We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Very Clean. Friendly Staff.”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location. Very Clean. Friendly Staff.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Provincial for 5 nights and we loved it!

The location is great. The French Quarter isn't that big anyways so traveling from Canal and Bourbon to the French Market only takes about 10 minutes (unless you get distracted.. haha). We were beside the Ursuline Convent and 3 doors down from the houses of Brad Pitt & Angelina Jolie and Matthew Mcconaughey. Only one block to Royal, two blocks to Bourbon, one block down to the French Market and 3 blocks away from Jackson Square.

The rooms were very well kept and they were nice and cool. :) The grounds were clean and the pools are great. Any time there were people in the large pool we would just go to the smaller one and have it all to ourself. :) The sitting areas are in abundance and the Ice House Bar makes a great Pimms Cup, very refreshing. We didn't go to the breakfast because we like big breakfasts, but when we went by it looked well organized.

The staff were very friendly. The housekeepers don't speak English, but there is a lady that walks around the grounds and helps them out. We just gave them our garbages twice that week and that was it.

I think all travellers know that the French Quarter is not near the airport, but it is $33 flat rate. We gave our cab drivers $40 each way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petsi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    855
    207
    64
    23
See reviews for
546
1,030
88
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We've stayed at this hotel 7 times now and never disappointed. Very, very close to the french quarter and the famous Bourbon Street. We always stay in room 324 suite and love it. Takes you back in time. Staff are very, very friendly and helpful. Nice little bar for an afternoon drink. The pool is very nice. Can't miss staying here.

Room Tip: Go for suite 324. It's an awesome room. Very cozy. You'll love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

older hotel, lots of charm, convenient location, very,very helpful personal made for a pleasant
vacation. I would stay here again. This is in the french quarter and close to Bourbon street and there is a nice laundromat 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: stay on a first floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We thought the price was high, but so were the prices at nearby places. Comfortable and very clean. Front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Local cab companies were quick to arrive and the airport shuttle service was prompt for our early morning pick up. For the heart of the quarter, it was nice and quiet. Very good location to Jackson square, and famous dining establishments. Walking distance to Frenchman St. for the best music venues.

Room Tip: Select the premium rooms as they are more spacious. It is an old hotel with lots of charm but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tcmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Perfect hotel to go with the New Orleans experience. modern amenities with old world charm. we have stayed 4 times and had great experience every time. Had different room each time. They where unique with tall ceilings. They had beautiful bathrooms. Location is close enough to all action, Bourbon St., French Quarter, etc., but far enough away from all the noise. Has two nice pools. Very relaxing and has nice bar, cold beer, good continental breakfast. Employees are very nice. The hotel has a very interesting history such as it is supposed to be haunted. Thank goodness we haven't met any ghost yet. Had great time! Great place to Tay with and without the kids.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife wanted to go to New Orleans for her birthday this year. After some research, she found the perfect trip and we had a blast!!! Hotel Provincial is so centrally located that getting anywhere and everywhere is very easy. Only two blocks off the world famous Bourbon St. The "Hop On, Hop Off" bus makes it easy to go to those long distant locations that you may want to visit. Back to the hotel though, each morning they have a continental breakfast AND they also have a pool and a bar!! The rooms were nice and we felt like we were with our friends. We recommend this stay to anyone who may plan a trip to NOLA!! Travel safe everyone!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GreysenJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed during the week for our 25th anniversary. We stayed in building 5 facing the French Market. The building was quiet mid-week. I could see how there might be some street noise on busier weekends, but it seemed fine with the windows shut. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable, and we tried the continental breakfast and the bar once each (both good experiences). We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 715Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,555 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing