We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location , location !!!!”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Pensacola, FL
15
Reviewed 2 July 2005

This is now our favorite place to stay, after many visits to N.O.!! For us, practically walking out our door to the French Market, Central Grocery Store and Cafe DuMonde etc. was great - best location in the quarter - convenient, but away from the noise of the Quarter. Our room, although somewhat dark, was lovely and opened onto a small secluded courtyard. Unfortunately, Cafe Beignet was closed, but the Honfleur Bar serves great Bloody Marys to start your day! The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Terry, although the desk clerks seemed a little stiff. Can't wait to go back and hopefully have better weather so we can take advantage of the many courtyards. For Hotel Bargain Shoppers, this was a great deal !!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,686 - 2,692 of 2,821 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
houston, texas
14
Reviewed 30 June 2005

The hotel is in the 'quiet' area of the quarter which we felt was definately a positive! All one needs to do to be in the middle of the activity is walk a block or two. The location allows you to experience the hustle bustle and ecentricities of the noisy area and then make a quick escape to the hotel or Cafe du Monde to wind down. A real positive with visitors with children!
The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques, but not so much to create a paranoid feeling with kids in the room. The courtyard was also charming and allowed for a good morning area for the early risers in the room; also, it is just a short walk to the French Market which is another good activity for the morning crew.
I will book this hotel again on my next visit!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2005

This is a great small hotel. The staff is exceptional, friendly, honest and helpful. The grounds and rooms are lovely. The restaurant Stella is fabulous and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kappock6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

This location is close to the bustle of Decatur St. and far enough away from Bourbon St. to be restful. It has a pleasant courtyard and decent-size pool. It is a reasonable value, and we were comfortable. Some AC noise and bathroom mildew (that may be ubiquitous in the Quarter).

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank zinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toledo Ohio
16
Reviewed 21 May 2005

Our stay at your hotel was very pleasant and the workers were very helpful , the airlines had lost our luggage and they were very undersanding with the sitution and asked if there was anything they could do for us and that as soon as our luggage arrived they would call our room, if we wished, and have someone bring it to our room. When we asked for directions for places they helped us and in a way that we understood them. I would recomnd this hotel anyone that wanted a hotel that is also in the center of the activities, and wanted a clean and relaxed place to stay. Thank you again for making our stay with you an enjoyable one! The Reed`s

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toledo, OH
217
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We stayed at Hotel Provincial 5/11 - 5/15/05 and were very happy with everything. We had a group of 5 couples and everyone was completely happy with the hotel. We were given great rooms - right at the pool/courtyard. The hotel truly has a "New Orleans" atmosphere - full of character and charm, and in an absolutely Perfect Location!!! I found the staff to be friendly also. I am assuming the rooms other people have stayed in who have written the bad reviews for this hotel might be in one of the buildings behind the pool area, although they were renovating a building back there when we were there. I was in room 112, and our friends were right around us, on first or second floor, so requesting a specific room might be not be a bad idea.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2005

My husband and I loved Hotel Provincial. There are a number of beautiful courtyards and a large pool. We stayed in room 422 which had a balcony overlooking a quiet residential street, perfect for us to wind down in peace after long days of sightseeing. The room was decorated with beautiful antiques, was quite spacious and very clean. Every member of the staff we encountered was very friendly. This was our first visit to New Orleans and I believe the experience wouldn't have been the same had we stayed in a cookie cutter chain hotel. When, (not if), but when we return to NO, we will definately stay at Hotel Provincial!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snowflakeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 167 in New Orleans
1,486 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £97 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing