We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Mardi Gras or Jazz Fest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #77 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you're going for Mardi Gras or Jazz Fest, you can't pick a better location. Mardi Gras, you can escape the weather and watch some of the major parades right from the 3-story windows in the main lobby. It's the official spot for the Jazz Fest shuttle, too. You're right across the street from the French Quarter, and about a 5-minute walk to the top of Bourbon Street.

Security was excellent at Mardi Gras. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The exceptionally comfortable beds were the best part.

The only thing that holds me back from 5-star is the sleazy practice I witnessed at check-in. The hotel staff denied multiple guests the 2-bed rooms they'd booked at Mardi Gras, telling them their groups had to take a single bed and a rollaway. After 3 couples didn't get their rooms, I applied some pressure (prepaid for a double, plus the law says if my room isn't ready by 6:00, you can't charge me that night...) and I got my 2-bed room immediately. So, the hotel will overbook at busy times and give you an inferior room if you let them. May not be a problem when they're less busy, but it's not an uncommon practice, so buyer beware.

Room Tip: Riverview is nice, but take City view for Mardi Gras, and you might be able to see parades right fro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed one night while waiting to move to a nearby hotel for a wedding event. The Sheraton room was immaculate and well appointed with toiletries, starbucks coffee maker and teas. The bed was very comfortable. The highlight though, was the service. I left two jackets in the hotel room after check out and called to retrieve them. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. We also used luggage storage at the hotel for 4 hours and found the bellman and staff to be very helpful. The move to the other hotel was a step down. Had we known this, we'd have stayed the entire 4 nights at the Sheraton. We are early 60's, not high maintenance guests, but husband requires very good bed for his back issues. I gave this a 4 because I reserve 5 for unique boutique hotels or very unusual experiences. All in all, a great stay at a large chain hotel. Price was upper range for us for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We are so pleased you feel at home with us at the Sheraton NOLA. It is certainly our goal for all of our guests. Thank you for such kind words and compliments of our team. We look forward to your next visit with us for a repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Was here for a conference for two nights. The room was neat and mostly clean except for dust on the floor around the night stand. Great accommodations for a conference and a really good location too. I liked the lobby and the employees were very nice. Elevator system is very efficient. I also liked that you had to show your room key to get in when it gets late. Excellent fitness center!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kemper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

I am so delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Our location is something we are quite proud of along with Sheraton Fitness Center. It's great to hear you were able to enjoy them both equally. Please come back and join us again for your next trip to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I give this hotel many stars for the atmosphere and the decor. Service was impeccable. But overall when we got to the room, its still a standard Sheraton. None of the style was brought into the upstairs rooms. Now admittedly this was a year ago. I'm not sure if they've renovated since but heres hoping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchOnion78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a tour The hotel was very clean with comfortable rooms with helpful staff. Its at the end of Canal street so walkable to the cruise terminal and all the local sights.This is a good clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We are so pleased you feel at home with us at the Sheraton NOLA. It is certainly our goal for all of our guests. Thank you for such kind words and compliments of our team. We look forward to your next visit with us for a repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Location is super convenient to the French Quarter without being right on top of all the craziness. Nice rooms and overall good experience - I had a group rate so I can't speak to the normal price value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This newly remodeled Sheraton is truly one of the best Sheraton Hotels in the Starwood chain. Our recent visit prior to Mardi Gras could not be been more enjoyable: staff at Reception and Club Lounge are Academy Award candidates in my book because of their ability to make a stranger feel like family. THANKS !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SpecialVistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Wow! Thank you very much for connecting with us. The details of your experience puts a smile on our faces. We certainly want you to feel like you're at home every time you visit the Sheraton NOLA Household. We greatly look forward to your return home the next time you visit New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
2,377 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 166 in New Orleans
813 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing