We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, comfortable beds.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable beds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a good experience at the Sheraton NO hotel. The rooms were not the biggest but they were clean and the beds were comfortable. At first we were put in a room right next to the elevator, so it was very noisy when trying to sleep. We informed the reservation team and they moved us immediately to a quieter room. The also sent up a complimentary bottle of prosecco so that my friends and I could toast my birthday. This was much appreciated by us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    813
    360
    144
    67
See reviews for
273
588
59
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Is the hotel near the tourist part of New Orleans, yes. Is it clean, yes. But after that, if you need something from the hotel, be prepared to pay for it. I knew there was significant parking per day going in, so I didn't have to deal with that shock. But the lack of free breakfast and free wi-fi is a real bummer. The staff is unremarkable for friendliness and helpfulness, which would be ok in the gas station business. But since it is the hospitality business, that may be something to think about. If you have your trip planned and hope to spend most of your time out of the hotel, this might be the spot for you. All in all, I would not go back to this hotel or recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vongerlachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights booked through the reward point system. We were driving from North Carolina to Texas and this was a stop along the way. We drove into the valet area and found we couldn't park the car ourselves so valet our only choice at a cost of $42 a night! Check in next, rude young lady who didn't give half the information her colleague was giving her client checking in next to us. No comp drinks or points offered, no green option and no smile and no instruction on how to use the weird lift system! We had booked a river view and our room on the 9th floor did t have that just a roof and car park to look at! We asked to be moves and we're relocated to the 19th floor with said river view! At this point we had been in the hotel one hour and just made it to our room! After a long drive we ordered room service which took another hour to arrive and was cold! Probably due to the slow lifts but still very poor. We did complain and the room service charge was refunded. As well as points there was a $75 per night charge which I'm sure we paid when booking but we were asked to pay again on checking out and need to check again if we did once we get home. Service generally was patchy, the hotel was swamped with jazz first and various conferences none of which we were there for and felt unwelcome. Not what we're used to from a Starwood property!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our conference picked the hotel but I was happy. And it was the headquarters for Jazz Fest so it was always busy. Nice, friendly staff. Awesome blue dog art everywhere. Amazing beds. Only weird thing is the "room key nazi" at night when you stumble home you have to show your room key to get to the elevators. I guess its for safety but I found it annoying.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am a regular SPG guest and found the Sheraton New Orleans a great property to visit! The rooms are well-designed and appear to be recently renovated. Great, busy, vibrant lobby. Two blocks from Bourbon and 10 minute walk to Frenchman. The only issue is the elevators. They work like the Marriott New York Towers elevators and are absolutely inefficient / slow (especially when the hotel is at high occupancy). Also, the Concierge Lounge needs to add a few tables to accommodate more guests. Overall, great experience and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've been going to Jazz Fest every year for the past 7-8 years, and for most of them have chosen the Sheraton on Canal Street for its super-convenient location (a block away from all the activities, yet far away to be quiet) and friendly staff. It doesn't have the charm of some of the older properties in and around the French Quarter - but for my money, the Sheraton gives me everything I want. Not sure, but I think they've made some nice upgrades to the rooms: the beds are super comfortable, the hot water pressure is the way I like it, and there are plenty of plugs for all my gadgets. Net/net, my go-to hotel in Nola.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I don't know if the staff was exhausted from Jazz Fest, but the attention to detail was just not here. I saw no over the top customer service, front desk was missing the Sheraton bubbly spirit and the property is a bit tired. Good location though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your hotel. Please accept our apologies for the experience you had during your stay. I would be happy to speak with you regarding these experience.

Daniel A.
504-595-6232
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing