We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Place for the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prytania Park
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Good Place for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

The rooms are charming but small. The location is good as it is a short walk to the bus/trolley stop. The front desk folks were very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again. We didn't eat breakfast there, but there are places within a short walk or bus/trolley ride. Contrary to what some people have said, we felt safe in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    337
    97
    26
    53
See reviews for
180
286
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinesburg, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

When checking in they didn't give us the room we were confirmed for, something about booking through a third party. We did get the right room the next day. The rooms are small, and vary, vary noisy. You can hear everything that is happening outside. If you don't get a loft room there is no place to put your stuff. If this was priced as a budget motel, you might want to put up with a small, noisy room, but it wasn't any cheaper then anyplace else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Guests,

We apologized for the mistake we made the next morning, when we realized what had happened. Your 3rd Party discount booking company (Travelocity), had you booked into the Contemporary Double Queen Loft room. Our Front Desk agent who processed your reservation into our system back in September processed it our Contemporary Queen Room with 1 bed instead of 2. He made a mistake, and for this, I was extremely sorry. He was new, and the mistake was not caught during his training review and I take full responsibility for it.

The facts are simple. When you checked in, and brought it to our attention, unfortunately, that 1st night, we were completely sold out of the correct room, and moved you the next day. The room you stayed into has plenty of room for all your gear and luggage, and in fact, is no larger than the loft room on the entrance floor space where the Queen bed is. It is a mirror imaged room on that level. The only difference is, you get more space vertically, hence the loft.

I could not offer you a compensatory solution that you were seeking, as you booked through a 3rd party discounter, it belongs to the 3rd party. I can not legally change their booking, or offer refunds or discounts.

It was an honest mistake, as to err is human, and we, I apologize again. IT was not intentional by any stretch of the imagination. Oh, so you know, the agent who made this mistake is no longer with us, due to many factors, and mistakes like this was , is one of them.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The reviews I read for the Prytania Park were generally positive. There was nothing about the hotel that made it a better choice than staying in a chain hotel that has loyalty points. The breakfast in fact made it an inferior choice. There is nowhere to eat breakfast apart from the uncovered patio. This means that on a hot, cold, or rainy day, your only choice is to carry everything back to your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Readers,

I am not sure what this guest was expecting after she read the reviews. What you read is what you get. We are true to our reviews. We might not be “better choice than staying in a chain hotel that has loyalty points.”, but that certainly does not mean we are worse either, it means we are “different type of choice”.

Proudly to say, we are a different type of choice than the big box hotels. Open courtyards filled with lush natural bamboo, loft style rooms, to our Historic building with its Red Heart Pine floors, and exposed brick walls and 14’ ceilings.

When she booked, it is possible she was on the fence line of being unsure of her choice in staying in a different type of hotel than she is apparently used to, but they, that is ok. After thought of her stay is she decided she would rather be in the generic hi rise box hotel. That is ok, as some guests just do not get our European design concept. I accept that.

Service of breakfast in the courtyard- how unique and homey feeling. I know I eat breakfast in my backyard patio often to enjoy the weather, and listen to the birds chip Good Morning to you. True, an indoor breakfast room would be nice, but that was not the style of hotel we built in 1984.

However, times are changing, and we are in need of a Conference/Meeting Space to offer our guests, so we purchased the adjacent abandoned building, and are in the planning stages of what will become a just that, along with the option for those guest who prefer to be indoors for breakfast. Our outdoor seating will still be offered as many guests enjoy sitting in the rocking benches, or at the wrought iron table/chairs to enjoy nature. This is a year away, but will happen.

We do offer trays to take back to your room, as we have found that many guest enjoy having breakfast in bed, or while they sit at their desk while working on the laptop computers. It’s not a bad thing to be able to do this, it is our way of having “room service” on a budget.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Sometimes it's difficult to find good solutions in expensive towns like New Orleans. The Prytania Parka wasn't really cheap, but affordable and above all it had everything needed! It was clean, the room was very very very cute in its colonial style. They also serve breakfast..there isn't a big variety, but it's really okay and free! Also there a free parking which is an important thing in New Orleans! As I said it's right in the Garden district, but I would reccomend to have a car if you want to get to the French Quarter or other places in New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAroundtheworld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Hotel was 50 yards from public transport in New Orleans but in a quiet area away from the tourist sites.Staff very friendly, breakfast was very good and everyone ate in the courtyard so there were plenty of people to converse with. Room was adequate and clean.Good place to stay in New Orleans,10 minutes by transport to the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is an 1836 property that was nicely restored and updated. Front desk people were pleasant, parking was free, the breakfast was good, and our room was clean. An elevator provided access to the second floor. The full size bed and duvet very comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away so it's easy to get around without taking the car and having to repark. Several restaurants are nearby.

Initially finding our room was difficult because the desk clerk didn't tell us we had to jog right after entering a locked gate and then take an almost hidden walkway between buildings to enter a courtyard. Once in the courtyard, finding our room was easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for one night. Arrived at check-in time and told the room would be ready in 20 minutes. One hour later we were still waiting. There was another couple waiting - the wife asked if she could get in the room because her husband was sick and was told no. We received a bar of soap and that was it. No amenities even a lower end price motel would provide. i would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank letscruise33914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Primitive? Ouch that is harsh, and I certainly do remember when you checked in at the same time as the other couple. I suppose you forgot and did not mean to forget mention the fact that we offered her husband with some cool water to make him a bit more comfortable. As we explained and apologized for the delay in getting you and the other couple into your rooms, I will do so again, in hopes you understand this time, I am not expecting you to accept our apologies, as you made that quite clear. We had 2 housekeepers call in sick that morning after a night of a full house and a large check out that morning. This put all of our other staff on overload, and we were doing the best we could.

We do not check any guest into a room that has not been cleaned and inspected as it goes against Health Code. I do not know any hotel in New Orleans that would, as there are too many issues that can and do arise out of doing such.

And for the record, as our signage stated at the Front Desk check in for the guests of Prytania Park Hotel, (Not to be confused with guests checking into The Prytania Oaks, or The Queen Anne, who check in same lobby), we do provide amenities, (shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash ), as well as hand lotion, shower caps). These items are given out from the front desk as needed, We place in the rooms, hand lotion and a shower cap with the face bar, and the bath body bar of soap, and proper towel set ups.

The reason behind the shampoo, conditioner, and mouthwash is given out as needed is to keep your room rate from going up, as most hotels in New Orleans have raised their rates over the past few years to cover the increased expenses of in room items, but we have not. Our rates are the same since early 2000. We are a budget friendly hotel, and always try to remain a budget friendly hotel. Our low price is why you said you booked our hotel over another. This is part of how we do it.

Most guests travel today with their own products, so we opted at Prytania Park to keep them behind the desk, put up a nice big sign at check in so all guests see it, and hopefully read it and not raise our rates to cover an in room item that most guests do not use.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing