We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and free parking”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #101 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location and free parking”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed two nights during an unseasonable march cold snap. We were in the "historical" building which doesn't have individual heating and a/c units. The room itself was delightful with a good king four poster bed, high ceilings, and a nicely remodeled bath. Our inability to control the heat left us shivering and diving under the covers for afternoon naps and the plumbing was less than ideal with sudden changes in water temperature depending on the demands from other parts of the building. While these were minor annoyances to us you might want to specify one of the more modern rooms to avoid these issues.

We would stay there again. The location just off the St Charles trolley line made it a snap to get anywhere we wanted to go. You can walk to restaurants (lots of different types from fast food to fine dining), ATM's, a Walgreens, and lots of other businesses. This seemed to us like a very good value for a conveniently located hotel with free parking.

Room Tip: The "historical" building lacks some modern amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostilleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    346
    104
    27
    57
See reviews for
188
296
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Was in NOLA for a convention and the convention hotels were booked very quickly. prices around town were ridiculous, so decided to take a chance. Was a fairly short walk to convention center - maybe 10 minutes. Not a picturesque walk but short and easy. So location is good.

Hotel is in a residential-ish neighborhood and strange maze of buildings, however quaint and feels historic for sure. Rooms had character. Definitely not the nice chain hotels, however character and small feel were great. Definitely older so do not expect perfection. Clean and reasonable size.

The continental breakfast is basic. Cereal and bagels basically. However if you are on a budget it is a nice savings to use for lunch and dinner. Plus the general neighborhood has some great little restaurants within a couple blocks. Cute little area and right off the street car route with some bars and restaurants and decent amount of foot traffic at night to be comfortable walking around alone. There was even a Walgreens a couple blocks down. The room had a mini fridge so I could buy a small case of water so I did not have to pay convention center prices for bottled water. Room also had a microwave so if I had wanted to could saved even more money.

Some reviews I had read complained about some noise. I was on the back side so was quiet...with two exceptions which were not the hotels fault. One was the people upstairs having no courtesy at all. Then a family who was having breakfast and not limiting their small children from running around screaming at 7:30 on a Sunday. The hotel could post signs to remember people's rooms are right there, however it is not their fault at all that other guests just do not know how to share space with courtesy.

Overall, I took a chance and ended up very happy with what I got. Reasonable walk, great neighborhood, places to eat, and a clean room with some historic character. For the price in comparison to the rest of the hotel options, I would have expected a lot less and was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights in April, 2013. The area is quiet and pretty, close to good restaurants and the St. Charles streetcar. We were on the second floor in the old part of the building, which was fine. Everything was rather basic, but it was clean and everything worked. However, being an old building with old water pipes, the shower was a bit of an adventure with the wildly varying water temperatures at times. We only made it to the breakfast once, which was the usual choices of yogurt, toast, bagels, and a few pastries, as well as coffee etc. The people at the desk were helpful and will arrange tours. We asked about self-guided walking tour of the garden district and they printed us a thorough informative list of houses. While we were getting that, another person was helping a guest find a good nail salon, so they seem to do whatever they can to help visitors. If you are looking for a fancy place near the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter, this is not it. But if you are looking for the opposite, as we were, I definitely recommend the Prytania Park. And the parking is free!

Room Tip: No elevator, but it's only two floors to carry your stuff...you can do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISBANE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The 2nd floor rooms are epic the tv is basic it was abit old and outdated the TV the breakfast was basic. But the rest was awesome I am impressed!! Lofts are cool because they are 2 story. The have a good security reputation. It looks not so impressive from the outside but when you get in its a cute little adventure with a classic look to it. It is close to KFC, Burger King, French Quarter and the street cars.

Room Tip: The 2nd floors (loft rooms) are awesome especially if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trollful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at Prytania Park for several days this past march. In a town with area room rates of 150 - 200 PLUS parking, this hotel represents an unbeatable value. There is lots to love about this place.

We booked one of the historic queen rooms, at a lower rate. Good: lots of dark woods, old school charm, "character" of room in victorian building as expected, lovely (though very high) bed. Needs improvement: The room is a great value, but there are some things that could be addressed - wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the bathroom sink-vanity was not really historic, but more dated, and in need of fixing / replacement. The bathroom in general needs a little sprucing up, and although this is a lower rate room, I don't think these updates would cost the property too much.

One of the things that is odd about the historic rooms - there is not a dedicated heating-cooling control for the individual rooms; I believe it is controlled centrally for multiple rooms. This did not affect us - the weather was mild - but I bet this can be a problem for guests who are extremely picky about their room temperature. We were not troubled by the inner courtyard passageways or odd layout of the buildings. Our wifi was working fine. Breakfast is basic.

The garden district location can't be beat. Hip neighborhood - lots of food and drink options - Right off the St Charles streetcar. Good local historic walks. Parking was actually included - a deal MAKER for those who have a car.

I would certainly recommend this place - it was recommended to us, and we would return; even with the above I would still be OK with a historic room.

Room Tip: there are many different types at different price points. check the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEIdahoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days while attending a wedding in NOLA in October 2012. This was a great option for a quieter and more neighborhood experience of New Orleans. Prytania is set back in a cute area of the Garden district. We chose the 2 queen loft for more space. Room has basic amenities and in room microwave and small refrigerator. Bring your own toiletries as this isn't provided. Room was clean and a little on the dated side. It served our purpose well as it is right off St. Charles for access to buses to the French Quarter or to the trolley. We loved walking around this neighborhood. A few blocks behind it is a very cute breakfast cafe called Surrey's Cafe and Juice bar which we frequented a few times! Breakfast was delicious! We woke up too late and missed the hotel's complimentary breakfast. Continue walking up Magazine Street for more food and shopping options!
Boutique hotel was very quiet and had no problems with any noise. Staff was very helpful and can assist in calling a cab to take you out among the city or to the airport.

We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep South
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was my second stay at Prytania Park. I had stayed here earlier in August for my middle daughter's 21st birthday. This time I came back with all of my kids for spring break. We booked two rooms and each room was very nice. The biggest room had a loft with a spiral staircase leading up to two twin beds and a double bed down below in the main room. Both rooms had microwaves and a mini refrigerator which was helpful for leftovers. The St. Charles street car was running for this latest trip. It is a very short walk to the stop and the area is now very well lit. Nearby are some eating places including our favorite, Voodoo Barbeque. The area is very quiet which is wonderful when you are tired of the noise of the French Quarters.

We started our day with a quick walk to the nearby Walgreens for Jazzy passes to ride the street car and a few basic items we needed such as sunscreen, bottled water, etc. We were staying four days so we bought a one day pass and a three day pass each. After that we just rode the street car down to Canal Street and walked straight into the French Quarters. The hotel is a short walk from the Regions bank which feels safer than using a bank in a more hectic area. It is located close enough that you could walk to the WWII museum and Confederate Museum, but the street car stops very close so you might as well use your Jazzy Pass and ride. The hotel is a fairly short ride from the Amtrak station if you ride the train down. All in all, a great location for families or those who like less rowdy surroundings.

They offer the usual breakfast foods--cereal, pastries, bagels, instant oatmeal and grits, etc. and you can eat in the courtyard or take a tray to your room. Beyond a doubt I will stay here again on our next trip down. Oh and the front desk people were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room our first stay and there was no individual temp controls on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardtack_n_lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#115 of 163 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#75 of 163 in New Orleans
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing