We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a hidden gem! Loved the room. Everyone was so friendly and made my mother's birthday special! Thank you Charlene!
Bloody Mary's are the best in the quarter!! Beautiful room with a view to the courtyard! Also the bellman was great and very helpful.

Room Tip: Front building is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,827 - 1,833 of 2,730 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had a really nice time...location of the hotel can not be beat. Easy walk to cafe du mond, French market shops and walking trail on river. Nice rooms and pool with a great bar and bartender. You do pay for parking 26 a day. Remember when entering hotel initially to stop the car on the left as it is valet parking. We misunderstood and got scolded by bell boy Isreal. Maybe he could use a customer service class or two? Nice stay overall

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank osudan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location. Check-in went fairly smoothly considering I made the reservations online about 5 hours before we arrived. TV reception was poor. Room was clean. air conditioner worked well. high 90's outside, 68 inside. If the place had been at full occupancy, the a/c might not hve kept up as well. May or may not stay there again. I like trying many of the French Quarter boutique hotels...I will stop looking when I find the perfect one. I personally liked the Monteleone better, but so far my wife preferred the Provincial. The room overlooked the courtyard. Loud talking could get annoying, but the placed wasn't full, so it wasn't an issue. I personally think listening to the water fountain all night is somewhat relaxing. The staff was courteous, but I didn't need much out of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RogerTheShrubber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've been to New Orleans hundreds of times and we always stay in the Quarter. Our usual haunts were full, so we booked a room at the Provincial. It's quintessential French Quarter- small rooms, romantic courtyards, familiar staff. The location is ideal for families and revelers alike. It's a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street, a couple of blocks from Jackson Square, and very close to some of New Orleans best restaurants.
The cost is less than some nearby hotels and the quality of rooms and service is the same if not better. I will be comparing prices with our usual spot next time we visit, and for this creature of habit that is saying a lot.

Room Tip: Some rooms are right next to little pools, private courtyards, etc. If you are with small children a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroeoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel Provincial was gorgeous. It had 2 small pools and a couple of courtyard gardens. Very quiet even in the middle of the French Quarter. It was in an old 1800s building and it was charming as well as very comfortable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Their breakfast was small, not much. Mostly pastries and hard boiled eggs but I didn’t really care. The room was quaint but what I expected for an old hotel (it only added to the charm).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel and it really has become better than ever. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was perfect. The staff is great and the location can't be beat. The refurbished rooms have updated plumbing/bath areas but still have the period and antique furniture,which makes staying here so pleasant. We will be back.

Room Tip: This is a tough question because this hotel covers a lot of area so it depends on what you want or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before & keep coming back. It is always very clean and located in a convenient location in The French Quarter. The staff is always friendly and helpful from when I call to make a reservation until check out. We'll be back again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janet and LeRoy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,371 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £97 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing