We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #14 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
19
Reviewed 17 May 2005

After reading many different reviews about NO hotels, we decided that this one looked like the best hotel for us. We were not disappointed! When we arrived, Lee the valet was very informative and friendly.
We were in building #5 in a king room with a balcony overlooking Decatur St. and the French Market. The room was nice and the A/C was working well which was a must as the summer heat of NO had just begun.
Other reviewers have complained about the mustiness and aged appearance of this hotel, but one must remember that you are in an old hotel with antique furnishings. This is what makes this hotel as well as the French Quarter what it is, which in our opinion, was a GREAT experience.
Our only complaints were that one day housekeeping missed cleaning our room and the shower temp/pressure was inconsistent. But I certainly expect shower inconsistency in a hotel.
All in all we had a nice stay at the Hotel Provincial and would definitely stay here again.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,647 - 2,653 of 2,775 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Williamsburg, VA
213
Reviewed 28 April 2005

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. It was NOT as nice as it looked on the internet -- the rooms are old and dusty and worn -- but we were determined to stick it out. Our first day in the hotel, someone took money from our room. When the front desk came to check and see who had accessed our room by reading the magnetic key lock it turned out that no fewer than 5 people from the hotel staff (not us) had been in our room while we were out walking around that day. The hotel manager acted as if it were our fault all these people were in our room and was not very helpful. After I insisted the hotel move us to another room, they moved us to a room which stank of smoke, so much for a non-smoking room. Our friends paid for the hotel to send us a bottle of wine to celebrate our honeymoon that was never delivered to us -- who knows, maybe the staff drank it. Another couple tried to have a gift certificate to the Jazz Brunch at the Court of the Two Sisters delivered to us, but the hotel insisted we were not registered there, so no free brunch for us. After four days of horror at this hotel, we packed our car to go home and realized they had hit my car while they were shuffling cars in and out of valet parking. There are so many other nice hotels in New Orleans both in and out of the French Quarter, that you'd be better off spending your money elsewhere. The Maison Dupuy was decent, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2005

Stayed in a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard with the large fountain. The courtyard has tables and chairs and two gas lamps and is nicely landscaped. Great for reading, and drinking coffee and eating beignets. Our room was large, with a big brass bed, two stuffed chairs, a smaller chair, a dresser and a large round table. The bathroom had a sink with a large marble counter, in a separate room from the shower and toilet. There's a small closet, too. Plenty of room for our things. The furniture is not new, and the carpets may have had some spots, but it was clean and comfortable. The A/C worked perfectly when the humidity became unbearable (in March). The location is convenient to everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madgemarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2005

We enjoyed the Hotel Provincial during French Quarter Fest. The location was great; we even stopped by the room as we walked back and forth thru the Quarter to different Festival events. We enjoyed the antiques. Our room was in the main building overlooking the pool. We kept the transom window above the doors open and the ceiling fan on low - great for atmosphere and we didn't need the air conditioning. There was a slight musty smell in the room, maybe because of a leak in the sink faucet. The furnishings could use some renovation to make them top notch, but they're nice and old like the French Quarter. The staff, especially the bellmen, were really helpful. They were one of the best parts.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2005

Staff was very indifferent, location is good, room smelled really bad and staying in room 310 I'm guessing is the worst at this location. Right on a side street street and sounds like everyone walking by is in the room with you. I stayed here 22 years ago and the place was great. Time and staff have not been kind to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHarr1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
14
Reviewed 28 March 2005

I would definately not recommend this hotel to anyone. I called before to inquire about what room I would be in and the gentleman told me I'd have a lovely room overlooking the water. When we arrrived we were put in a ground floor room next to the parking lot and we were pretty much out of luck because the place was booked solid. The room appeared & smelled stale, the carpeting old, the bathrooms tiny, the towels rags. Then they had a sign on the bed telling you how much water is used when they wash your bedding and they want to conserve water. This hotel makes you want them to wash the sheets every night no matter what conservation line they try to pull on you--cheapy place.
I came all the way from NYC and wished I stayed home or in another hotel. I did enjoy New Orleans a great deal...thank goodness the City was fun and inviting... but I would not stay at this hotel again. Find another place if you can... and I paid a pretty high price just the bad luck of the draw...next time I'll do better research.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2005

Great location! By staying at the Provincial we didn't need to rent a car. Easy walking to sites or the streetcar. The room was a little older but clean. We didn't hear alot of noise outside. Water pressure and temp in the shower was the only real problem.

Thank gover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,807 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,997 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,437 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £88 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing