We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay there again.”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Henrietta, Texas
1 review
“We would stay there again.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a great place, and was very pretty. My kids loved the pool. Breakfast was provided, and the bar made good drinks. Housekeeping didn't do a very good job of making the beds, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    855
    207
    64
    23
See reviews for
546
1,030
88
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked through their website after calling to be assured a room in their courtyard or poolside area. We did not want to placed in their several storied building located at the back of the property. We paid their asking rate instead of taking a substantially lower rate offered by hotels.com. We were willing to pay the extra if it meant getting a location where we would be comfortable. Since we were driving 15 hours to reach New Orleans I told the reservationist that we would be arriving late so that the room would not be given away. I should have saved my efforts...upon arriving at 11pm we were given a room on the 5th floor. Because we had stayed there in the past I knew the areas that we requested had only two floors...which was the reason for the request. They had ignored the request and said nothing could be done...the receptionist stated that the reservationist had not entered the information correctly. We were not able to stay..no apology given. My suggestions for future travelers is to use the discount websites when booking this hotel...and to save your breath and time by not dealing with them directly...you will only be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Provincial almost every year since 1993. Each time we show up, we see the same faces working the front desk, even the bellmen are the same and it just feels like coming home! It's typical New Orleans with its beautiful Courtyards, fountains and pools. It's clean, very quiet and has a happy atmosphere. The rooms are not like chain hotel rooms, each one is decorated a little differently, so it's always a nice surprise each time we check in to see how the room is decorated. We will continue to go back for years to come. A special thanks to David and Terry!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dluvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broussard, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When I go to New Orleans, this is where I choose to stay. The rooms do not have a generic hotel feel. Come on, you are in New Orleans! Who wants a boring hotel room? This has a New Orleans feel to it, combined with modern conveniences. The location is perfect for tourist to walk from the hotel to many attractions. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is included with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Our room was quaint & beautifully decorated with antiques. The bed & pillows were so comfortable that I'm going to try to order those pillows!!! We enjoyed both pools, especially since it is SOOO hot this time of year in New Orleans. They had excellent drinks at the bar, and the breakfast (including warm boiled eggs) was wonderful. Hot water took a while to warm up, however, we were upstairs & it is an old building. Overall, is was an excellent stay. I highly recommend this hotel & will stay there again. :-)

Room Tip: Next time I think I will request a room away from the driveway...late night revelers,of course it IS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were in town in early June and our stay was great. Excellent location, walking distance to everything. The staff was most helpful especially David. We never had the breakfast there as we preferred walking about and having a breakfast outside at a cafe. We will make sure to stay here on our next visit. We would request a room away from the pool as it can get a little noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NJKen099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend June 20. - 22, 2014. Conveniently located but not in the noisy part of the French Quarter. Reasonably priced for a big city. Nice courtyard and pool. Note, only 2 floors and no elevator to second floor. We happened to get a first floor room and will request first floor next time. Complimentary continental breakfast was included.

Room Tip: Request first floor if you do not want to or cannot climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,556 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,253 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,254 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing