We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Hotel was 50 yards from public transport in New Orleans but in a quiet area away from the tourist sites.Staff very friendly, breakfast was very good and everyone ate in the courtyard so there were plenty of people to converse with. Room was adequate and clean.Good place to stay in New Orleans,10 minutes by transport to the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    344
    99
    27
    56
See reviews for
184
296
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is an 1836 property that was nicely restored and updated. Front desk people were pleasant, parking was free, the breakfast was good, and our room was clean. An elevator provided access to the second floor. The full size bed and duvet very comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away so it's easy to get around without taking the car and having to repark. Several restaurants are nearby.

Initially finding our room was difficult because the desk clerk didn't tell us we had to jog right after entering a locked gate and then take an almost hidden walkway between buildings to enter a courtyard. Once in the courtyard, finding our room was easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for one night. Arrived at check-in time and told the room would be ready in 20 minutes. One hour later we were still waiting. There was another couple waiting - the wife asked if she could get in the room because her husband was sick and was told no. We received a bar of soap and that was it. No amenities even a lower end price motel would provide. i would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank letscruise33914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Primitive? Ouch that is harsh, and I certainly do remember when you checked in at the same time as the other couple. I suppose you forgot and did not mean to forget mention the fact that we offered her husband with some cool water to make him a bit more comfortable. As we explained and apologized for the delay in getting you and the other couple into your rooms, I will do so again, in hopes you understand this time, I am not expecting you to accept our apologies, as you made that quite clear. We had 2 housekeepers call in sick that morning after a night of a full house and a large check out that morning. This put all of our other staff on overload, and we were doing the best we could.

We do not check any guest into a room that has not been cleaned and inspected as it goes against Health Code. I do not know any hotel in New Orleans that would, as there are too many issues that can and do arise out of doing such.

And for the record, as our signage stated at the Front Desk check in for the guests of Prytania Park Hotel, (Not to be confused with guests checking into The Prytania Oaks, or The Queen Anne, who check in same lobby), we do provide amenities, (shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash ), as well as hand lotion, shower caps). These items are given out from the front desk as needed, We place in the rooms, hand lotion and a shower cap with the face bar, and the bath body bar of soap, and proper towel set ups.

The reason behind the shampoo, conditioner, and mouthwash is given out as needed is to keep your room rate from going up, as most hotels in New Orleans have raised their rates over the past few years to cover the increased expenses of in room items, but we have not. Our rates are the same since early 2000. We are a budget friendly hotel, and always try to remain a budget friendly hotel. Our low price is why you said you booked our hotel over another. This is part of how we do it.

Most guests travel today with their own products, so we opted at Prytania Park to keep them behind the desk, put up a nice big sign at check in so all guests see it, and hopefully read it and not raise our rates to cover an in room item that most guests do not use.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Poor housekeeping.Hotel could have and should have been a lot cleaner.
The carpet was sticky Better attention to detail and a makeover would make all the difference.
An alternative to eating breakfast in the open air would be good.All in all great location but poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scout2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guests,

I appreciate your review, although we are not completely tired. Yes, there are some cosmetic upgrades we can make, and will be making in the future, but we have to work around "not busy" times, which fortunately, or unfortunately, how you look at it, has not come our way.

In our Historic building, we were able to work on 4 bathrooms this past summer, and have high hopes in the next month to work on 2 more.

The Contemporary Side, we have fully refurnished all rooms, and have started on the bathrooms. We have re-furbished 8 bathrooms to date, and plans to keep going as occupany allows.

The breakfast has always been served in our courtyard, which is different and unique to most hotels. This stands us apart from the standard big box, or stuffy B&B styles. We are in the beginning stages of renovation of the newly aquired proprety that sits adjacent to our hotel. It will have an indoor breakfast room area, as well as outdoor seating, which will give an option for those who do not appreciate our uniqueness. This should be complete by end of 2013, early 2014.

Thank you,
Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed for 6 nights while attending a conference.

Room was charming with exposed brick walls and timber floor. Own private bathroom (small).

Top floor location with street views from bedroom window.

Situated in Garden District with some beautiful homes nearby - you may even spot a celebrity home or two.

Staff friendly and service excellent.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwendaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The staff was friendly and pleasant, and the rooms are clean, well-maintained, and delightful. Beautiful exposed brick in my room. The breakfast is heavy on sugar and short on protein, and the bathroom walls are peeling, but for the price, it's still a great bargain. While I was there, the streetcar line was being refurbished, so it was necessary to ride a bus to the streetcar (easy enough to do). When the work is done it will be even more delightful, because being half a block from the streetcar makes everything really easy to get to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed here recently for 5 nights with friends and really chuffed that I found this place!
It's nice to stay away from the French Quarter to get a taste of other parts of New Orleans and this hotel didn't disappoint! Very clean, comfy rooms in a pretty courtyard.

Free wi-fi and refreshments available in reception all day every day. Our breakfast was continental, the one thing i would recommend would be to ask for a room on any floor but the ground because breakfast is served in the courtyard between 7-9am so you'll have people walking about and eating not far from your door every morning if you're on the ground floor! Our room was also next to an ice dispenser!! Which i thought wasn't thought out at all - that machine shouldn't be next to a bedroom!

All in all though i would definitely stay here again...it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the French Quarter which we did everyday and we didn't mind that, otherwise 5mins on the tram (except the trams weren't running during our stay so we used the bus which was very regular).
Area is very safe too. A lovely hotel that i would return to!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor - breakfast is served on the ground floor right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryontop293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
1,238 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing