We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #107 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Poor housekeeping.Hotel could have and should have been a lot cleaner.
The carpet was sticky Better attention to detail and a makeover would make all the difference.
An alternative to eating breakfast in the open air would be good.All in all great location but poor value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scout2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Guests,

I appreciate your review, although we are not completely tired. Yes, there are some cosmetic upgrades we can make, and will be making in the future, but we have to work around "not busy" times, which fortunately, or unfortunately, how you look at it, has not come our way.

In our Historic building, we were able to work on 4 bathrooms this past summer, and have high hopes in the next month to work on 2 more.

The Contemporary Side, we have fully refurnished all rooms, and have started on the bathrooms. We have re-furbished 8 bathrooms to date, and plans to keep going as occupany allows.

The breakfast has always been served in our courtyard, which is different and unique to most hotels. This stands us apart from the standard big box, or stuffy B&B styles. We are in the beginning stages of renovation of the newly aquired proprety that sits adjacent to our hotel. It will have an indoor breakfast room area, as well as outdoor seating, which will give an option for those who do not appreciate our uniqueness. This should be complete by end of 2013, early 2014.

Thank you,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed for 6 nights while attending a conference.

Room was charming with exposed brick walls and timber floor. Own private bathroom (small).

Top floor location with street views from bedroom window.

Situated in Garden District with some beautiful homes nearby - you may even spot a celebrity home or two.

Staff friendly and service excellent.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwendaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The staff was friendly and pleasant, and the rooms are clean, well-maintained, and delightful. Beautiful exposed brick in my room. The breakfast is heavy on sugar and short on protein, and the bathroom walls are peeling, but for the price, it's still a great bargain. While I was there, the streetcar line was being refurbished, so it was necessary to ride a bus to the streetcar (easy enough to do). When the work is done it will be even more delightful, because being half a block from the streetcar makes everything really easy to get to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed here recently for 5 nights with friends and really chuffed that I found this place!
It's nice to stay away from the French Quarter to get a taste of other parts of New Orleans and this hotel didn't disappoint! Very clean, comfy rooms in a pretty courtyard.

Free wi-fi and refreshments available in reception all day every day. Our breakfast was continental, the one thing i would recommend would be to ask for a room on any floor but the ground because breakfast is served in the courtyard between 7-9am so you'll have people walking about and eating not far from your door every morning if you're on the ground floor! Our room was also next to an ice dispenser!! Which i thought wasn't thought out at all - that machine shouldn't be next to a bedroom!

All in all though i would definitely stay here again...it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the French Quarter which we did everyday and we didn't mind that, otherwise 5mins on the tram (except the trams weren't running during our stay so we used the bus which was very regular).
Area is very safe too. A lovely hotel that i would return to!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor - breakfast is served on the ground floor right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryontop293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here on the weekend before Halloween. Nice hotel with very comfy beds. The hotel was very clean and well maintained for an older place. The room had a nice layout for sleeping in close quarters. The neighborhood around the hotel looks like it was going through some renovation and updates. This hotel is close to Magazine St. and a few little coffee houses, so that is nice. To anyone who complains about New Orleans, this is an old town with older style hotels. The room is as clean and modern as it can get in an old city like this, so I think this hotel is doing a great job of maintaining this "old world" charm. Come to New Orleans expecting a unique and warm southern experience. On a side note, the street car in this area is out of use during construction in Oct 2012, so plan ahead for transportation or take the bus in the area. I liked this hotel and slept very well (I'll say that again...) The enclosed parking lot is nice and it felt very safe too.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a full size bed, but for a couple, I would get a queen size bed next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budger_roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

I would like to THANK YOU for your wonderful and spot on review of our property and your appreciation for the way things were years gone by. To the readers, Yes, Prytania Park has 2 different parts to the property, The Historic Victorian building, and the Contemporary Side. The former ispart of our property which is older, but when reading our room descriptions from the websites, when you see "Old World Charm", and Circa 1840's, one must expect some "aged" ambiance and "aged physical facilities". It does not mean we are old and dirty, but just well seasoned. These rooms are not the typical square box, perfect sheetrock wall, that look like the room next door, this "Old World Charm" building has 13 rooms, and 13 different footprints and designs with hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique reproduction furnishings, and very high ceilings.

We look forward to having you back again, and next time, a Queen size bed for you.

A Beintot,
Dori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our arrival from Europe. It did not live up to expectations. The room was 'tired' and the air conditioner so noisy that we had to turn it off to get some sleep. The room we occupied was at the base of an outside stairway and we could hear every person going up or down. There was an outside light over the stairway that lit our room through the fly window over our door. It is listed as a boutique hotel. To me it has more the motel feel about it. The breakfast was minimal, juice, coffee, Bagel and Danish pastries, not much else. The young lady on reception was very nice and helpful and if not for her I would recommend to look elsewhere especially as the three nights cost in excess $375.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was a great value. There were four of us and we shared a room with a loft that had queen beds. The beds were very comfortable and the room well furnished. The bathroom was small but the sink was separate which was very convenient. A continental breakfast was served in the courtyard and was adequate but did get a little boring since the same things were served all 5 days. The location of the hotel was very convenient, close to the French Quarter (a 5 minute drive) and the freeway. The cable cars were not running, if they had been we would have taken them to the French Quarter. Next time I go to New Orleans I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#118 of 166 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 166 in New Orleans
641 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#105 of 166 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing