We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place to stay”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #107 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I actually picked this place to stay because it had free parking and the photos on the website looked like it was nice. It was! We stayed here 3 nights while visiting New Orleans and enjoyed our stay. Front desk staff was great, the room was very clean. It's a small room, but had very tall ceilings, lovely wood floor (which unfortunately creaked a little) and a rather firm four poster bed. The bathroom was small but adequate with nice amenities (shampoo, conditioner, soaps, lotion, shower cap and mouthwash!). Plenty of hot water in the shower, and the towels were clean and fluffy. Continental breakfast served daily in the courtyard, rolls and breads and cereal and yogurt and coffee. Smoking was allowed in the courtyard and so we usually grabbed our food and took it back to our room. Hotel is only a block off St. Charles, with plenty of places to eat nearby, and the St. Charles trolley to take down to the French Quarter if desired. We did the hop on/hop off bus, with pickup a short 6 block walk from the hotel, at Prytania and Jackson. Lower Garden District area. We would definitely stay here again if we visit New Orleans, the location was excellent and the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgm530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed there Oct 21 thru Oct 24 of 2013. Although the parking was free we had to be there before all the spaces were taken up. The room ( Superior Queen Room ) was small and cramp, the bed was OLD and LUMPY plus it sagged in the middle. The tiles in this room ( #139) were old and broken plus the tub was dirty and mid 1900's. Not the best to take a bath. The carpet was old and smelly with God knows what stains. From previous encounters in different hotels we used our own towels and bed sheets for our health , we used the hotel towels as a path to the bed and bathroom and around the old carpet. As for the continental breakfast we were fortunate that it didn't rain, outside with flies and mosquitoes plus smokers, was not what we expected. The breakfast was Sunny D which was to be passed as orange juice, milk in plastic containers, coffee, bagels and some pasties probably brought at Wal-Mart which usually has a cheaper better breakfast. We had an emergency that required us to probably leave one day earlier. We explained to management for a day refund ( as we had paid in advance ). No ears on those New Orleans finesse!! We had to leave at 5 AM just to make it back home. I am of the option that no person should stay at this OLD and CRAPPY hotel unless you feel a need to be abused and need to throw your hard earned money around. Lot's of better hotels in New Orleans than this rat trap.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at Holiday Inn or some place other than this row house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I am not going to stoop to your level. I am just going to state for the record, we,( you, me, and the 2 ladies at the Front Desk who you discussed the matter of leaving early with), all know the truth behind your anger and were expecting this review as you threatened us with it over and over.

Happy Trails to you and your wife,

Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Strengths-good bed, has a few amenities in the room, nice buffet breakfast, quiet, cold location, good price

Areas for improvement-wifi is terrible & you cannot adequately adjust cooling or heating, needs updating

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and two of my friends stayed here during the Essence Festival weekend. We were skeptical, but after reading the reviews we decided to give it a try. We drove 7 hours to New Orleans Friday morning, checked in the hotel, then went to a concert. When we returned to our rooms that evening, one of my friends found a huge cockroach in her bed. This was her first time to New Orleans, so it totally freaked her out. Her and our other friend decided to come stay in my room for the night. Then we discovered another big cockroach in one of those beds! It was almost 2am in the morning. The hotel is small, so they couldn't move us to any other rooms. They sent a guy up to catch the bugs, he was only able to catch one. So, we were totally on edge all night and tired.
We ended up sleeping in chairs all night, after paying for 2 rooms! We went down to the front desk in the morning. And as soon as we started explain our situation; we were met with major attitude!! I could not understand for the life in me why they were upset because we didn't want to sleep in a bed with bugs! Finally, the manager decided to try to help us. He moved us to the other side of the hotel, and we didn't have any more problems, but still slept very uneasy.
The customer service at this hotel needs a MAJOR overhaul! New Orleans is a tourist city, not everyone knows about the large cockroaches that live there, nor do they care to sleep with them! I am a PAYING customer, no matter what my complaint was, no matter how you felt about it, it should have been handle professionally!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here last month and it was very good but if you look in the corners you can tell that housekeeping could try a little harder. Upon arrival it looks clean but after looking closely I could see neglect. All management needs to do is order a deep cleaning and detailing once in a while.
2 examples: the bathtub has a non-slip mat in it. it was not very clean....they need to replace it if after scrubbing with special cleaners doesn't come clean. The door panels inside the bath are dusty (you notice these things while you are sitting on the toilet)
I am sure the cleaning crew sanitize but these little details make a big difference and I don't think it would cost a lot...just better supervising.
Of course and to be fair I need to say that a lot of New Orleans needs a little scrubbing.....OMG the bathroom at famous (and I am sure very profitable) Café de Monde was the nastiest place I've set foot in.
I STILL LOVE NEW ORLEANS AND GO BACK AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE......LIKE THIS THANKSGIVING !!
I can certainly overlook these imperfections , it's the heart and culture of the city what is important.....I am not going to die because of a little dust in the corner,,,specially when is so affordable.
THE PRICE WAS GREAT...the hotel is in a very good location whether you use public transport or have your car (parking was plenty and free) there's also an all night security guard that I think keeps an eye on all 3 Prytannia hotels. the staff was very accommodating, breakfast was adequate and the room we had (loft) very spacious

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginanwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest, THANK YOU for your review, both the good and the not so good. We have been so incredibly busy, we have not a chance to take rooms down for fine tuning, and deep cleaning as you see we need it. Although the overall room is clean, the fine tune details have been at times overlooked since it's been check a guest out, and same day, check another guest in for most of our 60 rooms here. We do have a few slower days coming up right before Halloween, and this project has is on our calendar.

We again, Thank You, for pointing this out, as we do want to make it best stay for you. Have a Great fall season, and hope to see you back here in the future.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I spent two days here while exploring New Orleans. The hotel location is great, just off the Charles Street trolley line in the eastern end of the Garden District. We walked to the French Quarter, but found the trolley to be faster, and save walking for the French Qtr.
Check in (and out) was easy and without issues, but the lobby is small and can get cramped.
Rooms are accessed by a semi-covered courtyard walkway. Room air conditioners blow hot air into the courtyard area. Condensate drips onto the walkway which should be controlled better.

We found our room to be small but serviceable. Our room faced Prytania St. and we feared noise would be an issue. It was not. We had a double bed with memory foam mattress which is comfortable, but takes some getting use to. The AC seemed to cycle too low before turning off, perhaps due to the small room. The desk is small. WiFi is free and worked well. Bathroom was clean but somewhat dated. A mini-fridge and microwave is a great touch for keeping drinks cool.

Breakfast is served in the narrow courtyard which rooms open onto. Seating can be somewhat limited, luckily our weather was great. Hot and cold cereals are available, OJ, yogurt, and toast/ coffee buns, coffee.

Off street parking is available, without additional charge. Parking can be a premium in this city, often costly.
Overall this hotel served our needs, was a good value, but may not serve everyone. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room 132 accessed from the courtyard, faced the street. Noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A group of us stayed here; the rooms are clean and well maintained. This is away from the noise usually associated with New Orleans, right on the St Charles streetcar line, and in the Garden District. Shopping on Magazine street is close and so is the WWII museum. Free WIFI, free breakfast and FREE PARKING. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#118 of 166 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 166 in New Orleans
641 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#105 of 166 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing