We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #78 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed here several times and been happy. This visit was a disaster. I tried to reserve a room on the SPG site and it went down mid reservation. I figured when we got there I would get the same rate. Wrong. It was $45.00 higher. If you dont reserve thru SPG you don't get the rate. Whats the point?? Also, when we parked valet he said $38.00 a nite. On our previous stays that was the rate but we had an oversize vehicle. Now having a much smaller vehicle you think there would be a difference. Wrong again..(oh, and by the way when you get bill it is really more like $43.00 because of tax.) We decided because we have had such great times there before to just stay. It was our daughters first visit to New Orleans and she was anxious to explore. Now mind you I am suppose to be a preferred guest. I asked for a city veiw. When we got to the room it was on back corner of hotel overlooking the pool and roof next door. I was going to complain and ask to switch rooms but my husband said let it go. When they brought our luggage we inquired about ice machine as we had looked on way to room. The guy said it is in there. We were like no its not. he told us to go down one floor or up two. Thats the second visit we had with no ice available on our floor. Have to say room was clean. The front desk both when we arrived and checked out was not as pleasant as before. Maybe just an off weekend but it has me questioning my choices for the next visit whereas I never had any doubts before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossyoak725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

mossyoak725, please accept our apologies for your experience on your last visit. As you mentioned before, we have given you better experiences before and we are sure that your next will be just as you remembered it. Thank you for taking time to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,286)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here the last weekend of May. I was a great location close enough to French Quarter. We walked over everyday. Plus you are down the street from outlets, casino and high end mall. We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on the 39th floor and requested an river view and front staff accommodated us. The view was amazing. The room was clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a top floor and a view of the river
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Denine J, thank you very much for writing a review about your stay and our property and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The desk staff was beyond friendly and the bar had great drinks & a cool bartender. Rooms, lobby, and bar were very nice/clean & the pet policy is great! There is even an area at the hotel for dog walking. I really hate to even say anything bad about this hotel, but must warn those who are looking for a quiet place to sleep in.

My husband & I work late hours (4 pm to 2 am) and usually sleep until 10 or 11 am. We requested and received a 1 pm check out time so that we could get some decent sleep during our stay. We checked in on a Sunday and chose this hotel specifically because of our past stays in French Quarter, which were charming but too noisy.

We were abruptly woken around 7 am by the loudest and most obnoxious housekeeping staff ever. Not only were doors slamming and walls being banged but they were also yelling at each other down the halls. My husband called the front desk (which is not something he normally does) to complain, and it did not stop.
To make matters even worse, there was a crew pressure washing the outside windows beside our room (in the rain) which basically sounded like an ongoing earthquake between the water and the lift machine.
We left the room & hotel completely and utterly exhausted.
Its really a nice hotel, but I am sad to say I will not stay here again. If you have a great set of ear plugs, don't forget them.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a practically flawless stay at the Sheraton hotel. We had a floor to ceiling view of the city from the 32nd floor. The French Quarter is walking distance from the hotel and a bicycle cab ride back ($10) once you've had a few too many. ;-) Drinking on the street is allowed so I took the plastic cup from the hotel and cracked open a brewski that I had picked up at one of the local stores and got my drink on while walking to the Quarter. Lots of convenience and drug stores all around. Everything you need is within walking distance (even Cafe du Monde). Parking was $42 a day so I opted to park at Harrah's (also walking distance) and play for 30 minutes on the tables to get the parking comped (otherwise $30). I would then get the car out and do a few things around town that wasn't walking distance (a few cemeteries and Frenchman Street) and come back to the Harrah's garage and repeat the parking process.

Room Tip: Get a room up high if possible. The elevators are fast.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Five_Aces_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Five_Aces_Tx, thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel and your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was a great option for the wedding weekend. It's in the French Quarter, and walking distance to Bourbon St., the French Market, the Board Walk, and countless other attractions. The hotel is a standard Sheraton, nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a river front view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Ckethley, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

river-view suites have amazing views, especially from higher floors! our girls loved watching the boats and people from the huge windows! very convenient location and great size if you are traveling with family... 2 tvs, a small refrigerator and plenty of space.

service was what you'd expect from a hotel of this size. the front desk was very busy and the people we interacted with we're not very helpful or accommodating. check in was miserable... i know they can't guarantee early check in, but we dropped off our bags at 11am, tried to check in and we're told a room would be available in an hour. 4 hours later, it still wasn't ready!

all in all, good hotel. would stay here again for the views despite the so/so service.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank jmlynn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

jmlynn05, thank you for taking time to write a review about your experiences. Please accept our apology for the so/so staff interactions. We look forward to our reviews to keep improving our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Sheraton for three nights.
Not only is the location excellent, steps from the Quarter, convenient
to Harrah's and the streetcar, clean and comfortable rooms and very comfy beds but the standout is the hospitality and service oriented staff. On the day of checkout, I had an medical emergency and had to be transported to the ER. Everyone from the desk, bellmen, tour desk, room service staff to the director of Security and Guest Relations came to my assistance. I am grateful for how kind and helpful everyone was. Thank you all so much. We will be back. This is one great hotel. Stay here for excellent customer service and Southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222catraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

222catraveler, while heading to the ER on your last day is not what anyone wants, we are glad that we were able to assist you. Thank you very much for taking time to let us know about your experiences. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmly,
Daniel A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 165 in New Orleans
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 165 in New Orleans
810 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £104 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing