We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Hotel Provincial's most notable quality is the staff. Everyone serving us was very helpful and went overboard to make certain we could find our way around the French Quarter. We were provided with directions, maps and suggestions. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast could be improved upon. There was very limited fruit and in addition to apples, which was the only fruit, oranges would have been appreciated. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Provincial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,851 - 1,857 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved this hotel and the location in the French Quarter. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff are very accomodating. Eating breakfast in the courtyard is perfect! The breakfast is continental only - could add some variety.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back "400" building are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Unfortunately, the weather was bad and stormed throughout our stay. We were put in the back building and it was a nightmare. It is a long walk through the parking lot to get to it and there is no other way to get into the bulding. I had to remove my shoes on the way to and from our room because the water was a foot deep. Imagine trying to get your luggage to the room barefoot while being pelted with rain. Horrible. Then we had a leak from the bathroom ceiling and had to put our trashcan in the middle to catch all of the water. We were able to connect to the internet, but that was it. It was so slow and the connection was so weak that the wifi was useless. The television had a problem with a loose wire, as it would work some of the time and some of the time it would not work. There is only one valet on call that takes care of getting the cars and the maintenance, so there was no help from the hotel when we had these issues. I have reasonable expectations, and am generally pretty forgiving when dealing with service, but ultimately my stay here was unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building/the front part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited NOLA for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Provincial. Check in went fine. Our request for building #1 main floor was honored. The room had 2 double beds with a large bathroom area. The beds were comfortable, and we have no complaints with the room. The room opened up to a large outdoor patio area. We had no problem with noise. We did notice some folks sitting and smoking but it did not bother us. My one complaint is the breakfast.
The area that is used to serve the meal is very small. It gets very crowded with people due to the fact that the items are not laid out in a very organized fashion. The selections are all cold items.
We were there 20 minutes before closing and items were not restocked. The bagels were gone, and the juice was empty. One suggestion would be to supply trays so that if people take food out to the courtyard or back to rooms, they have a safe way to carry items. With 5 different building and many people trying to squeeze into a too-small area, having a tray would be helpful
The second day we had breakfast at the French Bakery around the corner and it was wonderful!
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hotel Provincial.

Room Tip: Rooms in building #1 are closest to the lobby and require the least amount of walking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location - can't recommend anything else. Pricey for the quality - rooms are dirty and not fixed up at all. One doesn't expect a new hotel, but it feels like ownership/management does not want to spend a nickel on increasing the staff and quality/cleanliness of rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stay here for 5 nights. It was very quiet. I was glad to be off Bourbon street. Very close to the market. More importantly close to Croissant d-ore. Breakfast is my biggest complaint. No fruit or oatmeal. It was very basic and very unhealthly. Everyone I spoke to at the front desk was great and knowledgeable with the exception of a girl that seemed very unfamiliar with the town. Not having an elevator did not bother me. The courtyard is very pretty and relaxing. The pool looked cloudy, we did not use it. The room was nice. Beds were comfy. Bring your eye mask it never got very dark in the room. We had to tip the maid to get fresh glasses and they did not replace lotion/shampoo during the stay. They did not provide conditioner just shampoo which is odd. Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfrost13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great place to stay in the French Quarter; walking distance to everything. Only a couple of blocks from the cathedral and Bourbon street. Pool, continental breakfast, great staff, parking within the property--off the street.

Room Tip: Building 500 is quiet and farthest from the street. Has it's own little courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,978 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,421 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing