We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and convenient to streetcar.”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #109 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for FQF again. Such a nice layed back atmosphere after a full day in the Quarter. This was our third stay here and will be returning in October. The hotel is perfect for us. Clean, easy access to streetcar and offers free parking. Staff always helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in the Garden District, the hotel is ideal for short walks to plenty of eateries and shopping. The hotel has a private, free parking lot and free breakfast that you may enjoy in your room or at one of the outside tables.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WasHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at the Prytania Park several times and always found the rooms to be comfortable, although the quality of the rooms does vary some. If you have a big suitcase, make sure to get a room downstairs because the steps can be tricky. The continental breakfast is a nice touch and the courtyard is a pleasant place to sit and chat. The location is equally convenient to Uptown, Magazine Street and the French Quarter. Also, It's less than a block from St. Charles and the trolley with plenty of free parking.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FrankLJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

LOVED the Prytania. I love the historical feel of the property.
The Courtyard was a lovely touch as well.
Rooms were cute and comfortable. Loved it's location with a short walk to numerous restaurants and the tram.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is not a bed and breakfast, sure you get breakfast, but you could get the same thing a a holiday inn. We stayed in a room downstairs and all we heard all night was people walking upstairs and a lot of noise. Not a good place to stay if you actually want to sleep. It was convenient with the free parking and access to the cable car on St Charles Street. Only stayed for four days, the bed was not comfortable and the bathroom was very small. Will probably not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I am truly sorry you and your sister did not care for our hotel. We are not a B&B, and never have been. We do not market ourselves as such either, so I am a bit baffled by your comment.

The room type your sister chose for you to share with her was towards the lower end of our room type structure, and it happened to be near where we serve breakfast, so the noise factor was expected to be a bit greater. The bed in your room type is small, I agree. When you book a room with Twin beds, you have to expect them to be small. Not sure what size bathroom you thought we should have, but the double wide 8' L-shaped vanity and wall to wall mirror are typically bigger than most. The shower/commode side of the bathroom tends to be small in compairison, but most do not spend alot of time on that side vs. the area where you get dressed.

As explained when your sister complained to us about the noise issue, it was Jazz Fest weekend, and we were full house, therefore, we could not move you to another room. As explained, since you needed a room with 2 beds, had a room opened up, it would have been upstairs in our loft style rooms. Your sister did not like the idea of a loft style room with a circular staircase, for various reasons, that is why she chose to book the room you were in. Your sister did advise me on the phone last week when she called for a price adjustment, that you both enjoyed our city to the wee hours of the morning and getting back to the hotel around 3-4 am, so sleeping late in the morning was something you wanted to do.

Regarding breakfast, we advertise having a Expanded Continental Breakfast. Industry standard is Coffee, Juice and Breakfast pastries. Along with that, we also serve a variety of fresh bagels, cream cheese and jams/jellies, 2 cold cereals, oatmeal, and grits.I am not sure what Holiday Inn serves, but it is possible, something similar.

Again, I am sorry for your unhappiness with your stay, but it is clear, you have us confused with another hotel and style of hotel. This confusion of yours surprises me, as your sister said you had stayed with us several times before and knew our property. That is why she booked with us in the 1st place. It was based upon your recommendation. Clearly, that was not the case. Our advertising is exactly spot on as to who we are and what we are all about.

I hope your next stay in New Orleans is a much better one, whereever that maybe. I expressed this to your sister on the phone and now to you. I hope you find the perfect hotel for you both, as clearly, we are not it. I can not change our style of hotel or levels of noise that comes naturally with a Courtyard style hotel, and especially one, that serves breakfast outside in the courtyard.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room with a loft, my kids loved having their own space. The hotel is older but is so charming! The staff as friendly and helpful. We could walk to the garden district or the French quarter. The trolley was only one block away if you don't want to walk. We were there for a Mardi Gras parade which was only one block away. Great location!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank MoreThanJustAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went to New Orleans for a 20 year reunion with a group of friends who did a cross country bike ride in 1994 and stayed in New Orleans for 3 days as it was a rest stop for us.
We booked into the Prytania Park because of the location and were able to accommodate 20 of us. The rooms were clean and they had a good continental breakfast, but the only complaint is there are no laws in place on here people can smoke. You come down to the courtyard and people are sitting next to the food smoking away which makes it quite unpleasant, and where I come from smoking is not allowed in any area and if so you go out away at least 25 feet from that area which is a federal law, but they really don't seem to care there.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPPgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Readers, This is a 2nd post for this guest under a different ID. We apologized when she was onsite as a guest, we apologized in her 1st post, and I apologize again now. We are sorry for your discomfort at breakfast. Unfortunately, smoking in public can sometimes cause non smokers grief. The Federal law she refers to applies to smoking outside of a Federal Building, and the State of Hawaii has its own public faciltiy policies. Here in Louisana, our laws are a bit different, and outdoor patios and courtyards are exempt from the laws, no matter if food is being served or not.

However, I agree, it is a common curtesy not to smoke near a guest room or where breakfast is set up. Most guest follow this curtesy, but there will be those who do not, for whatever reason. We are not here to judge, but if brought to our attention, we will ask politely to move away from the breakfast area.

This particular issue happened 1 morning during their 4 day stay. Although the rooms are non-smoking, we do allow smoking outdoors. Unfortunately, some guests do not realize the impact of their habits in relation to where we serve breakfast. As soon as she complained, our Front Desk handled it. We were advised after 8am that about someone at the table near the end of the buffet was smoking. Our desk agent asked the guest to kindly move down the courtyard path if they wished to smoke since it was bothersome to several guests, and they kindly obliged.

I am glad to know she enjoyed her room and found it clean and comfortable. Even through the smoke, its nice that she enjoyed breakfast as well.

Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#121 of 167 in New Orleans
240 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 167 in New Orleans
674 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Alder Hotel
Alder Hotel
#63 of 167 in New Orleans
62 reviews
Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
#123 of 167 in New Orleans
1,063 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#105 of 167 in New Orleans
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing