequate size, well furnished and convenient to both the French Market and Jackson Square. Adjacent to the renowned restaurant Stella, a five star, very high priced extravaganza of a place. Much more reasonable is Irene's, garlic heaven, on the corner. Customer start lining up about 4.30 to grab a table when it opens at 6 but you can call ahead to reserve a table, I recommend it. I also recommend the Ice House bar of the Provincial, converted ice house now a bar with knowledgeable bartender, it's a quiet retreat from the Bourbon Street revelry a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetePope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great hotel in a good location in the French Quarter. Close to bars, restaurants and sights. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and we'll maintained. Decent breakfast included in the price. Delightful courtyards and pool areas. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of staying in New Orleans and are looking for a traditional hotel with great charm and atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel Provincial is perferctly situated a few block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. It's near restaurants and shopping but the crowds and noise are just out of range. The main challenge is finding a room that fits your needs as some are near the pools, there are no elevators, some have better views, etc. The courtyards around which the rooms are set do allow loud conversations to carry. This is more a local area experience than a corporate predictable one. Some people won't like that. If you are a wealthy foodie, the attached restaurant apparently is to die for, but very expensive.

Room Tip: Second floor is better if you don't mind stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GreenTea843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for a wedding the weekend of Easter, and a few days after. First of all, to give you FAIR warning, the prices are jacked up on the weekends by almost $100 versus the weekday prices.

Let's start with the positive - the location of this hotel is excellent. It's right in the French Quarter and only a few minutes walk from Jackson Square and the fabulous Cafe du Monde. Rooms were fairly large, and it wasn't so expensive that it would break the bank. Our prices were $129 during the week and $219 on the weekends. Also, there is a beautiful courtyard that's lit up at night and very atmospheric. And a pool, even though we didn't use it.

Now the negative - It is a very dated hotel (at least the building we were in) and the bathrooms are nothing to write home about. My parents-in-law were in building 5 (we were in building 1) which seemed much nicer, but everything is priced the same regardless which building you are in. Coffee was awful, but there are plenty of great cafes nearby to get good breakfast. The walls were also pretty thin in the room we were in, as we could hear entire conversations of our neighbors.

The hotel was completely adequate for our stay and always clean, just nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I am from New Orleans. I currently live in another part of the state, but visit once a month or more. When our shared condo is not available we stay at the Hotel Provicial. The location is perfect, the "feel" of the hotel is distinctly New Orleans (European for those from across the pond), and it is private, quiet and secure. Classic New Orleans!

Room Tip: I prefer second floor overlooking the pool or the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Colorasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent a long weekend in New Orleans. Stayed at Hotel Provincial for three nights. Hotel is very well situated in perfect location. Has a swimming pool and Continental breakfast.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lithil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,838 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,637 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing