We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location (walking distance to/from everything.)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #77 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay, the room was very comfortable would have requested king size bed but our teenager's plans were cancelled so we had a tag-along, the hotel lobby was very large had its own lounge & bar area, the gift store was lil pricey but very nice, the trolley cars were just steps away , valet was great and it was cover so the New Orleans heat didn't torch us waiting we had a short wait on our car. The rooms had super strong coffee & the view from the window was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angietg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for all your kind words. We are glad to hear you had a fantastic visit and our valet service was quick.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton New Orleans!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had previously stayed here and had a wonderful stay. This time, however, we checked in on Monday afternoon late and on Wednesday afternoon, we returned to our room to rest up a bit and drop off our purchases before going back out for dinner and the band we had come here to see. When we tried to get on the elevator, it kept saying "System Busy". After 20 minutes, I used the house phone and called Guest Services... I was told that "All the elevators were down". We could HEAR one of them going up and down.. WITH PEOPLE ON IT.. you could hear them talking and laughing and telling each other to "Get off the elevator".. I told her this and she insisted it wasn't possible. So, here we were, stuck.. she said crews were there and would hopefully have it up and running shortly. So back to our room we went to wait.. and try again.. SEVERAL TIMES. Add to that the fact that one of us iis Diabetic.. and had to miss dinner that night. This is NOT good for a diabetic... regular meals are very important to maintaining blood sugar levels. We were on the 45th floor AND, he also has no cartilage in either knee or hip, so stairs are NOT an option. If we'd tried that, he would have needed a gurney when we got to the 29th floor (where you could catch the other set of elevators which WERE working). Since no elevators were coming all the way up to our floor, they were also NOT allowing Room Service... Needless to say, we ALSO missed seeing the band we came here to see as that was the ONLY night they were playing!!! Later that evening, fire trucks began arriving.. AT OUR HOTEL... and in the hallway, you could SMELL an electrical fire.. Once again, the hotel insisted there was nothing of the sort. On Thursday morning, we had a note shoved under our door stating there was an "Issue" with the elevator system", but they had ONE they were operating manually.. and gave us a phone number to send a text to if we needed to go down. We did so and after about a 25 minute wait, they came and picked us up. We were able to go to one of the things we wanted to go see. When we returned to the hotel, it was once again about a 20 minute wait to go up.. and when we came down for dinner, it was even longer! They didn't get the elevators fixed until late Friday afternoon. Friday morning (LATE) we received the following message, in response to our text requesting an elevator to pick us up, "The elevators are down. We are resetting them and they should be working in 5 to 10 minutes." We tried every 10 or 15 minutes.. and a couple of others tried as well.. and kept getting the same message. While we were there some poor man (I'd say he was bout 55-60 came out of the stairwell huffing and puffing, barely able to walk.. red as a beat headed to his room... After about 45 minutes, we went back to our room and called "Guest Services" again.. telling them to call US when they had them fixed, because obviously, their 5-10 minutes was a bunch of crap. Nearly an HOUR later, they called and said they were working... However, after 2 days of missed meals, he wasn't doing well.. and that lasted until after we came home. This put quite a damper on our "Romantic" Vacation..
In addition to this, upon check in, we received a "Free Drink" coupon from the bar due to accumulated points. We tried to use it (I ordered a Pina Colada, and we were told they couldn't make that.. because the bar didn't have a blender! Seriously???? Who ever heard of a bar without a blender???? So, we LOST the "credits" we had for NOTHING... and we were given NO credit on our bill for any of this mess!!! We paid full price to be stuck in our room part of our trip... miss meals, have health issues because of it, and miss seeing something we came here to see!!
Needless to say, I will NEVER stay at the Sheraton again. Next time we come, rest assured, we will go somewhere else. Even if we have to pay more, it will be worth it not to have to deal with these issues! This has to be some of the WORST "customer service" I've EVER seen!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! This one isn't worth the headache!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsg1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear tsg1064 -

We are so disappointed to learn of your experience. We would truly welcome the chance to speak to you personally and address your concerns. This is absolutely the opposite the experience we wish our guests to have when in our hotel. Please take a moment to connect with us at 504.525.2500 and ask to speak to a Front Desk Manager. We look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Sheraton in New Orleans was ideally located opposite the French Quarter. It was very busy, it had a great and lively lobby area, rooms were good and the lift system worked amazingly well to handle so many customers. The service was a bit slow. The Customer Service desk did not answer my calls one morning. But the location made it. My partner would definitely return. It fitted her requirements!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear HandyAndyLondon_UK,

Thank you for your kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back to New Orleans! We agree, our state of the art elevators are great to have in a second tallest building in our city.
So sorry we didn't get to you in timely fashion on the phone. Your feedback has been shared with the leaders so it can be addressed.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans June 17-21st.  This is a very large and busy hotel with something like 45 floors.   It's very conveniently located on Canal Street close to Bourbon Street, The casino and many options for shopping and dining.  The Streetcar runs right in front of the hotel which is handy too.  The lobby has a massive bar inside with ample seating and air conditioning so cold your beer won't get warm. 

As for the rooms, they are spacious and decorated with modern furnishings.  We loved the wood shutters on the windows.  We had two rooms on the 35th floor, one on each side of the building.  Both had very nice views.  Our rooms had great medium-soft beds, a nice chair with ottoman, desk and decent sized flat screen TV.  There was no minibar and a fridge can be added but it costs extra.  Wifi costs extra in the rooms. 

The hotel pool is small and shallow, but they do have lots of loungers.  New Orleans is extremely hot and humid and this was a nice place to cool down in the late afternoon. 

Our only complaint is that housekeeping was not thorough or consistent.  Dirty towels we left in the tub to be replaced were hung up again.  Surfaces were wiped but not actually cleaned.  The floor between the bed and the wall looked like it had never been vacuumed and we could see a build-up of hair and nail clippings.   I have never seen such half-assed cleaning like this at a Sheraton. 

Overall, a convenient hotel choice in a great city, just don't look beside the bed!

Room Tip: High floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshua_78Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Joshua_78Toronto -

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton New Orleans. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location, views and our Sheraton SweetSleeper bed.
Please know your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping leadership as that is certainly not our standard when it comes to cleanliness.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at Sheraton during the Jazz Fest 2014.
This is a landmark hotel, with its plus and minus. Our room was on the Club Lounge floor (44th floor, I guess) and had beautiful view on the Missisipi river. As a part of the Club Lounge offer, we also had complimentary breakfast included in the lounge with beautiful view of the New Orleans skyline. The lobby on the ground floor is quite big, and hosted a grand piano painted by a famous artist. The swimming pool is not that big.
Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms on higher floors with view of the Missisipi river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Daniele70,

Thank you for taking the time to write kind words about our hotel and your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the views offered from our Sheraton Club Lounge and your guestroom.
We hope you will keep us in mind when you are visiting New Orleans again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in June. Had a very unusual experience that I did not expect from a Sheraton. The rooms were not cleaned properly, bed was never made, with the coverlet thrown back on, to hide this.
Most strange was that the towels that I left on the floor of the bathroom to be taken away were folded and kept back on the rack. I found this out because the one I left for cleaning had mascara marks on it. The same towel was folded back as a clean one...weird.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 144MyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations. We would welcome the chance to speak with you personally. Please connect with us at 504.525.2500 at your convenience.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here with my sister and her service dog while traveling on business. The hotel was very accomodating of the dog (even had a dog relief area), especially when we had to make an emergency visit to the Canine hospital. Thanks a lot to Sam at the bell desk for arranging transportation for us! The tour desk was also very helpful in helping us negotiate with our less than reliable tour company we had booked in advance. We will definietly be using their recommended guides next trip! It was a little strange that every time we requested a service (maintenance to fix an outlet, housekeeping for extra towels, guest services for a fridge, dry cleaning and room service) the front desk would always call right after the request was made to confirm the request and then afterwards to confirm we were satisfied. It was a bit over the top.

This Sheraton has a fantastic conference facility, gorgeous bar area to relax and watch the world cup in, great food and very comfortable rooms. We stayed in a double room overlooking the Mississippi River and it was gorgeous! The pool facility is quite small so we were glad our room also looked down on the pool (8th floor) so that we could see if chairs were available. The fitness facility is world class and it was nice to use it after eating all the cajun food!! It also has 2 sets of elevator banks and an escalator for the conference floors- which is very helpful!

The Sheraton is a close walk to the new Riverwalk Outlet mall, The French Quarter and Bourbon Street. The only quirks are that the doors slam if you don't take the time to close them, which makes it a bit noisey and that you have to pay $10 for an in-room fridge (which I found quite odd). All in all, we had a great time and a great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room- quieter but also easier to scope out a spot in the small pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney-and-Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
3,521 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 167 in New Orleans
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
831 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,497 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing