We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay with family.”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #92 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay with family.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the loft suites with a queen bed and two twin beds upstairs. It was perfect for us since we were traveling with our children. The hotel was very nice, even better than I expected. I was apprehensive of the area on our way into town but quickly felt at ease after exploring around the neighborhood and checking out the short walk to St. Charles Street. It was a great area with lots of people jogging along the streetcar route and there were several places within walking distance. We had a very enjoyable stay at a great price and free parking to boot! We will defiantly stay again when we make it back to New Orleans!

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    343
    99
    26
    55
See reviews for
184
292
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trrenton, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have stayed at this property twice in the past year. Great location, right on the fringes of the French Quarter, walking distance to several great dining spots and some shops. Free off-street property. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. I like the upstairs loft sleeping areas when I travel with other folks. Rates are reasonable, typical pastries and cereal and fruits for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Park, then walk to the nearby dining and shopping venues. The street cars run right in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Being an ex New Orleanian and having no family left in the Big Easy can become quite expensive when 'old world charm' is what you desire on your rare visits to the city that 'Care Forgot' (very old expression used by natives). The Prytania Park Hotel fills that bill. $90 a day including various taxes is a great deal for this city. Yes, it is not a 4 star property and they do not have a pool. If that is what you need then this is not for you. They offer a very nice Continental Breakfast daily with cereal's ( hot and cold) bagels, pastries, 'Community' brand coffee (I have this send through their website) and tea. In room you have basic cable TV on flat screen, microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge.
The hotel is just steps from St. Charles Ave. where you can catch the streetcar (no trolleys here) to go to the French Quarter or uptown. As of this date June 2013 the line ends at Louisiana Ave. and free bus service continues to the 'River Bend' section. They are still recovering from Katrina.
The bottom line is this - I will be returning to the Prytania Park Hotel and will tell all of my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504-702Robertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el cerrito, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

All seasoned travelers know that budget = hit & miss (and more likely than not, miss). The Prytania Park is the absolute exception to that rule. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, ample outdoor space...the epitome of value for your dollar. Bring earplugs (my advice to anyone traveling anywhere) in case you are a light or late sleeper. PLEASE remember to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff EVERY DAY ( people forget that the staff isn't always the same day after day). The staff of the Prytania work hard for the money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest, THANK YOU for your time in writing such a grand review. We, meaning all of us from Front Office to the Porter/Janitors, work very hard at each of our respective jobs in making your stay in New Orleans a memorable one. Our goal is to make you feel as if you are in your own home, welcomed and comfortable so you would want to come back again.

Our Exec. Housekeeper works verry hard with his staff in making sure the rooms are what any traveler would expect, looking clean, smelling clean, and overall feeling clean. We do not want any of our guests to worry about traveler related illnesses or other pesky issues that come with hotels. But do keep in mind, this is "humidity personified" New Orleans, and we are a courtyard hotel with lots of lush greenery, so every now and then, a New Orleans outdoor bugsy habitant might be seen.

Although never solicited by the housekeeping staff, as I do not allow them to solicit the guests, leaving TIPS for them, be it daily, or at the end of your stay, is always welcomed and appreciated. Remembering what TIPS stands for, To Insure Polite/Prompt Service. This way, they do not take the Tipst for granted and learn to take pride in their job and what they do making your stay a wonderful one. Should you wait to the end of your stay, if you prefer not to leave it in the room, you can always leave it with the Front Desk upon check out to ensure it gets divided properly to the ones that attended to your room during your stay. Either way is fine, and very appreciative all the way around.

Thank you again for choosing us as your New Orleans hotelier, and I do hope to see you again in the future.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque new mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Prytania Park because the Prytania Oaks was booked up.
Based on our previous stay at the Oaks we were looking forward to the Park.
We found that it's cheaper because the room was smaller, not as nicely appointed, and the walls thinner. This was sometime annoying when people are in the outdoor areas and rambling around next door or above us. Of course it was Jazzfest time so we didn't expect total quiet!
The breakfast was about the same at both places.
The Prytanias are in a great location, near Garden District and steps away from the St. Charles trolley. It's a great convienience if you don't have a car. This property has plenty of parking if you do drive. But either way it's easy to get anywhere in the entertainment districts from the Prytanias.
If I had a choice, I would stay at the Prytania Oaks rather than the Prytania Park but they are both reasonable places to stay in NOLA.

Room Tip: away from the patio where they serve breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Putnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Readers,

We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and the indifferent. Let me quickly tell you why he feels this way as there is a clear difference between the 2 properties.

The Prytania Park is considerably less in room rates than the Prytania Oaks, (anywhere from $20-$50 plus tax, less per night depending on room type available/chosen and booked)and is for the budget minded traveler, and/or those travelers with children, OR, whom need multiple beds in a room.

The Prytania Oaks, by contrast, is all adult over 25 for all guests to reside there, and is more per night.

He could have booked a room at our premier property, The Queen Anne. She is identical in policies to the Prytania Oaks, and is across the street from it, however, it is more per night than the Oaks. This probably would have been a better option for him I believe, and next time he stays, I will certainly advise him of the availability of the QA.

Happy Trails to all, Au Bientot,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We booked a room with 2 beds & a loft and it was perfect for 3 of us. The hotel itself is pretty cool looking. Not your typical hotel with a tower & such. Everyone at the hotel was super nice!!!

Aside from the hotel being cool, the location is awesome! You're not going to stay on bourbon street but its such a cool area with many places to eat/drink within walking distance( Magazine Street).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmsAndaPaRibaPaBajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Beautiful, quaint hotel in the midst of the Garden District. Our room was the Old World Queen which was clean, bright and comfortable. The staff was incredibly helpful and answered questions we had with a smile. We stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 and never had a problem. I fell in love with this place the moment we stepped in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darbycrash1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing