We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screwed by Priceline...AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Joshua, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Screwed by Priceline...AGAIN!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I will not deal with Priceline ever again. They are very vague on the prices. I made the reservation using their feature where the hotel is picked using the parameters I set. It is non-refundable and unchangeable. Decent price, I thought. $112/nt. turned out to not be the whole story! The Priceline description says "Valet parking is available for an additional fee." That says to me that it is OPTIONAL! Not so, $42.56/nt parking fee so $112 was really 154.56/nt. plus tax. They have no other parking option! Priceline made sure they covered themselves, though! When I called about this I was told that I agreed to this as stated in the in the bullet point as follows: "incidental charges (phone calls, room service, parking, resort fees, energy charges, etc.) that you may incur while staying at the hotel." I can control charges I incur for room service, mini bar, phone calls, etc. but not this or “resort fees”! There is no way to NOT incur the parking fee. Any charge that is mandatory to stay at a hotel should be a part of the Priceline price. The hotel never told us there was a fee for this either, so we made sure we tipped generously each time our car was used. By stating that the hotel has valet parking AVAILABLE, it implies that there is another option! I don't like being duped and I definitely feel like that is what Priceline has done. A similar situation happened with a flight that I booked with them and I gave them a second chance, but never again!
The hotel itself was alright. Scary area after dark, but that is probably just New Orleans in general. There was a noisy party going on down the hall, but we didn't complain so I can't hold the hotel responsible for that. The room was nice, but I had to look under the bed for a shoe and, WOW, was it gross under there. Out of sight, I guess! They're generous with Starbucks in the room and more on request. We really appreciated that our dog was allowed to stay without a fee! Thanks, Sheraton! Overall, I would say I would stay at this hotel again if I went back to NOLA, now that I know upfront what the charges really are! The devil really is in the details!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa76058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    876
    394
    156
    77
See reviews for
308
638
65
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to New Orleans. Our room was on the 46th floor, so we were able to enjoy the benefits of a club floor.

Lakeisha and Kate greeted us warmly every morning for breakfast in the club room. They were both extremely helpful with their vast knowledge about the area.

Breakfast and evening snacks in the club room were fabulous! So convenient and always lots to choose from.

The elevators were such a nice surprise. They were quick and efficient.

The room was great, bed was super comfortable.

Well done, Sheraton Hotel New Orleans!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Photopro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

By far the best thing about this hotel is the location! All of the "must see" New Orleans tourist spots are within walking distance. Nice rooms, and nice staff. But...parking rates are ridiculous (yes I know you have to pay $$$ in any large downtown hotel, but still) No place to grab a quick snack in the hotel at night (Starbucks closes at 6pm) and no free room internet (come on Sheraton time give your guests at least that perk). Would stay here again though just because of where it is!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This Sheraton is a great location on Canal Street for your stay in New Orleans. Close walk to most restaurants, the French Quarter, tour, sightseeing activities, and the Outlet shops. Hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. The elevator set-up is great with an automated assignment of depending on floors requested. Room is spacious, comfortable, and quiet. The view from our 35th floor room was good; the shutters on large windows make it easy to let in all the light you want and easy keep the room dark when needed. Very clean hotel with great maid service. Hot water for showers available anytime of the day. This was our sixth vacation to New Orleans and during our last four visits we have stayed at this Sheraton. WCM

Room Tip: All rooms that we have had during our four stays have been great. The higher floors seemed to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Wayne M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your great experience at the Sheraton New Orleans! We are so delighted to hear the staff and the hotel features exceeded your expectations! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to NOLA for the 7th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Sheraton New Orleans. The staff was super friendly - especially the housekeeping staff. The room was very clean, beds incredibly comfortable. The location is good - right on the edge of the French Quarter - very walkable.

We had a wheelchair accessible room (not needed, but that's what they had) so the automatic assist door was a bit of a pain (opened weirdly and closes slowly) and the shower was tricky (think soak your entire bathroom if you aren't careful). The front desk did make us aware of the accessible room in advance, so we could have opted out, but the extra room was a nice trade-off.

The room was right off the elevator, so it got a bit loud at times, but not atypical of hotels. The elevators take some getting used to (enter your floor and it tells you which one to get in), but they were pretty speedy!

Green Features: They offer service to the room on the third day of your stay.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear secd,

Thank you for a great and detailed review of your experience! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our Housekeeping staff and rested well in our Sweet Sleeper.
We hope you will join us again when visiting New Orleans.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is new, clean, and modern. We were in a higher floor, and our room had a beautiful view of the city. The bathroom was very clean and well-lit. The bedding was very comfortable and new. AC was quiet and worked very well. Don't miss the electrical outlets on the sides of the nightstands; they are very convenient. We enjoyed the Starbucks that was provided with the coffee maker. The elevators are very easy to use. This hotel is a good value for the money even with the price of valet parking. We would stay there again if in NOLA.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear artravel481,

Thank you for a great review. We are so delighted we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I loved the service. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The bell captain and crew kept things moving, getting cabs, hauling luggage, etc. all while being very friendly. The Pelican Bar leaves a little to be desired. Food there was not great but the drinks and staff again were very nice. Close to the trolley stops, close to the pier, close to Bourbon Street - walking distance to all. Loved the elevators.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high for great views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for such great compliments of our associates. We are so glad to hear our staff exceeded your expectations! We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 164 in New Orleans
2,358 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 164 in New Orleans
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Property: Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Address: 500 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#71 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is on the historic Canal Street streetcar line adjacent to the French Quarter and is ideal for conventions and special events, with over 105,000 sq ft of meeting space including a 28,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing