We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location of this hotel is outstanding and the staff is helpful and friendly. Room was dark with only two small windows in the door. No elevators so you have to haul you luggage up a flight of stairs. Air conditioner was stuck on 58 F and nothing I did other than turning it off helped. Overall an "OK" place but overpriced considering the condition of rooms and the parking charges. Valet staff managed to scratch my brand new vehicle but of course denied it. All rooms open to courtyard or pool so do not plan on sleeping before midnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tomco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    875
    211
    64
    23
See reviews for
574
1,060
90
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Located in the heart of the French quarter, just two blocks NE ( to the right looking at a map) from Jackson Square it allows walking to everywhere in the Quarter. It retains the French ambiance with it's small but adequate pool and garden. With it's breakfast included and bar for happy hour before going to Bourbon or Frenchmans streets for music in the evening, we found the staff went out of their way to answer questions or plan excursions around the city even getting us our boarding passes for us while we used our time to enjoy life. Around the corner and a half block up is a quaint patisserie ( bakery/cafe ) that my wife said reminded her of those in France. It had both an in door eating area and a inner courtyard open to the sky. Good food including sandwiches.

The hotel is easy to find by cab from the airport - standard fare for two is $33 each way but just steps from the baggage claim and you are brought to the front door where the staff take your luggage and you are picked up there for your return. Very seamless which is appreciated once you experience the narrow streets of the French Quarter.

The only thing we missed was the usual coffee maker in rooms, standard in most hotels. Coffee is available in the lobby all night however.

Since the hotel is in sections, we recommend staying in the rooms surrounding the garden or especially the pool rather than elsewhere because of the ambiance and closeness to the front of the hotel. I expected noise at night but there was none. Rooms are small but adequate including chairs, a table, TV, dresser, closet and separate area in the bathroom for the vanity/sink with hairdryer, towels, etc..and two queen size beds in our room ( 2019 ) above the pool - no elevator in this older section.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel with a new section if you need an elevator but then you have to walk to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 684philipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel Provincial is ideally located within the Vieux Carre/French Quarter of New Orleans on a relatively quiet street. Yet, it is within comfortable walking distance of most places of interest with the French Market just behind, St. Louis Cathedral just a few blocks down, and the bars on Bourbon Street a 5 minute walk away.

We are a family of four adults, and the double room we booked was clean, compact, and comfortable. The beds were perfect as the mattresses had just the right amount of firmness. Likewise, the bathroom was excellent, and beautifully decorated. Hotel Provincial also has an excellent swimming pool and patio area.

The hotel offers valet parking services for $26/day (comparable to most other long-term parking lots in this part of New Orleans). The only drawback was that the free continental breakfast was very subpar with little more than cereal, bagels, and coffee offered. However, in a city like New Orleans, great food can be found anywhere! I will definitely stay at Hotel Provincial when I return back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamirkalyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice rooms, comfort bed, reasonable price, beautiful setting. In the Middle of the French Quarter so near attractions by walking. Staff courteous and helpful. Pool is outdoors but water temp great. Historic!

Room Tip: Bottom level best in my opinion. Close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I can't overstate how much we loved this hotel. We stayed in a room with a kitchen. It was more like an apartment. Everything was perfect. It even had a banana tree. We loved the smaller pool because we had it to ourselves most of the time. We stayed here before a cruise. The staff allowed us to store our luggage after the cruise returned while we spent a final day in town. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen near the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATahaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Its basic but is great that it next but also out of the bourbon st. madness. I would definetely recommend. Air conditioner works, hot water i shower is there,comfortable bed, a decent walk from all atractiona and nice staff. I didnt saw no ghots at all also.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights of a four night stay in New Orleans. Initially, we were supposed to stay in a private house in the French Quarter, but, due to a miscommunication with the reservation, we were unable to have the house for two nights. This hotel was recommended to us by the real estate agent handling the lease of the house. At first, we were hesitant to stay here given the reviews seemed mixed overall. We eventually decided to stick with the reservation, and I am very glad that we did. The hotel is very quaint and European-like. The rooms all seem a bit different, and the passageways to the rooms are not intuitively laid out, but that makes the place unique. New Orleans is full of posh, shiny hotels, so it's very nice to stay somewhere that, albeit very clean and well-appointed, does not come across as stilted and stuffy. If it's any indicator, the hotel, itself, is located on a very quiet street near the edge of the French Quarter and is about two blocks from the La Laurie house, which means that tour groups are out en masse in the streets every night. It also means that you can easily get away from the noise of the Quarter without being located far away from the major nightlife areas. It is extremely convenient to just about anything you will want to see, including Bourbon and Royal and the French Market. We walked everywhere.

The room we were in is a small suite. It has a sitting area with a couch and two chairs and a wet bar. Then, there is a long, narrow hallway that leads to the bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom was (apparently) newly renovated and is quite nicely appointed...and large. I particularly liked how the rooms, although renovated, had been done in such a way as to preserve many of the original details of this old hotel. For instance, there is a transom over the glass door to the shower that appears to have been salvaged and adapted to the new design. They also stripped the walls down to the original tongue and groove boards that made the whole unit (to me) feel much warmer -- color-wise. The bedroom was very comfortable and had two windows that open to the street. Our room opened to the outside in the front, with a front porch / balcony that opens to the walled courtyard below.

Honestly, I have stayed in a handful of the five star hotels in NOLA, and this hotel is much more our speed. I would certainly stay here again, and I do not believe I would do the same for places like the Ritz or the Omni, etc. While the hotel is not luxurious by the standards set by many other, fancier hotels, all of the amenities are high end, such as the toiletries, etc. and the hotel evokes a feeling that you are staying in a family hotel in a small town in Europe, which immediately put us at ease. The only suggestion I have for the management would be to add a small refrigerator in the room. Although there was a convenient wet bar and a wall plug for a refrigerator area, there was nowhere to cool down drinks or place your leftovers. That was disappointing, but it was the only disappointment in an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 3, in room 324. I liked being on the second floor, since it seems that you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,838 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,637 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing