We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. The best.”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel's location is fantastic. I was there for Satchmo SummerFest and was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go. Service is excellent, and staff is friendly. Jimmy the bartender is top-notch. The courtyards are lovely. Two complaints; no one told me there was a pool. And, I guess someone's room had to have a view of the parking lot, but why did it have to be mine? I booked four months in advance.

Room Tip: Anything but a parking lot view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, beautiful atmosphere, great location, reasonable rates. We felt very safe and at home. The staff was friendly but Mr. Israel really went above and beyond to make our stay delightful. Thank you !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank LeNelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our first time staying here. Overall, we had a pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly situated, you can pretty much walk everywhere from St. Louis cathedral to bourbon street if you can stand the heat. Has a small pool which is nice after a long hot day. Bathroom is nicely updated. The room is clean but outdated. They give you a buy one get one free drink ticket up on an arrival, which we didnot use. Why not a complementary drink for two? Breakfast consists of coffee, OJ, bagels/cream cheese and pastries, none of which are fresh or locally made. Overall, I'd give the hotel 5/5 for location & cleanliness, 3 out of 5 for their amenities, 3-4 out of 5 for customer service depending on who is at the desk. Call the hotel to make reservation & to confirm rate because there was a discrepancy of online rate from the actual charge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jellybean_ahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a hidden gem! Loved the room. Everyone was so friendly and made my mother's birthday special! Thank you Charlene!
Bloody Mary's are the best in the quarter!! Beautiful room with a view to the courtyard! Also the bellman was great and very helpful.

Room Tip: Front building is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had a really nice time...location of the hotel can not be beat. Easy walk to cafe du mond, French market shops and walking trail on river. Nice rooms and pool with a great bar and bartender. You do pay for parking 26 a day. Remember when entering hotel initially to stop the car on the left as it is valet parking. We misunderstood and got scolded by bell boy Isreal. Maybe he could use a customer service class or two? Nice stay overall

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank osudan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location. Check-in went fairly smoothly considering I made the reservations online about 5 hours before we arrived. TV reception was poor. Room was clean. air conditioner worked well. high 90's outside, 68 inside. If the place had been at full occupancy, the a/c might not hve kept up as well. May or may not stay there again. I like trying many of the French Quarter boutique hotels...I will stop looking when I find the perfect one. I personally liked the Monteleone better, but so far my wife preferred the Provincial. The room overlooked the courtyard. Loud talking could get annoying, but the placed wasn't full, so it wasn't an issue. I personally think listening to the water fountain all night is somewhat relaxing. The staff was courteous, but I didn't need much out of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RogerTheShrubber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've been to New Orleans hundreds of times and we always stay in the Quarter. Our usual haunts were full, so we booked a room at the Provincial. It's quintessential French Quarter- small rooms, romantic courtyards, familiar staff. The location is ideal for families and revelers alike. It's a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street, a couple of blocks from Jackson Square, and very close to some of New Orleans best restaurants.
The cost is less than some nearby hotels and the quality of rooms and service is the same if not better. I will be comparing prices with our usual spot next time we visit, and for this creature of habit that is saying a lot.

Room Tip: Some rooms are right next to little pools, private courtyards, etc. If you are with small children a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroeoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,300 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,792 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,146 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing