We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was clean & nice. The staff was extremely helpful & always followed up to make sure we had everything we needed. It is also conveniently located within walking distance of the French Quarter, public transportation, etc. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla_C216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    813
    360
    144
    67
See reviews for
273
589
59
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here about a year ago with a friend, this time my wife and I are going together. Enjoyed the location and the newly renovated room. Elevators worked great with a new computerized program.

Haven't decided if we will stay here again yet, because the cancellation fee is the price of the room or pay $40 plus a night to have the right to cancel which prices the hotel out of our range, so will play the room thing tighter to our departure date.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riders_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We greatly appreciate the time taken to connect with us regarding your experience. Please accept our apologies for the pricing concerns, which are completely understood. We would love the opportunity to have you back with us in the future if you so choose. Have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have visited New Orleans a handful of times and have always stayed at this location, it is centrally located, the service is always great, the rooms are clean and large, the atmosphere is pleasant, and the bloody mary's at the bar are delicious (odd, but true). The hotel is a quick walk to the French Quarter and all the main attractions around town, the staff is always super helpful in giving suggestions and the building feels pretty safe and secure considering the craziness that happens in New Orleans! Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxsMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Sheraton. The room rate I got was excellent and I was very happy with the room itself and all the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. Its location on the edge of the French Quarter is fantastic. Easy access to street cars and easy walk to the heart of the district. We loved the views from the 37th floor.

Where I was let down was on the parking. $44.50 per day - really? When I go to a hotel I'm working out a budget, and if I get billed that much extra each day (around 45% extra), then its blown. This information should really be disclosed on the booking websites in a clear manner.


The person working the booth in the front of the hotel was not forthcoming with alternatives, saying the best we could do is $30 per night a few blocks away. I came across one place about 2 blocks away advertising for $20 a night. I'm sure there is even better.

If you aren't driving there then no worries, highly recommend it. Otherwise, plan your parking in advance.

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter, and the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We greatly appreciate the time taken to connect with us regarding your experience. Please accept our apologies for the pricing concerns, which are completely understood. We would love the opportunity to have you back with us in the future if you so choose. Have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We travelled to New Orleans for Thanksgiving 2013. We have 2 small dogs that we needed to find a pet friendly hotel for. Believe it or not, we were referred to the Sheraton because of its close proximity to Harrah's. It was perfect. We were not charged any extra fees and the dogs were even given their own bed. There was a specific area for pets to relieve themselves. We were fortunate enough to find a parking spot on the street so we avoided the valet fees. Meters were no longer checked after 6pm and the next day or so were holidays so meters were not in use. It was a wonderful hotel with a very safe protocol for elevators. We stayed on the 41st floor and had a beautiful view. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans, both with or without their canine children.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsing, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on Canal Street on Nov 22 & 23. The front desk is a disaster. We had a large group. Three of us checked in on 22 Nov and the rest on 23 Nov. When we checked to see if they had arrived on the 23rd, they told us they didn't show up and were no shows. When you call the front desk it is one chance in twenty of getting someone. I had the same trouble at home trying to confirm our reservations.
The room was quiet and clean although there was a lot of rust around the shower fittings. The water was warm at best with lousy pressure. The bed was OK. We signed up for their green program. I thought that meant no clean towels, they didn't come in and make the bed.
Next time, I will try another hotel.

Room Tip: We had 2001 which was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundupready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues in your room, the confusion surrounding the Make A Green Choice Program, and the problems at the front desk with reservations. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Upon arrival, traffic before the hotel was backed up 2 blocks. We tried to navigate around the traffic, but were told we needed to circle the building and get in line. It took us over 30 minutes to get through the "parking line". When we came to the front of the line, we were told by the same staff member who told us to drive around the building that valet parking had been unavailable for over three hours. This staff member then rudely threw a map of surrounding parking garages in the car.

After checking in with two rooms, one was unmade and smelled strongly of alcohol, the other was located directly next to the elevator. An unhelpful and unapologetic staff member at the front desk indicated she could fix the "booze room", but there was nothing to be done about the other room.

9th floor room was unreasonably loud with street noise and hallway noise. Being directly next to the elevator was an unpleasant experience I would wish on no one. The 19th floor room was on the same hallway as a football team/booster club, so noise was a problem there as well. At check out, after being asked how our stay was and responding "unpleasant and unacceptable", staff member chuckled, said, "we've gotten that a lot, have a nice day" and left the desk.

While the rooms were well appointed, the staff of this hotel could stand to learn a lot about the meaning of customer service and treating guests like guests, not like animals. This was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had and will not plan to stay at a Sheraton again if I can help it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senorjonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the overall experience you had with us. I completely understand the concerns you have and would happy to speak with you regarding them. Please feel free to reach out to me.

Josh C.
504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing