We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laissez les bons temps rouler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #81 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton for 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to the French Quarter.
They recently completed a major renovation so their lobby and guest rooms are looking amazing. I was lucky to be in a suite on the 45th floor so the room was so spacious and the views amazing.
They also upgraded their elevators which can be confusing if you don't know how to use them. You enter the floor you want to go to on the kiosk in the elevator bank and then the screen will tell you which elevator will take you to your floor. You don't actually press any buttons when your in the elevator. It is super efficient and makes getting to you floor so much faster than the standard elevators.
The hotel doesn't really have any restaurants. There is a lobby bar that has limited food options and there is of course room service. With so many great restaurants just steps from the hotel I am guessing that is why they don't have any of their own.
This is a large hotel and there are often convention/large groups staying here so it can get crowded. I also found the front desk to be extremely busy and I often had to wait in long lines.
Overall I had a really great experience staying here and would definitely stay here again next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear KristiK77,

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Sheraton New Orleans and our recently rejuvinated hotel. We hope you will keep us in mind when you are in NOLA again.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stay at hotel was average. Normal room/bathroom with view overlooking other building. The gym was nice - good equipment and lots of space. The pool didn't look like the pictures on hotel website. The conference rooms were nice, but extremely to cold even after asking staff to make the rooms warmer. Just like the other comments have said you cannot get a better location - close to Bourbon St., casino, etc. The check-in was very slow and people cleaning the rooms were very loud with slamming doors and items when they were processing rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hearttravelingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I attended a five-day meeting at the Sheraton. I made a decision several years ago to not stay at the Sheraton so don't have any input in that regard.

The meeting facilities are what you'd expect at a Sheraton, excellent. The only thing I don't understand is why they keep the temperature so cold in meeting rooms (!) The Sheraton doesn't have exclusive rights to this though, as it seems like every hotel I've visited over the years suffered from the same problem.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the Sheraton, only attended a meeting there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bk30253_bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience attending a meeting. We hope to see you soon again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this hotel through a site as we were only staying over night. The price was great and essentially we got what we paid for. Room was immaculate and there was a partial view of city that was nice. Downside included being near the elevator and a dripping tub faucet but we were so tired after sight seeing we slept through the noises. Huge plus was the extended check out time we were provided but keep in mind we stayed over on a Monday w no major events scheduled. Service was terrific, everyone was pleasant and so very helpful. Location is good as well and at night you had to show your room card to get to the elevators. Be prepared to pay for parking!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear KimberlyA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind words. We hope to see you again when you are visiting New Orleans.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great hotel super close to the french quarter/bourbon area. Right of Canal St a block away from the casino. Valet is expensive as is anywhere in New Orleans DT area. Rooms were adequate for 2 couples sharing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkn7427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night and had two rooms. We were placed on the 26th floor, far enough from the elevators to have quiet from anyone entering on/off of it, which was great! We had a nice view but since there is so much construction going on, there wasn't much to see. Our room and bathroom were very clean. The room stayed cool, had comfy beds, had no problems with the stay. The Valet team was great and its nice that it's covered. You can also call ahead of time to have your car ready so when you are ready to go, it's there waiting for you. I can't say the same for the front desk, 2 out of the 3 people I spoke with were a little rude. We also took the trolley which is just steps from the front door, so that was a nice bonus. The French Quarter is also right next to Canal St. so coming home from Bourbon was nice because we were away from all the noise. It's also just two blocks from Harrah's Casino and then 3 1/2 blocks from the Riverwalk Outlet Mall, but in the humid heat, it made the walk even longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygurl1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear luckygurl1227,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear your kind words about our hotel, valet staff and cleanliness of our rooms. Also, we will share your feedback with our front office staff.
We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We are locals but wanted to go to the quarter for a few days getaway! So we decided to try out the Sheraton. Our checkin was great- our room was even ready early. We have a beautiful club level room on the 49th floor. The view is great overlooking Canal St. You can hear some traffic- but hey! It's New Orleans! It's not going to be quiet anywhere you go. We love to embrace the sounds of the city and they aren't so bad that you can't relax. Being a local, I've never seen our city from this high up. The floor to ceiling windows are awesome and I am in awe of this majestic place we call home. Nola rocks. The club room is nice and spacious and quiet. The pool is small but it's very relaxing and private. Our room is large and clean and really beautiful. I also love the lobby of this hotel. The Rodrigue Steinway Blue Dog piano is in the lobby and is so beautiful. The staff here is helpful and very accommodating! I would suggest getting a club level room because with the New Orleans heat you can't beat free ice cold beverages all day. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it when friends come into town to visit!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank HJCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear HJCro
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad to hear you had an amazing experience. You are absolutely right about the views and comfort of our Sheraton Club Lounge! Also, we are very proud to be able to showcase the George Rodrigue's artwork throughout our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,647 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
5,955 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £116 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing