We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prytania Park
Ranked #85 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and myself stayed here for 5 nights, Sept 15-20. The hotel was very clean and the rooms very spacious. The hotel was very easy to find and the free parking was great, since we rented a car. The location was close to the bus line (a short walk) which made it very easy to get anywhere in the city for $3.00 a day. New Orleans is one of the easiest city's to get around. Once you know which bus or streetcar to take, its a piece of cake. There are many good places to eat close to the hotel. The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful. We were doing a swamp tour and there was a traffic accident on one of the major roads and they helped us find a new route and also called and made reservations for us. The breakfast was basic, but it was a good start and helps save a few dollars, which in New Orleans can go to something better!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    336
    97
    26
    53
See reviews for
179
286
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt sterling, ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was ideal spot for first time in New Orleans. Wonderful experience, great location. Trolley so close was a great. the restaurants and bars nearby were excellent. Loved the charm this hotel offered. Will definitely return to prytania next time in New Orleans.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a historic property centrally located in the Upper Garden District. It is very close to highly rated restaurants (zea's rotissiere, St Charles Tavern, Copeland's) and one block from the famed St. Charles Streetcar. We were able to take the bus to the French Quarter. We were able to walk to the Convention Center and WWII Museum (about 1.25 miles) a taxi to the convention center cost about $7.00. It is $33.00 to take a cab from the airport.

The staff here were very friendly and accommodating.

However, there were some problems with the rooms. Our first room had a mattress that sagged very badly in the middle. We spent one night on it (had gotten in late). We reported it the next morning and were immediately given a master key to check out two other rooms. We made our selection and moved our things.

The second room had a very slow sink drain. Again, it was fixed promptly after we reported it.

Because this is an older property, the rooms are on the small side. The continental breakfast is limited (toast, yogurt, packaged fruit cocktail).

Overall, this was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruthpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Readers,

This reviewer was traveling with the reviewer who wrote the "great location" dated Sept. 22nd. My response to that review will give you a better understanding to this review. The only comment I must expand on is breakfast. We serve a bit more than what she wrote. We offer an "expanded continental" breakfast, which includes , varitey of fruit and cheese danish, bagels w/cream cheese, or butter and jams/jellies, yogurt, fruit cups, grits, oatmeal, juice and coffee/tea

Thank you,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The location is ideal. However, avoid room 142 as bed saddest (sags) and noise from fan and street was bad. Thankfully our hostess next morning, Christine, was super and allowed us to change rooms with solid bed, quiet fan and no street noise. The breakfast is adequate, but given location near Zea's, Emeril etc one need not fret over this. And one can walk uptown, downtown with ease. The WWII museum is 5 blocks away and a must see. Also, you can enjoy local parks and pubs to people watch and talk. Nice to be away from overly touristy areas near French Quarter as well. Good value.

Room Tip: Grab 137-138 and use the free access to gym later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I just read the review and wanted you to know that I am sorry for your poor sleep and inconvience of having to room move. I inspected the mattress in the room as noted, and what I found was what you are calling "sags", dipping in the middle, where the heaviest part of the human body and gravity pulls at night. Unfortunately, this happens in most hotels, including ours, when the housekeeping staff does not flip and rotate the mattresses on a regular basis. Retraining classes will begin very soon, but in the meantime,

I will be replacing it with the our new style mattress. It is the same mattress that we use on our other property, Prytania Oaks. It has the innerspring coils in the mattress with the visco elastic (memory foam) on top. Being related to the local furniture company next to the hotel, we replace mattresses quickly upon notice of a situation and this new style has proven over time, it hold up much better than standard inner spring sets to offer a quality nights rest.

I hope the next time you come to town, we will get a chance to have you stay with us again.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We recently spent several days at the Prytania Park....it is close to town in the Garden District. A few minutes walk to the trolley service or bus service on St Charles Ave into Canal St, the center of town...taxi service was also good...we used it to arrive on the waterfront for our Jazz Dinner Cruise!...decided not to be glistening before we pulled away from the dock! The hotel is quite interesting. Narrow courtyards with plenty of outside seating (breakfast is set up in these if the weather is good)...our room was a double with a loft which gave us ample room to spread out. The staff were most helpful with any question we had and gave excellent suggestions for local restraunts. Unlike some of the other reviews everything in our room and bathroom worked well. The free parking is great! Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Loft rooms give privacy for more than one couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in New Orleans approx. a week after Hurricane Issac. Our room was not available until about 4:30 and that was kind of a bummer. We were allowed to park our car for free as soon as we arrived and did some walking around while we waited. We shared a loft room with my brother and sister in law and it was like we had our own space. The room was great as was the location. We would stay there again,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

If you want a budget hotel near to the centre of New Orleans and do not plan on spending much time in your room, then this is the place for you! The property is in much need of a makeover. The room that my wife and I stayed in, the electric sockets were hanging off the walls and the brickwork in the bathroom had holes in which were stuffed with toilet tissue. The main issue I had with the hotel was poor customer service from the reception staff (the General Manager was pleasant however). This started before we even arrived. I called the hotel and asked "has hurricane Issac had an effect on the hotel or area". My reply from the very helpfully young lady receptionist "no". No follow up with "thanks for calling" or "looking forward to seeing you". We arrived 40 minutes early and understandably our room was not ready, so went for a walk. On our return about 20 minutes after check in time, the receptionist told us we would have to wait another 20 minutes. After the General Manager had dealt with another Customer who had a separate complaint we got our room. We checked in for three days and left after two. Good transport links near to hotel, I would not recommend walking around nearby at night.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I am extremely upset for your disappointment in us. I am not sure where it went awry, or what you were expecting. You booked a room that is clearly described on our website from where you booked. Original exposed brick walls dating back to the 1840’s. Did you expect perfect, unblimished bricks? More on the brick artwork in a moment. I would not call us “cheap”, but more so “budget” friendly. You had an option from the website to reserve rooms that start as low in the summer as $49/night, upto $109/night. You chose the 2nd to lowest price room at $59/night. The bathroom was re-freshed in April of this year with new paint, etc., and the floors and furnishings were redone within the last 4 years.

On the day of arrival, we did run late in getting all the rooms ready for the starting time of 4pm to check in, but as I explained, we had 51 of 84 rooms checking out that morning, and all 51 were checking back in. Even with a full staff of housekeepers, some of our guests did not check out by stated time of 11 am, which is normal for most hotels. We do not just go in and toss them out at 11 am to ensure that all incoming guests can check in at starting time, 4 pm. We allow late check outs if needed to noon. That is to say not everyone is allowed to stay late, but there are always a handful that ask. That is fine, as we can not clean all the rooms at the same time. Staggering them is normal procedure to the industry and normally does not cause a big problem.

We did the best we could, and you were all checked in by 4:20pm, that is not an un-reasonable delay. We had your luggage stored, so there was nothing to stop you to go out and enjoyed our city to return later to check in.

Your picture of the TP brick shows the artwork of a prior guest, a piece of TP the size of a dime tucked into“1” brick amongst hundreds of bricks. The brick is original, dating back to 1840’s, and can not be replaced with like and kind quality, or colorings. The fact that there was a small piece of TP filling a hole in 1 brick in a roomful of bricks this age is amazing, and this upset you? The beauty of the brick against the restored original hardwood floor, and the very high ceilings is what most appreciate. You do not find this in most hotels, it is a rarity. We could have filled it with putty of sort, but then, that would look worse. We could pull the tissue out, but then, the brick will continue to crumble, therefore, we left it in. If you have another idea, I will love to discuss with you.

The electric socket is normally screwed in, but apparently, someone pulled to hard removing their own personal electronics being this sits almost directly behind an 80” tall Pine armoire. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff from the housekeeper to the Executive who inspected the room did not notify the engineering staff , otherwise, we would have re-screwed it back in. I will make sure it gets addressed.

I am sorry you felt so horrified by our area that you needed to check out early. We are tucked in the middle of a mixed residential-commerical neighborhood that does have mixed quality of residents, but that does not mean you can not walk safely around at night. We are in a major city, which is very urbanized. Seeing you are from Scotland, maybe it was a bit unsettling as you are not used to the Urban City life.

All the streets around us have lots of light, many neighbors sit out on the front stoop to watch the world go by. Unless you book a hotel way out in the suburbs, or outside the City of New Orleans, you will find our neighborhood is no different than the French Quarter, University Section, Warehouse District, Mid-City/City Park area, etc etc, its just an address difference, and not as noisy and congested as the others.

As far as the other guest complaint I had handled just before meeting you, had nothing to do with you, or this property. They had minor inconveniences that we are still dealing with from the hurricane the week prior. Nothing that any hotel in New Orleans that has open courtyards and balconies leading into rooms directly is not dealing with.

Again, I am sorry for your disappointment. Safe travels wherever else in the USA you are going to.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing