We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read This”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Ranked #155 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Read This”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Checked in:

Room at 90+ degrees - I turned on AC and it took 6-8 hours to cool down to in the high 70's!

One towel ( went to lobby 4 more)
Remote and Replacement Remote Broken
Free Parking behind building
No Ice Machine working in building except at front desk
Run down interior everywhere but my room was clean
Slow elevator
Easy to get to Quarter via I-10 or street
Dirty pool and yucky hot tub
Bed was firm and sheets clean

I only paid $37 a night plus tax and took streetcar to quarter for $3 a day.

Overall, it was a run down property but it is cheap during the week.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    20
    22
    119
See reviews for
25
46
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went down to NOLA with the family for a friend's wedding in July. The wedding booked several rooms for out of town guests. They had relatively low funds to work with and were able to get a good deal at Midtown. Reading the reviews here, I was really prepared for the worst! Crime, dirt, old rooms, rude staff, etc. I even went so far as to make reservations elsewhere after the first night just in case. We wanted to stay at least one night to stay close to friends and not be rude.

My expectations were very low, but I was so glad we gave this place a chance! The rooms were clean and the staff was very endearing. They cared about our well being. We were especially impressed by the front desk lady (Martha?). She took the time to get to know us and made sure we had fun.

The place is older and could use updating, but it was an excellent value, and we really had no problems. I didn't hear complaints from our friends either. We came away thinking that not every place needs to be a 4 or 5 star hotel. The staff can make a huge difference!

Room Tip: Ask for the best available room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller20203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The staff was rude, changed reservation dates, smokey room they claimed was a smoke free room, no fridge, dirty towels, no shampoo/conditioner, shower head broken, slow draining tub, lock broken, skethchy parking lot, didn't give us wifi password which was weak anyways, Jacuzzi out of commission, pool green

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrioticgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Pinole, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A Super Bowl-Madri Gras Disaster. Management lost booking. Hotel.com tried to charge us for not staying because of mix up. No luggage rack. No clothes hangers. No desk chair. Toilet leaked all over bathroom floor. Water handle for bath room sink broke off. Loud street noise all night long. Little sleep after killing 2 of 3 cockroaches. Bedsheets not commercially cleaned. Edible "breakfast" cooked on home appliances, served on paper plates with plastic utensils. Workers try their best, but they have so little to work with you have to sympathize with their predicament. Good shuttle to cruise lines.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance for Super Bowl or Mardi Gras. Hotel prices are not regulated & are astro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profemeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN ANTONIO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This place was so nasty! Don't waste your money on this place. It is so disgusting. The only thing good about this place was the maid. It's not her fault that this place was so filthy. She does the best she can with what she has to work with. There are hookers and pimps outside the building when it gets dark. The comforter on the bed was full of cigarette burns and the carpet was beyond filthy. I had on a pair of white socks and the bottoms were pitch black after walking on the carpet. We slept with our clothes on because we were too scared to sleep between the sheets. It smelled damp and musty in the building, the facets were rusty and broken and the shower head was broken so we couldn't take a shower. Thank God we only had this dump for 1 night. Don't waste your money on this place. Pure Disgust!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHELE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Needed a hotel last minute to see a concert in NOLA and everything else was booked up. Wow, this was all kinds of bad. Like others, the staff was friendly and did try to help but this hotel is a dump!! Elevator only fits 2 people at a time and takes FOREVER! A/C barely worked and sheets were stained beyond belief. I also found a nice family of baby roaches in the bathroom. This location is in an extremely sketchy part of town with a shabby parking lot that looks frequently looted. Thank god we only needed to stay one night! Never again! I will definately book more in advance next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I booked this hotel due to reasonable price and free parking. PLEASE pay a little more and get a better hotel. The first room they placed us in had a carpet so filthy that our feet were sticking to it. Bed had no fitted sheets and "Domino Pizza" paper ad was placed over the mattress, under the sheet, where I had to take the lose sheet off to take it out and remake the bed before sleeping. Bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Flush was not working and bath tub was broken with rusty door knobs. Room had mosquitoes and bugs.
I went down to the front desk, they explained about renovations. Staff was extremely friendly and tried their best to help. They placed us in a second room. Much better at first glance. Updated cleaner bathroom, better carpet. However, we turned the AC on and it made the noise equivalent of a truck engine. It was so bad that we checked out at 10:00 pm the same night.
And there were dead cockroaches here and there on the floor.
Terrible experience. Please go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if u must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#111 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Best Way Inn & Suites
#145 of 163 in New Orleans
24 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 163 in New Orleans
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#85 of 163 in New Orleans
233 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#141 of 163 in New Orleans
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel New Orleans

Property: Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Address: 3900 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-6939 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Midtown Hotel New Orleans 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midtown Hotel New Orleans is within minutes to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, New Orleans Arena, New Orleans Convention Center, Memorial Medical Center, Childrens Hospital, and University of New Orleans. Guests enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, meeting facilities, local spirits at Champion's Bar, and shuttle service to the airport. Sorry no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Midtown Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown New Orleans
New Orleans Midtown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing